1989 Honda CRX Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1989 Honda CRX Si 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFord Capri

Summary:

Honda need to re-launch this car!

Faults:

Slight judder from the clutch when pulling away from rest.

Rear brake bulb (!)

General Comments:

I looked at three CRX's before settling on the one I bought. I found enormous variations in the price and condition - do not buy the first car you see!

I've forced people to borrow the CRX because I want as many people as possible to drive one - they really are as good as the reputation and everyone has been impressed.

The cabin is very well made and comfortable, and I have just used mine to move house - several trips required, but there is a reasonable amount of space with the seat folded down!

The handling is wonderful although the car doesn't like pot-holes under acceleration. There is lots of grip and the car corners very flatly.

The only thing I would change would be the standard alloys which are a bit dated now - a modern set would finish the car off. A bodykit is definitely not on the agenda!

As a guide to a price, mine was totally standard and came with full history. In November 2001 I negotiated £2500 down to £2250.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2002

17th Sep 2003, 00:41

Technically, the CRX hasn't left. The CRX is gen. 1 of a (so far) 3 generation group, the del Sol is gen.2 and the S2000 is gen. 3.

20th May 2005, 15:55

I have heard about them bringing back the CRX for 2005-2006...

1989 Honda CRX DX 1.6 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles

Summary:

My personal rocket

Faults:

When I purchased my Rex, it was in horrible condition. I replaced the timing belt when I first purchased the vehicle. I bought the car wrecked, so I had to do a good bit of work. I totally rebuilt the body, and got an incredible custom paint job. I have never had a problem starting the car, or keeping it running. My glove compartment broke.

General Comments:

A few engine upgrades, about two grand worth.

Replaced the engine and transmission from the Dx to Si.

This car is very quick and handles incredible.

I love taking hard corners at 100mph plus.

My favorite is racing the arrogant people in their Mustangs and Camaros and looking at them in my mirrors grinning.

Incredible gas mileage even when I red-line every shift.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2002

1989 Honda CRX Si 1.6 SOCH from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOCH Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Mind bending handling

Faults:

So far regular maintance has been all it needed.

Seats are a little torn up at side bolster.

General Comments:

I bought this car at 40k miles, and sold it at 50k to a friend. I then bought and sold a Mazda rx7 turbo, a Nissan 300zx turbo, a Mazda Miata, and a Porsche 914. well after all those cars I ended up buying the Honda back (at 60k miles) because I missed it so much. It runs better and smoother than all those cars and the handling is in a whole different category. to top it all off it has never broken down and the insurance people think it is a civic. far and away the best car I have ever owned and this time I am holding on to it. I have installed a performance cam, exhaust, and intake as well as lowered the suspension. bang for buck you can't beat it. I have a $4000 car with $1000 of upgrades and I can run circles around cars costing6 times that. if you can deal with only two seats then find one while you still can.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2002

24th Aug 2006, 22:28

Lol dude you mentioned that people think it's a civic... it is...CR-X stands for Civic Rennassance model X.

6th Oct 2007, 10:57

He probably means they most likely insure it as if it's a sedan instead of a sports coupe.

1989 Honda CRX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance277000 miles

Summary:

Why did honda stop making it?

Faults:

Timing chain broke (dealer forgot to change it at normal service)

Water pump blew @ 220,000 miles - also needed radiator re-core.

Clutch changed at 110,000 miles.

Cabin heater fan broke @ 180,000 miles.

General Comments:

For the money, the only driver's car to come anywhere near is the old shape MR2.

Now that the car has 277,000 miles on it (and I am assuming it won't last forever), I am spoiled for everything else.

I do about 100 miles per day, on motorways and A roads, and get about 40 mpg!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2002

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews