1988 Honda CRX 1.5 liter 5 speed from North America


Best car I've ever owned


Right around 400,000 miles, the timing belt went; had to rebuild the top end.

General Comments:

It's my baby, I fall in love with it more and more every day.

It's getting around 55 MPG at least; it'll run on fumes.

Bought it for $200, been offered up to $4000 for it, won't sell it for nothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2014

22nd May 2014, 22:32

Yep, they are nice little cars. I had one many years ago; wish I'd kept her.

1988 Honda CRX Si Type R 1.6 spoon engine from North America


A great buy with a poor engine design


The hatch on the car is rusted a little. Other than that everything is good.

General Comments:

The car is very quick, and gets amazing gas mpg for the year and the miles it has on it.

My biggest complaint is the way Honda runs the water pump off the timing belt, and the way the motor mount bolts up to the front of the timing cover area, makes doing a timing belt and water pump a real pain in the ass. My CRX is an SI Type R, which is a rare model that has the Vtec 1.6 engine in it, correct me if I'm wrong I just got into Hondas. The engine I bought the car with was a Spoon engine that had the racing intake and a header system with a high flow cat and a straight pipe. The engine has a power of 155 hp and 144 torque, which for a car this light makes for great speed.

I really don't like the way the power curve kicks in a 4,500 rpms and dies at 6,600 rpms; it really does not give you the fun factor that for example my old 1980 Scirocco gave, with a curb weight of just 1,500 lbs and a horsepower of 130, it could light the tires at 2,500 rpms.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2008

1988 Honda CRX HF 1.5 gas from North America


In one word 'extraordinary'


The seats have fallen apart.

Blew head gasket at 340000 miles. Used repair chemicals and the car is still running at 365000.

The radiator and its attaching brackets are made of plastic. While checking the oil I leaned on the front of the car and broke the radiator and bracket. Bracket cracked the radiator.

General Comments:

Purchased car new as high school graduation present for my daughter. She drove for 13 years, and 265000 miles, with no trouble and only one major service.

Car sat from 2001 to 2006, put new battery and drove on long distance daily commute. For one year no problems.

Honda HF model, still running at 365000+ miles and getting of 44 mpg.

Great freeway commuter.

Fun to drive.

Plenty of room and comfortable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2008

17th Feb 2011, 13:32

I have a 1988 CRX DX 5 speed. I removed the passenger seat, spare, 3 speakers, jack and all rear panels. I also installed thin 155-80-13 Firestone tires. At a speed of 65 miles per hour carrying a 220 pound payload, I am getting 52 miles per gallon. This DX is almost like a HF.

1988 Honda CRX 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland




Nothing yet, but I bought it with a few faults.

The sunroof only opens half way, or it comes off the rail.

The fuel pipe has a kink in it I think, so filling up takes a while as it backs up if you try to fill it too fast.

General Comments:

Only had the car 2 months and so far it's been fantastic.

Very light and fast, and it handles really well. Similar to my Mk1 Golf GTI in handling terms, but quicker.

Its got a full Janspeed exhaust system, which sounds great; it reminds me of the BMW M3, that kind of tinny sound when you blast it. It also has an induction kit, strut braces and it's been dyno'ed at 149.7bhp at the flywheel (130 odd bhp standard).

Inside it's comfortable; loads of leg room if in the front, but the back is only suitable for 1 person and for a short time.

I've shocked a lot of people in much newer more expensive cars off the line.

Hope to get some black rims soon, as they're standard at the moment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2007

7th Oct 2007, 12:37

"I've shocked a lot of people in much newer more expensive cars off the line'

Another hot dog with the need to "shock" other people.

8th Oct 2007, 04:49

The CRX VTEC is a much quicker car; leaves BMW 325's, Astra GTE's, and keeps up with all the new hot hatches.

8th Oct 2007, 12:19

Erm no it won't, the new Civic Type R is only average for speed in its class; quite a few hatches are faster than it, so what does this mean Honda has gone backwards over the last 15 years? No, I don't think so.