1984 Honda Prelude Si 2.0L inline 4 from North America


This is my favourite car; it and all generations alike


I had two 1984 Honda Preludes and I will indicate problems had with both with the word both at the end.

Timing belt goes - both

Vacuum Advance goes

Multiple Radiator Hose ruptures from rotting

Bucket seats have been worn and torn- both

O2 sensor fries

Emergency brake breaks

Specialty Honda link fuse fries (hard to replace due to availability)

Head gasket went

Valve cover seal leaked - both

Thermostat housing seal hardened to uselessness

Heater core leak

Exhaust leaks

3 ALTERNATORS blew, possibly from my system which is worth 5 times the car.

Completely worn clutch.

General Comments:

These Honda Preludes were the first cars I ever had. The first I picked up for 300 dollars and all that was to be done was the replacement of the clutch.

That one was tee-boned and therefore I purchased another one for 1200 dollars that needed a carburetor. When I swapped carbureters from the two I had a speed daemon.

My first one was faster though, reached 240 km/h (downhill) and the second one reached 220 km/h. Great handling! (there have been several occasions where excessive speed has caused me to start losing control, but was able to regain it due to ability on both my and the cars part).

But speed proved my second ones demise. Crash!

I am going right out to get another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2005

12th Apr 2005, 01:02

Why not try something else, afterall, from the list above, youve had a lot of problems with preludes!

1st May 2011, 06:34

Why would you want to get another car, 2G Preludes are awesome. After all, it came out second to the Porsche in the Road and Track review back in the 80's.

This is my current love, and will always be!!!

1984 Honda Prelude 1.8 Carb from North America


This Prelude Is Awesome


Nothing major has ever gone wrong.

The Paint is a little worn, but only on the rear end where it was once tail ended, and repainted by an amature painter.

The Fuse box cover was busted for about 2 days after I got it, but that's now fixed.

General Comments:

This car is a very good car for any beginning driver.

I'm only 17 and this is my first car, a 1984 Honda Prelude.

So far... I'm loving this car!

For as old as it is, its got very good gas mileage, about 25-30 miles to the gallon.

Another thing I have noticed about this car, is that it has unusually low mileage for its year, which means that the previous owner has neglected this awesome car.

I'm in the midst of fixing it up a bit, getting it a new paint job, and replacing everything I can with higher performance parts.

No need to replace any Interior, because from what I see, its all in perfect condition.

I bought this car for only $500!!!

And this car is one of the best, and funnest cars I've ever driven.

It handles like a dream, and for all you kids who like street racing, I would recommend checking this car out.

It's a 3rd Generation Tuner, and it has the speed and strength to prove it.

My recommendation to anyone looking for a good Honda... GET THIS CAR!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2005

1984 Honda Prelude 1.6L 4 cylinder. from North America


My Prelude makes My Heart-Beat Faster.


The Car's 20-Year-Old Alternator went at approximately 145,000km.

The Original "bucket" Seats had some badly worn holes on the driver's side.

General Comments:

This car was in a "T-Bone" accident in 1998, It was then bought and restored to it's Original Condition in 2000, the car runs excellent, looks beautiful with it's clear-coated Windsor Blue Paint and the mag wheels from a 1986 Prelude.

This Car has Outstanding power for the engine size and steers like a go-cart. I really love to drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2005

15th Mar 2005, 12:35

I was wondering how a 21 year old Prelude could make your heart beat faster.

Then I saw what you owned before lol.

27th Aug 2005, 02:48

This Same prelude just rolled over to 171,000km and is still running well. I replaced the front right Axle because I ignored the cracked C.V. boot.

It still runs great, Gets Good Gas mileage for a Twin Carb of it's Day and looks very pretty parked outside my home.

Still absolutely No Rust, and gets pampered at the car wash every week, I mean we're talking Soapy water, Foam Brush, Tire Cleaner, Engine Cleaner, Wax water application, Full Wipe-down, Tire Dressing, Plastic polishing and a full Vacuum and Dash Polishing.

My rather large butt tore a hole in the driver seat (problematic in all 2nd Generation preludes) But same color thread did a marvelous patch job.


12th Nov 2008, 09:38

Hey good going, that's great you don't follow what everyone else does and buy something for show.