2003 Honda Element Reviews - Page 8 of 12

2003 Honda Element EX AWD 2.4 gasoline from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

My Element fits my active lifestyle perfectly

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

The Element is very functional inside.

Performance is good for a 2.4L engine and 3400 lbs to move with the manual transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2005

2003 Honda Element from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Love the car but am now nervous about potential future windshield problems

Faults:

My front windshield just cracked on the passenger side. A vertical crack rose from the base of the windshield for about four inches, then has veered to the left and has moved toward the driver about six inches. It was not caused by a pebble, but I think formed just because the car was parked facing the afternoon sun in Dallas in May (temperature of about 85; the car was tightly sealed). I had no idea Honda had windshield problems, but when I took it to the dealer, the person I spoke with said a bulletin had been issued and they would replace the windshield under the warranty at no charge to me. I have just under 30,000 miles on my Element and have been driving it for two years (I bought it used with 4,000 miles on it). After my experience and seeing these postings, I'm nervous about the cost of future problems. I really do love the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st May, 2005

18th Aug 2005, 01:24

I recollect reading a review in 2004 about the windshield cracking. I thought I was lucky that it had not happened to me. Lo and behold, it just happened to my 2003 Element EX. Starting from the top on the passenger side and veering to the right to make a letter L. I am happy to have read this report and having only 23,000 miles I am glad this is covered under warranty. From the preceding report I attribute the crack to the heat spell in Southern California this summer.

17th Nov 2005, 10:19

I have replaced the windshield on my 2003 Honda Element two times! Thankfully I live in Florida and the state has windshields covered with no deductible for insured vehicles. Both times were the result of a vehicle changing lanes in front of me and a pebble being thrown up from the road. Both were small rocks and I was amazed how quickly the ding zipped across the windshield!

6th Dec 2005, 14:05

I have a 2003 Element AWD (purchased in Nov 2003) that has almost 29,000 miles. The windshield has not cracked yet.

8th Dec 2005, 16:40

I like my 2004 Element, but I've had to replace the windshield twice in 35,000 miles because of cracks from stones. This car fits my needs and budget.

12th Jun 2006, 17:34

2005 Element (sept). June 2006, crack, 15 inches from top middle down a bit, curved towards passenger side.

Toronto, Canada.

20th Jun 2011, 12:24

My 2003 Element now has a windshield crack in the lower right side of the windshield. This happened at 132,500 miles, so I doubt Honda will pay for it. Overall though, my Element has been a very reliable vehicle. I just wonder how much it will cost to replace the windshield.

2003 Honda Element EX 2.5 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles

Summary:

Excellent in almost all respects

Faults:

Windshield developed a crack, without apparent cause, originating at bottom center up, running up about 1 foot and crossing laterally toward passenger side.

Power utility outlet is too tight. I inserted the plug from a Coleman power inverter and could not withdraw it. The Honda dealer service manager informed me that there have been many complaints about the power receptacle being too tight, and that I should just pull harder. I did, and the plug broke off inside the receptacle!

Mileage seems to have deteriorated recently. Previously I was getting 22-23 around town, now seem to be getting 19. Dealer says there are no tuning adjustments that would bear on this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2005

19th Jun 2005, 07:54

I don't get the title of your review. I thought you liked the car, but you had nothing positive to say about it.

24th Mar 2006, 21:17

I notice that your review was written in January. If the weather gets cold in your area, the fuel consumption will increase in cold weather. Also, maybe check tire pressure more often, as the cold weather causes the tires to lose air especially on aluminium wheels.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 45 reviews