2002 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 12 of 16

2002 Hyundai Accent from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance19100 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

The car is junk and unsafe

Faults:

Throttle sensor fixed four times in 2 yrs. The brakes (the drums and shoes were replaced) 2 times. Now the spark plugs keep burning out 1 at a time, 3 have so far. I was in an accident with this car and the airbag never deployed and it should have and also the seatbelt never held me back from hitting the steering wheel. I was sitting at a stop sign, minding my business (I seen the RPM 's revved a little higher, so I pushed harder on the brake) and all of a sudden my car lunged into the car ahead of me.

General Comments:

I took the car off the road for good. I am afraid that it will either kill my family or someone else's and I do not want that. The company should take the cars off the road themselves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2004

13th Jan 2009, 11:50

I have had a Hyundai 1995 for 3 years, I would have to say that if I compare all of my friends problems with my problems, it's that either I'm really lucky or I have the best car. I'm not talking about aesthetics and plastic pieces, they are made cheap so that the car fits our budget.

Plus, if you do have a problem like anybody else would have, even if they had high class cars like Mercedes, BMW..., we would still be paying the cheapest ever. We are talking about average 50%+ off.

I have boosted all of my friends and avoided accidents. I was the only one within my friends to take the risk of driving over 300km away from home and guess what, I always brought her back to her parking area.

20th Nov 2009, 17:32

My 2002 Accent motor shakes and my CEL flashes.

2002 Hyundai Accent GSI 1.6L DOCH 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L DOCH 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Ram

Summary:

Not worth the money spent

Faults:

At 20k had to replace the timing chain assembly.

At 36k 1. Had to replace all the spark plugs.

2. Was told that there was evidence of moisture in #3 cylinder chamber.

At 39k had to replace the fuel sending unit.

Fuel consumption has greatly increased over the last 10k.

A loud ticking sound when running, I think the timing chain assembly needs replacing again.

General Comments:

This car is a lemon waiting to happen.

I have unsatisfactory service at dealership.

The fuel economy is very poor for a 4 Cly considering the manufacturer was bragging about 49 mpg on the highway NOT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2003

13th Dec 2003, 09:40

What about the warranty? Wouldn't a car company that boasts America's best warranty go bankrupt if they built vehicles that required constant money to keep them on the road? I hope that one bad apple doesn't ruin everyone's opinion of a new car company that is setting the benchmark in Warranty because of the integrity of the vehicle's quality.

2002 Hyundai Accent crdi 1.5 3 cyclinder common rail diesel from France

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 3 cyclinder common rail diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance1500 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot Partner

Summary:

A bargain of equipments

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

The 1.5. diesel is really powerful for a only 82 horse power.

The fuel consumption 6l per 100km.

The handling and the brakes are not the best of the car if you push it to much, but it still correct giving a rally drivers feeling.

But for 13000 euros with air conditioning, fog lights, electric windows, ABS, electric mirror, air bags front and sides and this wonderful crdi common rail diesel engine, you can t do better value.

I hope it will stay good in the long term, I will send you some update if problems occurs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

19th Feb 2005, 11:13

Accent CRDI has the worst braking system. It doesn't stop even after you hit the brake hard.

30th Apr 2005, 15:56

I have planned to go in for a Viva / normal CRDi. Iam very much worried about the braking system which comes with the car. I will use it for Highway driving. Does this mean its gonna be too risky on the roads when we move in top speeds.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 55 reviews