2003 Honda Element EX from North America

Summary:

Until it nearly killed me, I loved it

Faults:

The ignition key could be removed in any gear when turned off, causing the car to roll unless in Park and/or emergency brake applied.

General Comments:

This car with the ignition problem is extremely dangerous, since the car could roll after key removed and car exited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2006

2003 Honda Element from North America

Summary:

I look forward to getting a different car

Faults:

3 broken windshields in less than one year.

Plastic scratches very easily and breaks.

General Comments:

The car is roomy with plenty of leg room in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2005

16th Dec 2005, 08:37

The Element is the ugliest car that I've seen since the AMC Gremlin.

Japan is rich enough. Buy American.

16th Dec 2005, 16:49

There is no more "American" or "Japanese" unless you buy the really exclusive, expensive cars. Cars are now designed and built in the continent that they are to be sold in. Most Japanese cars in America are designed and built there, so whether you buy a Chevrolet (which has many cars built by Korea - Deawoo) or a Honda, you still are supporting the place you live in.

That's all I wanted to say.

2003 Honda Element EX from North America

Summary:

Excellent car

Faults:

I wish that the rear window passenger seats could be open like the front seat's window. Also, the coffe tray on the rear seats could be utilized as third person's seat instead of putting the tray in between.

General Comments:

You would love this car if you are adventurous and sporty, despite of the bread toaster appearance on exterior. It is very spacious inside which the thing that I like most, you don't feel claustrophobic unlike other SUV's. The fabric use in car seats are also excellent, it is stain proof and wet proof, good if you have kids and do messy stuffs. Non carpet floor is very good too, you can just wipe and go, but don't rinse it with water hose or else you will mess up with the wirings. The Front panel design was done perfectly and impressive. I hope they produce a hybrid version too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2005

2003 Honda Element EX 4 cyclinder from North America

Summary:

The Element is a great car to run around town in to do errands

Faults:

I've replaced the Element windshield 3 times. Every replacement made loud wind noises and rattled.

The first windshield broke from a small rock on the freeway. It chipped the glass and a large crack developed. I went to the auto glass vendor a total of 8 times and 2 times to the Honda dealership trying to get the noise fixed. The auto vendor replaced the 2nd windshield free, but the windshield still rattled and the whistling noise continued.

Then while driving on the freeway another rock hit the windshield and cracked the glass again! Right away a a long horizontal crack developed, but the noise went away. I drove with the huge crack for over a year. Last week I finally replaced the windshield again because the crack was almost completely across the windshield. I went to a different glass vendor. I did't tell the new glass vendor anything about the trouble I had with the other windshields. After he did the work, he told me he replaced the windshield on one Element 5 times because of the noise!

My newest windshield is whistling and rattling. I called the Honda dealership I bought the vehicle from. I spoke to the service manager and the assistant manager. Then I called the Honda corporate headquarters. No one seems to have heard of this problem before.

General Comments:

I like the vehicle, the seats are comfortable and the interior is roomy. I feel pretty safe in it while driving. It's not a car to drive too fast as it doesn't seem to grip the road as much as I'd like it too. I was by a semi truck on the freeway and the front end seemed to lift up, not leaving me with much control as it's a front wheel drive.

The radio/cd player is great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2005

6th Dec 2005, 10:43

What year is your Element? I am wondering if the cracking is occurring in the 2005 and 2006's as well. I am interested in buying one, but after reading so many unhappy reviews I am second guessing my decision. Any advice?

17th Sep 2006, 19:51

I agree with the whistling part on the windshield. I thought I was the only having this problem, I haven't brought it to anywhere to get a replacement for my windshield. It'll sure cost me a lot.

23rd Oct 2006, 09:50

I am an owner of a 2005 Element. First windshield cracked after 10K miles drivers side. 5K later a whistling noise followed by a crack passenger side. I am about to call the dealer today. Will keep you informed.

16th Apr 2007, 09:56

I am the owner of a 2003 Element EX. My windshield also was replaced and know I have a wind noise that sounds like a kazoo. It appears when the temperature is above 65 degrees, at approx. 60 mph. I taped up the molding around the windshield, took off the wipers and surrounding molding, taped up any possible thing that could move under the hood and gravel shields under the truck. I even taped the hood down where no wind could go and still I have the same noise. Please give me another solution if you have one. I have 103,000 miles and loved it until know. mjm13@doc.state.nc.us Raleigh North Carolina.