1989 Honda CRX Si 1.6 PGMFI from Malta


Turns heads as always, if you can catch it going by!


Problems with hot starts, it takes a lot of trying when the engine is hot, not sure of the cause.

Corrosion on sunroof tray drains.

General Comments:

Performance for such a small car, now thirteen years old, is amazing!

Very comfortable and drives very well.

Excellent ergonomics and control.

Excellent fuel consumption and good price.

What a shape!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

10th May 2003, 16:19

On the "hot starting problem", the problem is more than likely the "main relay".

I have not had a problem once since I replaced mine.

2nd Jan 2005, 19:21

Some parts when heated have a tendency to expand check your spark when your turning over the engine. may be the distributer shaft, check also the coil, cap and rotor. If you have fuel its not the relay or the pump. had a similar prob with my 91 SI 1.6 liter. good luck!

15th Oct 2005, 00:40

The problem is in the starter. I believe there is a recall for the crx starter coil. There is a coil in the distributor that is defective and the other starter problem is also the starter ground wire. Change that out and you'll be surprised how must faster and easier it turns over. Make sure that the wire has a good connection and a larger gauge wire as well.

8th Dec 2005, 10:13

My crx started having a starter problem out of no where. If you roll the car and put it in gear, sometimes it will start. I beat the starter and it started once, now it won't start at all. Do I need to replace the starter now?

22nd May 2006, 20:24

I have problem where I'll start my 90 CRX Si, and after starting it seems like it doesn't get enough fuel or something and then dies. After attempts to start it, and waiting awhile, it will start again. Sometimes it won't start at all and I have to wait hours. Anyone know what that specifically is about?

14th Jul 2012, 11:37

I had this problem. It was a bad relay.

20th Jul 2015, 07:17

It probably is the igniter in the distributor. Had trouble with one and it stopped the car three times. Had the fuel pump and main relay changed, only to have it happen again.

1989 Honda CRX 1.6i 16 Twin Cam from UK and Ireland


A nippy, fun little car that can still turn heads, but can be pricey to own


Front suspension springs snapped (apparently quite common).

Clutch judder when setting off in 1st.

Boot struts non-operational.

Noisy gearbox at low speed in 1st and 2nd.

General Comments:

A quick little car that handles well and is good on juice, providing you drive it steady. Still looks smart considering it's an 80's/ early 90's car, but has the typical early Honda rust problems around the sunroof and wheel arches at the back.

A rattly engine at low revs and no room in the back which can be a pain, and parts aint cheap (especially Honda specific ones), but when pushed at high revs it usually makes me grin.

Also it's amusing when all the boy racers gawp at you in their XR3i's and Novas and such like, mainly due to the fact that their cars look and go nothing like this one (unless ridiculously equipped with aftermarket bits)!

Only buy one of these things if you know what you're looking at, and remember, it's an old car by modern standards and so faults are inevitable...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

1989 Honda CRX Si 1.6 L DOHC (ZC) from North America


I'm keeping this car for my whole life


The only thing that has gone wrong with the car is the brakes. Othere than that I haven't had to spend a penny on fixing the car.

General Comments:

I believe this is the best Honda ever made. You can make these cars look really nice and with a simple engine swap you can beat most Honda's that only have a little done to the engine. All because of the size of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

1989 Honda CRX Si 1.6 SOHC from North America


Quick, reliable, economical and FUN!


All it has wrong is the fact that moon-roof won't close all the way. Needs to be repaired.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2001