2003 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 2 of 9

2003 Hyundai Elantra GT from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Faults:

I just had my clutch repaired, which cost about 1700.00, and a week later, it has gone out, again. The car only has 51,000 miles on it. I purchased it used and am wondering if previous owner had the same issue and traded it in, since I purchased it with 21,000 miles on it.

I think there is a serious issue with these cars, even though Consumer Reports states that they were very reliable that year. I don't ever plan on owning another manual car by Hyundai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2009

2003 Hyundai Elantra LS 2.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carPassport Optima

Summary:

Good value except for the clutch!

Faults:

Odds and ends didn't work, but were fixed at the dealership. But an initial big defect was unbalanced wheels. It took a few trips to the dealership to get them to recognize this: one of the wheels was defective. The good news is that they changed all four wheels voluntarily.

The most important defect is the clutch. After about 48,000 km (30,000 mi) of running, the clutch began to slip. At first, it appeared to be just poor transmission performance, and was checked twice by service stations without their recognizing the problem. Then, just after the 5-year guarantee had run out, the clutch failed altogether. This happened with barely 50,000 km logged, so it is a major concern. Bill for repair: $1,500 CDN.

General Comments:

Not a bad sedan, with modest-to-better peformance qualities.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th November, 2008

2003 Hyundai Elantra 4 Door Coupe 1.8L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Solid car for what your paying for it

Faults:

Power steering pump broke at 55,000 miles, replaced, broke again after only 3 weeks.

General Comments:

A solid car for the small amount of money your spending. Have had regular maintenance, tires, brakes, etc...

The power steering pump going twice is making me somewhat nervous of how the car is going to be from miles 50,000 - 100,000, however, the first 50,000 miles I have few complaints.

Not a good car for sport fans as AM radio reception for some reason is non existant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2008

2003 Hyundai Elantra from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance33800 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Total Disappointment

Faults:

My car is totalled at less than 34,000 miles because a thrust bearing went bad which was caught with a massive oil leak... I officially need a new engine and Hyundai will not do anything about it because I am the second owner. No car at this low of mileage should ever need a new engine!! I will NEVER buy Hyundai again or let anyone else I know purchase one.

General Comments:

The worst vehicle and purchase I have made so far in my life. It was loud and obviously unreliable if I needed a new engine at 34,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st April, 2008

2003 Hyundai Elantra from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

The car is totalled at 79K miles. The engine block and the transmission are cracked. Forget about the 100k powertrain warranty. I bought the car used from a Hyundai dealership with 30k miles. It's an obvious lemon that Hyundai is fortunate I can't sue them for, being the 2nd owner.

In 25 years of driving the absolute worst car I've ever owned. I've never had a car totalled with less 100k miles, its unheard of in this day and age. They are the worst car I could have ever imagined. It overheated 4 times in the previous 2 years. The radiator was replaced twice, the thermostat twice. They are junk. Never will I even consider buying a Hyundai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2008

2003 Hyundai Elantra GT 2.0L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance48234 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

If you buy one, you will regret it..

Faults:

Black paint coming off in spots. This started with-in the first 6 months.

Door seals replaced, tires yearly, brakes (front) twice a year with rotors.

Rear wheel hubs, clutch going bad at 40,000 miles (I normally get 100,000 plus on a clutch...)

Lower control arm snapped a week ago (rusted through; thank God no one was hurt).

Rear emergency brake cables, both sides, twice.

Motor is tapping now.

O2 sensors.

All this on a car I really take care of.. I maintain it by the book. Never missed an oil change by more than 100 miles. The front end gets aligned every time I get tires.

General Comments:

Do not buy this car. It is cheaply built. I've tried to talk to the Hyundai rep, but he/she never calls me back.

Customer service is that bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th April, 2008

29th Aug 2008, 11:27

I have also had a control arm rust through on a 2003 Elantra Gt with low mileage. The repair shop was amazed, they have never seen this happen on any car before.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 34 reviews