1988 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 4 of 12

1988 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance200586 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Cheap and fast as hell

Faults:

When I first got the car the motor was blowen and thir was a lot of rust on it the paint was bad.

General Comments:

I am sixteen and all about power so I re did the motor I got the head port and polished after market cams, gears, header, pistons, intake and re painted this is my second car I owned and I love it it's got around 250HP.

I love to drag race my friends who think their escorts and cavilers are fast I out handle them I have had it well over 140MPH on the highway it's a true V8 eater. I hope all the prelude owners love their car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

29th Mar 2006, 16:19

Idiot, the 7.5 will eat you with time.

30th Mar 2006, 23:57

There is no turbo or supercharger I would like to turbo it just don't got the time or money yet to do that. I have not had it dynoed 250HP is a guess. I can beat Mustangs with no problem and a mustang is a v8 against a 4 banger.

2nd Apr 2006, 22:41

What the hell is a 7.5 that will eat me with time.

1988 Honda Prelude Si 4 cyclinder from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cyclinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110 miles
Most recent distance132800 miles
Previous carChrysler Dodge Aspen

Summary:

The best car I've ever owned.

Faults:

Other than expected with age or wear, one problem.

Both front wheels needed to have a part replaced.

There was screeching when I turned the steering wheel.

General Comments:

This has been a great car, and I hesitate to give it up.

It passed its stringent California smog test for older cars with flying colors (off the charts in the right direction).

Repainted, it looks as good as most cars on the freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2005

1988 Honda Prelude Si 4WS 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired185032 miles
Most recent distance191325 miles

Summary:

This is a great first car

Faults:

Clutch went out after 3 weeks of owning it.

Power-steering hose leaks (still havn't replaced)

Right side headlight don't come up all the way.

Driver side door don't open from inside.

Driver side window has to have help to go up.

You get the (In Shower) when it rains from the sunroof.

General Comments:

This is my first car and I love it. Even though it has cost me a lot of money for repairs.

I love the 4WS steering it lets me take curves very fast and handles very well.

I drive my car a lot and it is very comfortable.

I will buy another prelude.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2005

1988 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Very fun, reliable car to drive

Faults:

Burning oil at a pretty decent rate of about 1 quart per 750-1,000 miles. I suppose burning oil is to be expected though with the very high mileage.

Squeaking by on my emissions inspection conducted in November. The Hydrocarbon standard in my area is 400ppm, passed at 395ppm!

Replaced the power steering pump shortly after purchase in March 2004.

Replaced slave cylinder in clutch in December 2004.

Some electrical items not functional (lighter, cruise, driver's side control for passenger window).

General Comments:

The car thus far (knock on wood) has been very reliable as a daily commuter or ~50 miles round trip per day highway driving from home to office. Also took on road trip from Triangle NC area to Asheville NC (~400 miles) without a problem.

The front seats are roomy (coming from a 6'5" tall, 200lbs. driver). However, the nonexistent backseat is basically a storage area for my use.

Overall I have been very satisfied with the vehicle, but I am concerned about the current oil leak and "ticking" in the engine.

Would definitely recommend to others and will likely purchase another Honda when $ allows and grad school is finished.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2005

1988 Honda Prelude 4WS 2.0SI 2.0SI from Malaysia

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0SI Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

Not a powerful and stable car

Faults:

Air-conditioning problem. The red light keep coming up causing the air conditioning to stop functioning. Spend about 1000++ to fix this problem.

General Comments:

Honda Prelude is sporty if you modify the car such as implement body kit to the car etc...

The disadvantages of this car is that the car is not powerful at all. You can't race using this car you will lost for sure. There are no power at all for a Honda Prelude 3rd generation.

The second of weird problem with this car is when you drive over 90KM/H, the car steering and the wheel shake. This prove that the car is not stable at all.

Conclusion, not a powerful car and the car is not stable. You can get into accident easily if you drive fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2004

20th Dec 2004, 23:39

These cars are very stable at any speed providing that, like any other car, the wheels are balanced correctly. The people that complain about the car not having enough power are usually driving an automatic!

17th Mar 2005, 19:58

Sounds like you have a wheel balancing problem... or yours is an accident vehicle. Most Preludes in M'sia were abused and bashed before being botched up and sold to unsuspecting buyers.

My personal experience with the Prelude is that its fast and stable. I've taken a midly modified one to 220km/h easily...suggest you get the car checked out by an honest mech.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 51 reviews