2002 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 13 of 16

2002 Hyundai Accent sedan from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

Not a very strong performance.

The car shifts hard when shifting gears.

Major problem the car is rusting only after a year. The rust is under the hood on all bolts, dipstick all over and under the car.

General Comments:

Warranty overstated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2003

25th Jan 2004, 15:14

I've got a 2001 not a speck of rust. Do you wash it with salt water?

2002 Hyundai Accent GSi 1.5 MFI from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 MFI Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28 kilometres
Most recent distance23500 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Poor quality followed by poor service

Faults:

Driver door will not close or open properly. Lock will not disengage.

Car has a loud "thunk" when shifting from reverse to drive, even at a full stop.

Engine warning light constantly comes on and stays on.

Car bogs down and will not go over 40kms per hour. Smells like something is burning.

Gear shift button sticks.

Front seats go off track and will not slide to adjust seat.

Air flow adjustment shifts over by itself.

Fuel consumption has greatly increased.

General Comments:

Car looks and handles nicely, but in general is very quickly falling apart.

Lots of interior "rattles."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2003

2002 Hyundai Accent LGX 1.5 from Indonesia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carHyundai Toyota

Faults:

The suspension makes a squeaking sound on rough roads, but on the highway it works superbly.

General Comments:

This car is the king of the road. I changed the air filter with racing ones, and I changed the spark plugs with Split fire, and it is the fastest in my area, no kidding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2003

2002 Hyundai Accent from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance240000 miles

Summary:

A city driving car

Faults:

The car will drive itself, it picks up speed when braking even on flat ground.

The transmission is slipping, it won't shift gears.

When starting the car it idles at 6 rpm then settles back down to 3 rpm.

When using the air conditioner the car loses about 20-30 miles in speed.

Has been taken in to two different dealers, niether of which can find anything wrong.

General Comments:

On a normal basis this car handles great for in city driving, but on a car trip it acts up, after about 2 hours of straight use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd June, 2003

2002 Hyundai Accent GS 1.6 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance18900 miles
Previous carSaturn SW

Summary:

A cheap mode of transportation

Faults:

The car has already had engine repairs to stop the ticking noise, which unfortunately is still evident.

After the above repair, they forgot to put in a bolt for the alternator causing a scraping noise on hard acceleration.

The rear lift-gate supports are extremely weak.

The clutch has chattered since I pulled it off of the lot. I even had them look at it when I was done road-testing the car. They said it was normal.

The car is full of weird rattle and squeak noises.

General Comments:

The car has quite a bit of pep to it, but only in first gear. The car is very weak when going over 20 MPH.

The Air conditioning strains the engine.

The interior is much larger than it look from the outside. Even the rear seat has a comfortable amount of room.

The car is cheap! Cheap to buy, cheap to maintain and cheaply built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

29th Dec 2004, 11:26

I'm constantly amazed that people buy the cheapest of the cheap new cars and complain that the car is cheap...

Apparently no one remembers what real cheap cars USED to be like. In the case of a car like the Accent, it's supposed to be very basic, with a few features that used to only be on luxury cars. In order to make it economical, it has to have a small engine, but in order to be even reasonably peppy, it has to be light. The trend in people complaining about light, cheap cars has created the 3000-3500 lb family sedan that gets 19mpg with a V6. And that's not what an economical car is supposed to be about.

21st Jul 2006, 09:41

I couldn't agree more with the above comment. The Hyundai Accent IS a cheap car (though I prefer the word "inexpensive"). Even at that, it is, basically, a very well built inexpensive car. I recently drove my best friend's 2005 Accent on a fairly long road trip and was absolutely amazed at how smooth, quiet, peppy and comfortable it was. I found it to be every bit as comfortable as the grossly overpriced Toyota Corolla and almost as comfortable and powerful as my mid-sized American car. ANY inexpensive car is going to lack the neck-snapping acceleration of a $30,000 sport sedan, the silky smooth ride of a 10mpg luxury barge and the quiet interior of a Lincoln Town Car. They will, however, do just exactly what they SHOULD do: Provide very good transportation at a very reasonable cost while delivering awesome fuel mileage. On the trip I took in my friend's Accent we got an amazing 40mpg.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 55 reviews