1988 Honda Prelude 2.0si4ws 2.0dohcefi from North America


Best car I've ever had, hands down


Repaced alternator at 230000 km.

Drivers seat is slightly getting worn.

Replaced exhaust at 190000 km.

Replaced brakes and driver wheel bearing at 230000 km.

Replaced rear upper control arms at 231000km.

General Comments:

After I had the car a year, I had to spend about $1500.00 on the car, but the car has been a rock solid, unbreakable great car.

The car is extremely fun to drive and handles better than anything I've ever driven.

It has tons of power and is great on gas.

The four wheel steering system hugs the road.

It is very comfortable to sit in for hours which I do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

31st Mar 2005, 10:34

I agree. I also own the same vehicle, although I've repaired my car a few times more, due to my driving. if anyone had ever driven this car they would know why I take a lot of advantage of the power it has to offer.

1988 Honda Prelude 2.0Si 2 litre from North America


Very little cash for a hell or a lot of speed!


I had to replace the clutch (it was only expensive because I went crazy on a racing clutch for fun) I have done most of the work myself or my friend has done it. Very little actual problems. The problems are small, but hard to find.

General Comments:

I love this car and I will never sell it. This coming summer I am putting in a H22 from a newer prelude to give it some sass. I hardly ever lose races and I can honestly say that there are not many cars that can keep up to mine, for its age!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

1988 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 DOHC from North America


Fast, fun, and affordable, don't expect to haul much in it


Friend owned the car before I did, timing belt broke, bent valves, $2000. Replace the timing belt at suggested intervals.

Have had to replace main relay twice due to condensation under dash (granted, this car has been in at least 2 accidents).

Rear disc brake slides tend to freeze up, just need to be greased or checked any time brakes are serviced.

Rear center link for suspension rusted through, had to be replaced. God blessed me with a junkyard who sold me a complete rear end for $250, and a high school auto shop who did the work for free. Total: $400.

Trunk bottom seams rusted through on sides (fixable with "Great Stuff" and spray-on bedliner)

General Comments:

I was fourth teenage guy to get this car. My brother and a friend had it before me.

All three of us beat on this car mercilessly.

Rides like a go-kart. Corners very well at high speed. (Note: I am not responsible if you test this out. High speed driving and cornering should only be done by a trained professional under controlled conditions.)

Front bucket seats very adjustable (lumbar and lateral supports), good visibility out mirrors, back seat only fits children under 5' 4" comfortably.

Manual transmission is great, can get more torque with K&N air filter with short ram intake.

Can't believe this car still runs, I still wind it up to 7250 rpm redline semi-regularly. It's a beast. I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

5th Nov 2004, 22:58

Update of this review 11/6/2004...now has 204,000 miles and just drove car from Illinois to California. Heat shield made vibration at certain rpms... thought it was an engine problem, but dealership found the loose heat shield. I still beat on this car a lot and it takes it. Car eats up curvy roads!!! Alternator currently going out though... only 2 years on the previous... am looking to buy bigger car such as Bonneville.

1988 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 from North America


A toss up between good and bad


The Sunroof is cracked and the seal is out. Every time I stop and it has rained the water just pours into the cockpit.

The exhaust is totally gone, the tail pipe totally fell off the muffler.

The passenger side seatbelt does not work.

The brakes need to be fixed.

There is rust everywhere on the car. Its not all the way through, but it seems to show up over night.

The front windshield is cracked.

The plastic side molding on the door beside the window fell off so there is a lot of wind noise.

The transmission slips when trying to pass someone.

The paint has faded with no hope of reviving it. I kept it washed and waxed until it would no longer shine up after winter.

The buzzer for the headlights being left on works when it wants to. I have left my lights on 4 times in the last month because I forget I turn them on when I'm driving to work.

I'm really not sure Id buy another Prelude of this year. Possibly a new one.

Even with all the problems it has now its still a great little car. When it runs it doesn't leave me stranded which is surprise.

All the parts that are failing on my car other than the transmission and the rust haven't gotten any worse. They still keep the car from running daily and they really don't have anything to do with the run ability of it. That's just sad.

My boyfriend has a '92 Grand Am with 170,000 miles on it and has way less trouble with his car than I do mine. His car is in worse shape do to his lack of money. All of the parts on his car that are going out are going to go out sooner than mine, but his car starts everyday.

General Comments:

Wish the build quality on these cars would have been better. I loved it when I first got it. Even with all the effort I put into keeping it nice, nothing seemed to help.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2004

11th Mar 2004, 14:47

You've got to be kidding me. You bought a car that is now 16 years old with 150,000 miles on it and expect it to not have problems and to not spend a penny on it. Of course it's going to have rust on it! It's 16 years old!

15th Mar 2004, 21:43

It is well known that older Hondas are prone to rust. That is the only *real* fault they have. The fact that the windscreen is cracked and the seatbelts don't work isn't the car's fault. Either you are a negligent owner or the previous owner (s) didn't take care of the car.

And like the other person who commented said, it's a 16 year old car. Sooner or later you are going to have to spend money on it. End of story.