21st Mar 2007, 08:43

Oh, I get it. If a car is not as popular it is, by your thinking, more safe.

HMMMMM, I don't think so.

The statistics compare cars/SUVs driven the same amount of miles and how many people are likely to die or be injured within those given miles.

21st Mar 2007, 16:06

You should've said that in the first place and it could've been over right there, but instead you give half assed data and start a half assed argument. GOOD JOB! But your statistics still won't matter when the Suburban hits the Civic.

23rd Mar 2007, 11:35

11:37- You don't know as much as you think you do. A lot of times, the small car fares better in an accident with an SUV. An accident I was in proves you wrong. How about when a small car and an SUV collide, the car goes partially under the truck, and the truck flips over and rolls 3 or 4 times? Who wins that one? I'll tell you; the BMW that hit me came out better than I and my 4 wheel drive Dodge truck did, because it stayed on the wheels and I didn't.

23rd Mar 2007, 13:46

And that's even assuming the two vehicles even do end up colliding, since the high centers of gravity in SUVs/pickups mean the vehicle will probably roll BEFORE it even hits something.

24th Mar 2007, 18:21

That's why I make no effort to avoid other cars who feel the need to get in my way. I just hold the wheel steady forward, hold the horn down, and floor the gas pedal. So far they all got out of my way, but if one decides not to I'm gonna make sure he doesn't make it home that day.

25th Mar 2007, 08:58

I was wondering why this sounded familiar. It's in the foreword of "How to drive an American SUV".

28th Mar 2007, 08:32

Sorry, but the majority of SUV rollovers are caused BEFORE impact during emergency braking and handling.

And I'm sure your lawyer will tell you testifying that you "made a decision to simply mow down the car in front of you" is not going to get you off at your trial.

28th Mar 2007, 10:30

In regard to comment 08:32, What you are saying PERFECTLY confirms what comment 20:26 says. You DON'T make sudden steering changes with ANY top-heavy vehicle. That is NOT "unpredictable" behavior, it's GOOD SENSE!!

Anyone stupid enough to jerk the steering wheel on an SUV or truck is going to roll. The ONLY safe course is to do EXACTLY as comment 20:26 states. Brake hard and hit whatever is in front of you. If someone is incompetent enough to run a stop sign in front of you, they deserve to have to replace your vehicle.

This exact thing happened to me last year. A distracted driver pulled out in front of me and I T-boned him. We both survived and I have a shiny new truck courtesy of his insurance company.

28th Mar 2007, 19:34

Flipping an SUV won't kill (or usually even HURT) anyone who is belted in. Contrary to the myth spread by Honda, the roofs DO NOT cave in on ANY domestic SUV (though they DO on Highlander and Pilot, I hear). I saw an accident where a lady who knew nothing about driving rolled her Explorer EIGHT TIMES at 70mph. She didn't get a scratch and her roof (even after EIGHT ROLLS) did NOT collapse. I've never heard of ONE SINGLE DEATH in an SUV accident where the driver and passengers were properly belted, and I have never seen a domestic SUV with a collapsed roof.

28th Mar 2007, 20:11

"Sorry, but the majority of SUV rollovers are caused BEFORE impact during emergency braking and handling."

No, really? That's was one of my biggest points, I don't do emergency maneuvers, nor do I slow down to avoid exactly that. And hey I got insurance.

29th Mar 2007, 08:36

You don't do emergency maneuvers? Exactly which part of the country do you live in where you don't encounter other vehicles, animals, debris, construction zones, and the like?

You remind me of those old 50's movies where the mother leaving the hospital holds her baby in the front seat, unbelted of course, because her husband is a "safe driver".

29th Mar 2007, 11:34

<< Contrary to the myth spread by Honda, the roofs DO NOT cave in on ANY domestic SUV (though they DO on Highlander and Pilot, I hear) >>

Gosh, you'll have to explain this site:


Also notice the top pictures where several American SUVs are shown with their roofs collapsed after an accident.

29th Mar 2007, 17:50

I have seen a few Pilots/MDX's that rolled over many times and had no roof cave ins once they arrived at the salvage yard... stop your complaining!

29th Mar 2007, 20:01

Hard braking will not cause an SUV to roll. Sharp turns will. Best course of action is steer straight ahead and stand on the brakes. People dumb enough to pull out in front of two-ton vehicles deserve to get hit.

30th Mar 2007, 07:55

This is why America has some of the worst highway injuries/deaths in the world on a per capita basis.

Sorry, but if you EVER took a real driving course you would find that is the last you want to do.

It is simply sickening that you people would injure or kill innocent people just because you are UNABLE to control a vehicle that you KNOW is unstable.

30th Mar 2007, 10:21

Oooh, pictures on the internet supplied by lawyers looking for clients. Yes, that is clearly unbiased evidence that totally supports your claim. Please, give me a break!

30th Mar 2007, 12:57

Sorry, but the poster said SUVs do NOT have collapsible roofs, and that no one has ever been killed by a collapsed roof or in a roll over if they've worn seat belts.

Lawyer or not, the pictures prove the poster 100% wrong on every count.

Here' another site. Seems the Ford Explorer is as safe as asbestos:


30th Mar 2007, 13:54

Innocent? If some moron who can't drive pulls out in front of me before I can react, and forces me to hit them, they are hardly innocent. They are stupid, and not only ruin my day, but deserve what they get.

31st Mar 2007, 08:52

You make sure you tell the judge that. I'm sure s/he will buy your argument when you're faced with a multi-million dollar lawsuit by the family of the dead people "that deserved what they get".

2nd Apr 2007, 13:53

Why do (some) people keep just assuming that the Fit is going to be unsafe just because it's small? It comes with front, side, and curtain airbags, and gets top safety ratings... a better safety rating (consumer reports) than most larger cars and SUVs.

26th Aug 2007, 11:06

There would be no lawsuit considering the accident was the dead morons fault. That sorta voids any argument straightaway.

27th Feb 2008, 01:48

To the guy with the dead friend in the RSX, I'm really sorry to hear that.

All you Honda owners need to take a look at this site.


The Acura RSX has 5 star frontal crash ratings and 4 star side impact rating. Yet the website shows that the RSX is a very dangerous car with high death rates. Goes to show, that crash star ratings can't always prove to save your life.

... S.

16th Aug 2009, 22:36

You're one of those SUV drivers who thinks they own the road!

Another argument I'd like to bring up, while it's true you'll be safer in an accident in an SUV, if you get in an accident with say, an 18-wheeler, it really doesn't matter what your driving. 80,000 LBS of steel moving at 65 MPH isn't going to be very forgiving for any vehicle.