1989 Honda CRX Reviews - Page 2 of 8

1989 Honda CRX Si 1.6 D16 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 D16 Manual
Distance when acquired310000 kilometres
Most recent distance312000 kilometres

Summary:

Favourite Car Of All Time!!!

Faults:

Axles need to be replaced. New alternator, fuel filter, battery, passenger side floor has started to rust, there are tiny holes in the floor, but hasn't completely rotted. Seats have slight rips in them, seat tracks need to be replaced. Engine was blown not long after purchasing.

General Comments:

Handles well and is extremely fast.$10 would nearly give me a half tank of fuel!!!, and it was great on gas-- (until you step on it).Good shape for being 17 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2006

1989 Honda CRX Si 1.6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance204998 miles

Summary:

A rice classic

Faults:

The brakes worked great and unexpectedly stopped stopping. I changed the rotors with some Brembo drilled and slotted rotors, fixed the leaking in the rear drums. Stops on a dime. Replaced distributor cap and rotor at 203,500 miles. I put a new HKS muffler on it because the original had rusted and fell off while driving. Driver seat has normal wear on it. There was some rust on the rear fenders.

General Comments:

I got this car for free. It hadn't been started for 4 years, so I spent a weekend on it and got it running. It fired up like a champ and was running very strong. Even thought it wasn't inspected, I took it out on the round and ended up taking a turn a little faster than I should have, which for this car was really very fast. I hit a truck and had pretty much damage done to it. Put some brand new parts on it and it runs, still, like a champ and looks great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st December, 2005

8th Jan 2006, 21:31

Nice review man! I really like the RICE CLASSIC thing.

8th Feb 2006, 04:03

If you think that fair play mate I love honda's.

8th Feb 2006, 17:52

Your car is to new to be a classic it is not 30years old.

1989 Honda CRX 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

1980s Type R

Faults:

Absolutely nothing! Have replaced air filter, fuel filter, oil, HT leads, spark plugs, but only out of being totally bored! Now modified!

General Comments:

I bought the CRX 6 months ago from a 70 year old owner who had it from new, in mint condition! A cliche yes, but it is the best car I have ever owned! I thought being nearly 17 years old it would need some money spent on it, but it has cost me nothing, but fuel bills, which have been perfectly accepted considering the performance! 32+ even if you have been hammering it! I got 47mpg on 250 mile trip, mind I was driving like an old granny!

The D16A9 under the bonnet is perhaps the best engine ever built, except from the B16A1 of course, but I find the D series more drivable in the real world!

When carrying 2-4 people in the CRX, the performance is still there, but only when you're by yourself and with no fuel, and you hit 5000rpm, do you see the real potential! It is more like a 2 litre plus turbo than a 1.6 N/A!!! Manic top end shove!

Other so called hot hatches don't come close in a straight line or on a fast B road i.e. Golf GTI's and yes VR6s, Pug 205 GTi's. Only a Sunny GTi can have it in a straight line, but then on a bend the CRX wins again!! A personal hobby of mine is embrassing REP's on my daily commute to UNI. In their Golf TDI 150s they keep up to 5000rpm, but then they just disappear!!! Great fun.

I have now had some mild engine work done and it's now pushing out 185bhp! Now 1993-1996 3.0 (not evo 3.2) M3 territory, from a 1.6 - NGK-R Spark plugs, Magencor Racing leads 8.5mm, AEM cold air intake, 4-2-1 DC sorts exhaust manifold, Mugen ECU with raised rev limiter to 8000rpm, Full mongoose exhaust, FSE power boost valve and bored out throttle body!

As for comfort, I am just 5'9", but I can drive for up to 5 hours without a break and feel fine. People complain about the noise at high speeds! Isn't that the point? Why not buy a Vectra then?

Fitting upper and lower strut braces front and rear, and dropping it 40mm has made it the best handling car I have ever driven!

All I can say is this has to be the best car of the 80s and early 90s! I rest my case - double wishbone suspension front and rear in 1987!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2005

11th Mar 2006, 07:50

I totally agree with everything above!

Fantastic with no limits whatsoever!

I must ask though where did you get your Mugen chip and exhaust manifold from as I'd like to chase bigger cars now too hehe!

22nd Mar 2007, 13:11

You will find out the Best Hot-Hatch's of the 80's and early 90's is the 205 GTi 1.9 and Golf GTi 16v! Sure they are not as fast in a straight line, but the overall package's make them Classics!

But then each to their own I believe! :-)

26th Mar 2007, 07:27

The Golf and 205 are LEGENDS! Straight line speed ain't everything!

What make's a Classic Hot-Hatch is the fun factor, which I'm afraid the Civic doesn't have!!

You class the GTE as a classic, whenever was that?

You clearly don't understand anything about GREAT cars!!

End of!!!

26th Mar 2007, 08:38

If you think a 1989 CRX Si isn't fun, then you clearly don't know the definition of fun. And, unlike the VW and the Peugeot, it was and is actually reliable. One of the greatest cars ever made.

26th Mar 2007, 11:58

What makes a classic is how people view them, and most people would veiw the GTE and CRX as classics.

24th Aug 2007, 00:11

I agree with guy who say's the Golf and the 205 where kings in the 80's!

The CRX looks weird, and the only thing its got going for it, is its engine!

The Golf and 205's overall package's rightly make them classic's the minute they stopped making them!

The CRX is good hatch, which is a good buy for people (not my taste),but can't be classed as a classic.

25th Aug 2007, 17:11

I think the CRX looks gorgeous, and by the way they are worth quite a bit now; a lot more than the 205 and GTI.

21st Jan 2009, 16:57

Nice review, but how do you carry "2-4 people" in a CRX? I've driven an SI and an HF from the early '90s, and I can't imagine squeezing more than one other occupant in. Maybe one more with the rear hatch open, but 4 people?

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews