1988 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 12 of 12

1988 Honda Prelude Si 4WS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired172000 kilometres
Most recent distance172000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Suppose to be superior but more 1988 Buick on the road

Faults:

Engine noise that seems normal to dealer knowledge.

Fragile front train components.

General Comments:

Like most owners, quality feel, reliable despite its rusty condition. Need a budget to keep in top running condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

3rd Jul 2001, 02:30

If the noise you're talking about is a kind of rattle or what seems to be a lifter noise at 2000 RPM. Then it's just your header rubbing up against your oil pan. If you ever get GOOD headers it should go away.

1988 Honda Prelude SI 4WS 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 miles
Most recent distance304000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A high performance bargain is an understatement

Faults:

Air conditioner doesn't blow cold sometimes. It could be working well on one trip, turn it off and back on and it doesn't get cold no more. Let it rest then it blows cold again. It's got me. But then again it's amazing that it works at all.

General Comments:

I bought this car from a dealership that used the car as a go for car. The dealer got it on a trade and it had so many miles on it he didn't put it up for sale. Instead he used to travel around to do business. The dealer put 10,000 miles on it and used it everyday. I saw the car sitting in the street one day and noticed it had 4WS. I asked him if I could drive it. He said yes. Loved the car the very first drive. Had to have it. I offered him 2K he said OK. Now it's mine.

This car still runs excellent and it drives excellent. Have had a number of cars in the past. Some of them were other Honda models. This car is it. It's not real fast but it's fun to drive. The steering is precise. The manual gear box is sweet. I drive a 136 miles every day and I am comfortable in the seat.

As far as maintenance goes, I've changed the oil once already and flushed refilled the radiator. A new Honda is about 26K for this model. That buys a lot of maintenance. I'll take an old Honda anyday.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2000

21st May 2002, 13:33

I've only had my car for 3 weeks now and I love it. Lot of mileage (290,000 - 1988) but not too concerned about it has I have been told if oil is changed regularly it will last for ever. Purrs like a kitten. Body has been redone and it looks great. I think I made a very good deal. Gone from a Mazda pick up to this. Takes a bit of getting used to and I love it. Sure hope this is the beginning of a long lasting affair lol.

1988 Honda Prelude SI 4WS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude (x2)

Summary:

High-maintenence lemon from Hell!

Faults:

Starter, alternator, water pump, brake master cylinder, A/C compressor, drivers side CV axle, rear sway bar bolts, ALL FOUR BRAKE CALIPERS, radiator fan switch, passengers side ball joint..

Additionally: the fuel filler pipe leaked gasoline all over a station last year while filling up and required replacing. $2000 in *parts* (not labor) since last year.

This car has a horrible rust problem and I've watched the entire rear quarter erode and rot off for the last year. I cannot believe how rusty this thing has gotten.

Last week (July 2000), I had excessive valve lash noise coming home on the highway. The exhaust camshaft broke off, took the timing belt with it, and I bent valves. Now I'm looking for a complete head for the stupid car.

General Comments:

This is the third Honda Prelude I've owned. The other two were a 1984 S and a 1988 S. Those were both wonderful and reliable cars. My roommate wrecked them BOTH! - the 1984 was totalled with 174,000.... I made him buy the 1988 from me for $700 when he crashed it into a Subaru at 140,000 miles.

It's still driving with 163,000 miles and no problems but brakes/tires/oil/belts/etc. Oh, and a smashed up front end. Not Honda's fault.

I was genuinely SHOCKED by what a piece of miserable junk the third Prelude is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2000

11th Dec 2000, 04:42

I guess the assembly line of every car produces the odd lemon, but this review seems extreme in the extreme. I've had a Prelude of this vintage for two years and I've had not the slightest problem - certainly not a touch of rust. Then again I don't drive on the salt laden roads of North America.

1988 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carAMC Cherokee

Faults:

Mostly brakes. Liliputian-like parts design for an ATV. Steering and suspension components hardly resist rough roads (let's say Canadian roads). Suggest high quality replacement parts (prices range from $39.99 to $125 for a tie rod end).

General Comments:

Feels strong. Fit and finish deserves high marks but seats aren't designed for six footers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2000

21st Nov 2006, 15:57

Not at all I'm 6'1" and it is a nightmare to ride with more than 2 people should have been a 2 seater.

1988 Honda Prelude SI 4WS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10

Faults:

Although the car starts every time, it seems like every other week something new needs to be replaced.. heater, exhaust pipe, fuses, steering rack, fuel pump, and because camber cannot be adjusted on a Honda, I also need new tires.

General Comments:

Overall a reliable car, but very expensive to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

7th May 2005, 08:07

Can you not have a camber kit installed?? check with a brake shop or reliable mechanic you trust for a camber kit.

1988 Honda Prelude SI 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10

Faults:

I had to replace the clutch at 95K, but otherwise it's been trouble-free.

General Comments:

A fun little car to drive, and since mine is yellow, it's a real head-turner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 51 reviews