1996 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1996 Hyundai Accent GT 1.5 DOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carLada Samara

Summary:

The Accent GT is a great buy

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong with this car.

The wiper blade motor grease could not cope well with the harsh Canadian winter. This malfunction was fixed by the dealer at no cost.

General Comments:

I love driving this car still even after five years. It's got a lot of zip to it and has served me well.

You notice a big difference in power when you have four people in the car, but this is expected since it's such a small car with a small engine.

The fuel consumption is low especially on the highways which is a blessing now that prices have gone up so much.

I recommend the GT to anyone who wants a great, reliable first car that's inexpensive to buy and to maintain. Oh yeah, it's also a lot of fun to drive.

It's too bad Hyundai stopped making this model, the GSi and Sport models are close but not as good in my opinion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

1996 Hyundai Accent LX 1.6 from Greece

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres

Summary:

It just doesn't get any worse than this..

Faults:

The only thing that worked well on this car was the ashtray (that's because I don't smoke).

Engine problems from day 1, and about 6 months after I purchased it the front suspension gave out.

The electrics are a scary subject, I'm quite lucky that I survived this car!

General Comments:

A great car... for the crusher! In the presence of the cars name don't use words like safety, reliability, comfort or character.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

15th Jul 2001, 23:34

These cars have a reputation for unreliability and cheapness. If you want an econo box, buy a Honda Civic, Nissan Sentra, Toyota Corolla, or Mazda Protege. I would never buy a Hyundai because I don't trust them to begin with.

18th Sep 2002, 02:53

I have an Accent 98. I bought it second hand and I never faced any problem. When I bought my car 17000 Km were already written. As I followed constructor's instructions I never had to change anything except one lamp. Have also on mind that in Greece the road network is terrible.

Best Regards.

5th May 2011, 14:50

This is the most unreliable car I have ever owned. I am from South Africa. I don't drive on any rough roads here. I agree with the first comment.

1996 Hyundai Accent Coupe 1.3i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A good performance, comfortable and inexpensive car

Faults:

Nothing!!

General Comments:

Very comfortable car and very efficient. Good handling and a joy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

1996 Hyundai Accent Sedan 1.5 liter, 16-valve, SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter, 16-valve, SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance113800 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

This was the best car purchase that I've made

Faults:

Driver's door handle broke.

After about 3 years, a few noises/rattles developed inside the car.

General Comments:

My 1996 Accent sedan has been an extremely reliable car. I have had it for just over 5 years now, and it has 113,800 miles on it without any mechanical problems.

It has been inexpensive to maintain, because all it has required is oil changes every 3,000 miles and the factory/dealer recommended service every 30,000 miles.

It averages a very nice 34 miles per gallon with the automatic transmission in 60%/40% highway/city driving.

It has been a great car for the money that I paid... great value. Even though it is not fast "off the line," it feels "peppy" once it gets going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

1996 Hyundai Accent L 1.5L 12v 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5L 12v 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance91010 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

An environmentally friendly and unobtrusive car

Faults:

The windows don't roll up, spring project.

Rear tire "toe-in" creates mild wear pattern, essentially not fixable, noticed @ 11 months and 18k, not a believer in rotating rear tires on a "FWD" at least not every 6k, last time the car would be touched by dealer.

Dealer replaced a bad clutch master cylinder @ 6 months and 11k.

Alternator adjust bracket broke due to an alternator bolt mysteriously missing the nut, @ 16 months and 30k, first visit to the parts department.

Rev limiter works, but speed governor is inoperable, no complaint.

Radiator likes to run one pint low.

General Comments:

Learn to maintain this car yourself and the car will maintain you.

Fuel filter @ 40k, 70k.

Spark plugs @ 40k, 75k.

Plug wires @70k.

Front brake pads @ 70k.

Air filter @ 40k, 70k.

Battery 3.3 years, 80k.

Timing belt real soon!

Those rotors and wheel hubs look like quite a task, but still running down the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 36 reviews