2005 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2005 Hyundai Accent GLS 1.5 SOHC from Iran

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance2500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Carina

Summary:

Neat and nice little car

Faults:

The car was aiming to the left right after it entered the street. Reversed the front tyres and the problem was solved!

General Comments:

I have only 2500 Kms on the clock and it seems too early to judge, but so far so good!

I wish the car had more powerful engine such as 1.6 DOHC or more!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2006

2005 Hyundai Accent GLS from Iran

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance550 miles
Previous carDaewoo Cielo

Summary:

Nice little car at its price

Faults:

1.Something wrong with engine mount on drivers' side

2. too much engine noise during acceleration specially above 100 Km/hour. but if you go downhills, no sound at all !!!

3. noise coming from underneath rear right seat (perhaps noisy fuel pump?)

4. As recommended by dealer. I changed the 13" standard steel rimsto 14" aluminum with 185 tyres for better traction. Wonder this was a correct move and will not affect total performance of the car. Could some experts care to give me an advice?

General Comments:

At present, it's only the engine noise which bothers me too much

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th December, 2005

25th Dec 2005, 19:21

Check engine mounts, for tightness. Check rubbers- are they cracked? Engine noise above 100 km/h is probably normal- after all, the little engine is working hard at high R.P.M. Noise from under rear seat? Probably a suspension component- unlikely to be the fuel pump. Best not to alter factory specs. on tyre and rim size- does not make much difference to road holding and traction in a car like this. Insist your dealer investigate and rectify these items to your satisfaction and at no cost to you.

2005 Hyundai Accent GLS 1.5 12 V from Iran

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 12 V Manual
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance250 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Cielo

Summary:

Well, I will have to see when I gain more mileage

Faults:

Right from the beginning, there was a huge noise when accelerating the car. I immediately returned the car to the dealer and noted there was something wrong with the rubber gasket holding the engine. They did not have the part readily available, but placed a piece of rubber to temporary stop the vibration of the engine to the body.

General Comments:

I had a Daewoo Cielo just before I bought this brand new car. I feel the material used on cielo is far better than my Verna. I wonder how Hyundai omitted to install some basic items in the car such as glove box light, mirror on the sun shade, front fug lights, electric trunk and gas doors, seat belt warning light, etc.

In general I find the car suitable for the terrible traffic in the city where I live, but I am very disappointed on the cheap material used in manufacturing this car particularly, the interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2005

5th Apr 2006, 03:38

Go to an authorized Hyundai dealer/repair shop and ask them to check the engine mounts. As I experienced, there is something wrong with the left side engine mount (driver's side) They might put a rubber between the mount and car body and the metal contact vibration wuill be gone. This method worked for me and I hope it will solve yours too.

Apart from that, my complain basically pertains to overall noise of the engine. Seems like you need another gear (sixth gear) or shift to lighter gears sooner to get rid of the engine noise!

What to do - the cause seems to be a bad combination between engine and the car's aerodynamic design.

2005 Hyundai Accent CDX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles

Summary:

Well equipped car for the money, with a very spacious boot

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

High equipment levels for the price (CD, air conditioning, 4 electric windows, electric mirrors, central locking etc.)

Driving position is not that comfortable, as the drivers seat and steering wheel don't have a sufficiently wide range of adjustments.

The 1.6 litre engine is woefully underpowered when pulling away, not helped by the automatic gearbox.

Well built, but very cheap materials and bizarre styling.

Fantastic value for money, but I really can't decide whether I like it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th June, 2005

2005 Hyundai Accent GL 1.6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9 kilometres
Most recent distance794 kilometres
Previous carAudi 4000

Summary:

For what it is, excellent!

Faults:

Slightly loose belt which makes a small amount of noise at start-up and continues for 3 - 4 minutes.

General Comments:

This is a nice little car, considering it's price range (approx. $15,500 before taxes and all the other charges the dealerships like to add).

The throttle is a little sensitive, which makes starting from a stop a learning curve due to a lively, but small power plant, but other than that the car runs very well.

I have not gotten up to highway speeds as yet. Why? Well, the owners' manual suggests that exceeding 88kph (or around 55mph) for the first 2,000 km (or around 1,242 miles), is not a good idea and since I tend to drive my vehicles until they totally give up, keeping in mind the mandated regular service and a good deal of care, I thought it prudent to follow the suggestion, even though the dealership people poo pooed this saying that Hyundai is VERY conservative about such things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

29th Jun 2005, 22:06

Glad to hear you are happy with the newer 2005 Accent! I own a 2001 model and have had nothing major go bad with it. Maybe it's due to following the service manual you spoke of in your review!? I remember trying not to drive it too hard those first thousand miles. How hard it was, but everyone I see who buys new cars nowadays love to drive them too fast, and end up either braking it or in an car wreck! Either way, I think it's good to drive the Accent slow and off the freeways for a while, so you can save the car's engine life and your own life, as it takes time to get used to any new car! Glad to hear someone reads the manual for once! I've regularly done oil changes, spark plugs and another other easy tune ups as mentioned in the Hyundai service manual too!

So stick by that manual, don't listen too much to those guys at the dealer laughing it off as you should be able to get your car above 50,000 miles with no problem like mine!

Another minor thing is make sure the gas cap is on tight (6-7 clicks minimum). I left it loose and even off for a day, and it puts on the 'check engine' light that needs to be turn off at the Hyundai dealer. I found out it turns off after a few weeks, so you could do that if you know that's the problem for sure. Or just get used to making sure it's tight so you don't have to think about it ever :) Maybe they fixed that on the 2005's? Anyways. Got new tires so the gas mileage is rocking 300 miles per tank now! Enjoy your car! I hope to get another one to replace our faulty wired Pontiac car soon...

http://www.carsurvey.org/review_15735.html

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 13 reviews