2006 Hummer H3 from North America - Comments

2nd May 2006, 16:26

"Where do you get off dude. The drivetrain is from the colorado pickup."

"And truck customers should know that Isuzu was the lead engineer in the partnership with GM that developed the new GMT 355 platform, which serves the Colorado and GMC Canyon. Isuzu was responsible for packaging, interior design, establishing the quality and cost targets, tech specs and structure of the new truck."

2nd May 2006, 20:23

Didn't explain this well at all...

Ugh.

Don't see how isuzu is japanese anymore when its owned by GM and makes copies of their vehicles.

2nd May 2006, 22:40

I bought the H3 because it looks like a Hummer but for thousands less(and that's about all it has in common with a Hummer). I can't really comment on the Canyon/Colorado because I never gave these vehicles any consideration. I know the GMC and Chevy Truck versions are just re-badged Isuzu I-280's and I-350's. Don't kid yourself these are engineered by Isuzu not Gm. The only thing the H3 and the Canyon/Colorado/I-350 have in common is the engine and frame. The H3 is a full time AWD and not manually engaging electronic 4WD. Yeah it starts at $10 000 more than a full trim Colorado, but like I stated it is a company car, and when I pick up my clientele they appreciate the higher level of service we offer them. As far as being screwed by the big three is concerned, my parents, aunts, uncles, brother, friends, and clients bought domestics and had a lot of headaches with them. So I stuck with the Japanese brands throughout and avoided the big three because it is a fact the Japanese know what they are doing. I am an ASE certified vehicle technician and before that I was a tow truck operator for 5 years. I can tell you a lot of sad stories about a lot of disappointed domestic car owners who got stranded with unreliable poorly engineered GM, Ford, and Chrysler vehicles. That's where I "get off", I call it the way I see it from a professionals perspective. So Kudos to GM for pimping out a well dressed Isuzu (whom have been making trucks for 80 odd years), whoring out the Hummer brand is a sure sell. Overall a well packaged, solid Mid-sized SUV. Cheers!

3rd May 2006, 14:37

Um, GM doesn't own any of Isuzu any longer. Sorry.

10th May 2006, 01:33

Your right, but you're the one that didn't explain this well at all. Not to mention that people who visit this site to actually get a review about how a vehicle performs are confused by your conflicting opinions about GM shareholdings in Isuzu. So far the truck runs great, I haven't had a problem with it yet. Feels solidly constructed for a mid-sized SUV. A lightweight that is not as hardcore as the H1 but still capable!

15th May 2006, 06:12

Your review sounds like you like this truck, why then the frowning face on your review?

15th May 2006, 08:19

I'm glad to see that you mentioned the size of the engine being the same as the Honda Pilot. My wife has an 03 Pilot and my H3 would benefit greatly from the Pilot's engine. Even through they are the same displacement the Honda has the extra cylinder. This cylinder pushes more horsepower and torque and still gets better gas mileage than the H3 is capable of. Not to mention the Honda engine sounds better when the gas pedal is pressed. GM is putting 3.5 liter Honda engines into Saturns and they should have done the same here.

4th Jun 2006, 22:02

Sorry I meant to compare the H3 to the Ridgeline when I said Pilot, but they both use the same 3.5l V6 engine.

5th Jun 2006, 04:53

steven@carsurvey.org:

Just a quick clarification.

The smiley and sad faces are based on whether the reviewer said they would buy another vehicle from the same manufacturer.

The votes from visitors and members are used to sort reviews into the "most well written" and "other" lists of reviews for each model.

6th Jun 2006, 13:20

Steven.

Thanks for the clarification, your website is great!

Stephen.

11th Jun 2006, 22:18

Dude the frowning face is on your review because when it asked you if you would buy another vehicle from this maker you responded, NO.

That is why you got a frowning face, not because of reviewers.

12th Jun 2006, 15:05

Yes, but I think we have already established that.

11th Aug 2006, 02:48

I am looking to purchase a SUV very soon, and consider the safety of my three year old, and wife the most important. We live in Beverly Hills... traffic lights, and 25-45 mph... its overwhelming the amount of Navigators, Yukon XL's, Suburbans, Range Rovers, Bentlys, Expeditions, S class Mercedes etc...

Why am I considering an heavy SUV? I guess the fear of us getting hit while the other driver is holding their cell phone with one of their hands while talking on it, eating, having a conversation with their passenger and gazing out at all the people walking, driving, and sitting out at an outdoor cafes.

50% of the use of a SUV for us will be local city use: the other 50% will be driving around the greater LA area/freeways.

I am able to afford a small Explorer type, and also an H3

Am I crazy to consider an H3?

Is there anybody else out there that is in a similar situation... or knows of someone who is?

Thanks.

15th Aug 2006, 15:36

I'm not in that situation, but I'll put my two cents in.

The H3 has a 5 cylinder engine that I have heard is gutless and also gets poor gas mileage because the undersized engine is over worked.

The new Explorer is more powerful, with a 292 4.6 liter option, to me that seems like a better bet unless you are actually planning to go off-road.

However, the Chevy Trailblazer seems to be even better. It has a six cylinder that had 275 horsepower, but I believe the output has recently been raised to 291 horsepower. So you would probably get better gas mileage (depending on your driving habits) and have the same power. Try test driving all the SUV's in that class, and see which one is more suitable to your needs, then make your decision based on that.

25th Aug 2006, 15:39

Original author: Generally speaking body over frame construction tends to be less safe in a collision in comparison to a unibody/monocoque. I would advise against the Explorer because it has been plagued with safety issues and wouldn't recommend the H3 if the safety and well being of your family is at stake. Have you considered the Asian marques? They cost a little more, but they do extensive frontal and side impact testing. Nissan, Toyota and Honda are much more suitable choices for city and motorway driving.

17th Feb 2007, 04:51

I am a loyal Toyota owner and have been for a number of years now cause of all the quality issues with the big 3 however... I recently went on a business trip to Houston Texas and rented an H3. As soon as I got in I noticed how comfortable it was and driving/handling was just as nice. I don't know why it is said there is no power as I found it quite peppy and smoother running than any V-6 I've ever driven. Over all I really liked the H3 and I have to give GM credit for building a nice practical vehicle. This is the first GM I would have considered purchasing since the 70's and if I hadn't just purchased my new Toyota Tacoma I would have maybe purchased the H3. Just my 2 cents :-)