1988 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 9 of 12

1988 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

One fun car

Faults:

I have replaced fuel pump and injectors.

Alternator went out 3 weeks after I bought it.

Interior looks great.

General Comments:

Even with a semi-worn suspension car handles great.

Love the large legroom because I am very tall.

After replacing several parts with aftermarket performance parts, car is pretty quick.

I have taken it to 125mph and still did not max out 4th gear, let alone fifth gar.

Took it to track after owning for 2 months and ran a 10.7 second eigth mile time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2003

1988 Honda Prelude Si 2.0T from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0T Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Impulse

Summary:

Great first car with lots of potential

General Comments:

Great car I bought it when I was 15 and rebuilt the engine completely, had it ported and polished, a 4 angle valve job, installed low comp pistons, new exhaust, headers, muffler, intake, rims, cams, cam gear, turbo exhaust manifold, t3/t4 turbo, msd ignition, new fuel pump and rails, tires, clutch, flywheel, and a body kit this car has much potential and is very fast even stock. and you can do a h22a swap into it with out many problems. I recommend this car to anyone who likes a great looking and fast car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2003

1988 Honda Prelude Si 2.0L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance325000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A fantastic car!

Faults:

Clutch replaced at 185,000 KM.

Front axles replaced at 310,000 KM.

General Comments:

The is the most reliable car I have ever driven. At 325,000 KM, it still runs perfectly and the engine is still smooth and quiet. Very little repairs required during the 13 years I have owned the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2003

1988 Honda Prelude Si/4WS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

I love it and will own another

Faults:

Just all common wear and tear items.

General Comments:

This car didn't get the greatest gas mileage of any car, but it was still good.

For a car with 160,000 miles, I expect a lot more to be wrong.

I've owned over 50 vehicles between the age of 15 and 28.

This Honda has been one of the most problem-free and best driving experience I've ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

1988 Honda Prelude Si 4WS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired74260 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

A Fully Equipped Honda Powerplant

Faults:

Rotors were found to be warped, probably due to the older woman who owned it before me. Installed cross drilled rotors and metal matrix brake pads.

Seats are experiencing usual wear. i.e. Fading color.

Usual rust has formed below the gas tank and underneath each quarter panel. Probably due to the fact I found pounds of compacted dirt and sand underneath them after removed. WARNING: unscrew and clean underneath your quater panels one time a year, as moisture and dirt are perfect conditions for rust formation. You may save yourself loads of money and increase resale value of your car.

Paint on hood wearing away. Honda did not place the hood correctly, it gets extremely hot when running during the summer, causing paint fade and severe damage to any clear coat.

The "In car shower" many prelude owners experience is the result of trapped dirt and dust in the sunroofs drain channels. A flexible, soft rod needs to be worked down the channels and hot water poured down the channels. *Warning*: channels are rubber, any puncturing of these tubes may result in further, costly problems.

General Comments:

Despite the three minor problems stated above, this car is excellent and with new tires it's 4 wheel steering radius is intriguing.

Couple of mods and this car is a excellent powerplant and very fun to drive.

It offers a panoramic view from all angles and is unique enough to stand out in a crowd.

I will definitely buy another prelude in my lifetime, but I will seriously miss the 4 wheel steering.

Honda got it right with these preludes, and they continue to do it right.

Parts wear they don't break. Change your timing belt every 50,000 miles, tune-up every 25,000 and change the oil every 2,500. You'll be glad you maintained it when you trade it in or resell it to a private party.

Safety may be of a concern, as the driver only sits above 6 inches from the asphalt. It tops out at 132 MPH and could use more low end power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

9th Oct 2003, 00:05

I have a 1988 prelude Si 2.0 4WS ALB

This has been the worst car ever I've had, after putting 4 Automatic gearboxes in it myself I'm sick of it. I hope this is the last one I will have to install. I've been told the O'rings in the Autos go if anyone else has this trouble.

4th Apr 2005, 12:18

This is my first car and I love it. I have Experienced the water coming in on your head after it has rained from the sunroof also.

1st Apr 2006, 19:00

I have a 1988 prelude SI 4ws that I got for 650 bucks from a tow yard and it is really fast I smoke all kinds of newer accra's all the time.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 51 reviews