2003 Honda Element Reviews - Page 5 of 12

2003 Honda Element from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I would probably buy another Element if the door lock and windshield issues are addressed by Honda.

Faults:

The first month I had my Element my windshield cracked. I was unaware of a class action until I had surpassed the mileage limit. My driver door lock started not letting the key enter about a year or so ago and now will not at all. Is anyone aware of this issue (along with the Windshield) or if there is a suit against Honda for any of this?

General Comments:

I love the Element, it is the most favorite car I have ever owned issued aside.

It does have quite a bit of wind noise.

Honda needs to address the windshield and door lock issues with current owners for return business!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2007

1st Jan 2008, 13:58

Has anyone figured out what the problem is with the door lock?

2nd Jan 2008, 17:19

This is my second Honda Element. I bought the first one in 2003. Then they came out with the one with painted panels, so I traded in for the 2006. I LOVE my car. However I won't be buying a third Element. I have repaired and replaced the windshield in both. When I contacted Honda, they said I should buy a bug shield for my car. Not the solution I was looking for.

2003 Honda Element ex 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carChrysler PT Cruiser

Summary:

Meets my current needs regarding versatility

Faults:

Both shock struts leaking at 25,000 miles. Replaced under warranty.

Left door would creak and groan when hitting bumps. Adjusted at dealership.

Right front passenger seat cover replaced, under warranty, due to fraying along edge where I would place my hand while entering the vehicle.

In cold weather-the dashboard makes crackling noises along the windshield. Sounds like rattling of plastic in the wind. Not resolved.

Tires wore out at only 34,000 miles with outside edges rounding.

General Comments:

Plastic interior scratches very easily and is disappointing.

Seat belt issue for rear passengers exiting needs to be redesigned.

Door locks need redesigning, also. Passengers are constantly looking for door " unlock button " and instead activating the window.

Ride is way to choppy in the city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2007

2003 Honda Element from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7100 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

Company does not admit windshield fault

Faults:

Dealer sold w/repaired star, but later said I'd had repaired! Now crk across driver side, dealer won't replace under class suit... tiny star, but internal memo says they have discretion to replace if not a large rock, baseball, etc. Love car wish I'd known about windshield problem before purchasing.

Driver side lock now difficult.

General Comments:

Great vehicle for me otherwise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2007

25th Jan 2007, 05:52

I'm confused, what exactly is the fault?

That it can't avoid getting hit with rocks?

2003 Honda Element from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Good value

Faults:

Disappointed in mileage, average 23 mpg mostly on the highway. Drive between 70-80, AC always on (Florida) and no hills. Cannot get it to average over 24mpg on any fill up.

General Comments:

Have put 45k miles on the car in the past 18 months. Have not done anything except change fluids.

Car handles well, great turning radius, very comfortable for me (6'2") great headroom. Very roomy backseats, wish it could seat 5 instead of 4.

You either like the looks or hate it. My 13 year old daughter calls it the Toaster, but she thinks it is cool. Son gets car sick in wife's Accord, but not in Element.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2006

2003 Honda Element ex from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great for work, sport and family

Faults:

Windshield Issues @ 50,000, replacement Windshield creates extreme noise (whistle) on highway at speeds above 45mph. Driver side door lock does not work from outside with key.

General Comments:

Love the versatile space and fuel economy, wish it was powerful (V6?) had an armrest for the passenger side chair and major blind spots need to be addressed (drive side column=pedestrian killer).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

2003 Honda Element EX4wd 2.4 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carAcura 1.6 EL

Summary:

This car is very practical and economical

Faults:

Drivers door lock cylinder went bad.

Annoying "fuel slosh" below drivers seat that sounds like "banging drive shaft."

Took the car to the dealer several times thinking there was something seriously wrong with the vehicle.

General Comments:

Very functional, versatile, finally something different to look at on the road.

Reliable, forgiving at the gas pump for a heavy vehicle.

Excellent alternative to a station wagon or minivan. Perfect for small families.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2006

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 45 reviews