2002 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 15 of 16

2002 Hyundai Accent GSi 1.6 ltr DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 ltr DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance34000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

My Hyundai satisfies all my needs and wants in an automobile

Faults:

The only problem I've encountered is the chrome sheild that sits under the sun roof and pops up when the sunroof is taken off. This broke in no time and I find the sunroof works better without it.

General Comments:

I have nothing bad to say about this fine car from Hyundai. My 2002 Accent GSI took me from Niagara Falls Canada to Atlanta Georgia in 18 hours non-stop, in January.

Its fast, reliable and just a joy to drive.

Especially in cornering where it shines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

2002 Hyundai Accent (base model) 1.6 gas from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 gas Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance450 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

An outstanding buy for a limited budget!

Faults:

The only problem I have is the fact that if I have to slam on my breaks while traveling above normal 35mph roads, the brakes don't bring the car to a stop very quickly at all. I can't depend on the brakes at higher speeds, but it has great handling to compensate!!!

General Comments:

It's wonderful to have a car that's reliable, and easy to run. It has a hydraulic clutch and it's so wonderful and easy to use when one has knee, hip or ankle problems!

The seats are comfy, the way everything is setup is perfect. I couldn't ask for a better car at this point in my life! It's all I need as far as transportation goes! Oh, and the warranty is outstanding!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

2002 Hyundai Accent Verna GLS 1.5 from Indonesia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Worth more than it's cost

Faults:

The material for the body is too thin.

The engine sound is too loud after I reach 100 km/h and higher, even in 5th gear

The brake performance is not so good. Starting from 90 km/h I have to 'kick' the brake hardly.

I think Hyundai have to improve the sound protection & brake performance.

General Comments:

Besides all, I'm happy with my Accent Verna.

The engine performance is good.

Handling performance is very good; light steering, clear front view, good acceleration, comfortable seats.

Riding this car in such heavy traffic as Jakarta is very comfortable for me.

Good looking design.

Dealer's service is good. Once I had my front glass broken, than they completely change it only in 3 days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2002

21st Jun 2003, 15:16

Slow and not much to look at.

2002 Hyundai Accent from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance1800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

An overstated warranty

Faults:

Vehicle pulls to the right on highway driving.

Passenger side door lock sticks on both inside and outside making it difficult and often impossible to unlock the door.

Gas mileage has not been as good as originally listed for city driving on this vehicle. Highway gas mileage has been much better.

General Comments:

I purchased this vehicle based on the advertisements of "America's Best Warranty", however after being sent through the finance managers office at the dealership, I have strong apprehension of purchasing another Hyundai.

The advertisements make you believe that this vehicle comes with a 5 year/60,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty which would lead you to believe that everything on the vehicle is covered. The finance manager tells you something different. He tells you that the Hyundai does not cover that many repairs and that you have to purchase separate coverage to be fully protected.

If this is the case why buy a Hyundai? Why not buy any vehicle if you have to spend additional money anyway to have the coverage and peace of mind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th August, 2002

24th Sep 2002, 11:57

Everyone knows that "Bumper to bumper" warranties never cover situations involving excessive wear or abuse of anything or "wear items". Wear items are tires, brakes, belts, clutches, etc. In Hyundai's case they also stipulate that a few items get less coverage such as the radio, A/C refrigerant, and other minor details. This warranty is just as good as what anyone else out there offers. Bumper-to-bumper warranty never means that you won't have to take of your own wiper blades, etc.

28th Mar 2003, 09:49

I hate to tell you this, but you got taken for a ride. The warranty IS standard (at least in the US) -you just happened to run into an unscrupulous dealer who tried (and unfortunately succeeded) in scamming you out of a buck. I'd report the dealer to Hyundai.

16th Jul 2004, 11:02

First of all if it pulls to the right your car has either been in an accident, the suspension and alignment are off or you drive the hell out of your car.

This is a great little car- bring up your dissatisfaction with the company who sold it to you.

25th Nov 2009, 09:18

Are you really trying to say that the A/C and the clutch shouldn't be included in a warranty repair? Are you serious? If a clutch goes out in less than 50K miles, either the car was being literally abused (and there will be plenty of evidence of this in other places), or the clutch was faulty to begin with. If Hyundai doesn't consider the clutch and A/C to be warranty repairs, then they don't have the best warranty in the country. Any GM or Ford or probably Chrysler warranty covers the A/C system and most certainly covers the clutch. In fact GM covers all drivetrain components up to 100K miles even on cars that only have 3/36K warranties. The only things not covered are oil change-related systems, brakes, tires, wipers, lighting and fluids.

25th Nov 2009, 15:51

"In fact GM covers all drivetrain components up to 100K miles"

Except that an A/C compressor and clutch are not really a drivetrain component.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 55 reviews