2003 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 5 of 9

2003 Hyundai Elantra GT 2.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired73 kilometres
Most recent distance12084 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Great car... but a few issues

Faults:

Heated seat were both not working when I got the car.

Sunroof liner squeaks off and on constantly.

Brakes squeak after a washing or heavy rain until the liners dry during next drive.

Paint chips very easily it seems.

Rubber seal around drivers door cracking.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable and has plenty of room for me (6'3") and my volleyball buddies (i.e. 6 footers +) and gets great gas mileage (30mpg city).

Lots of great creature comforts and extras for the price and a great engine that's smooth as silk, but just a bit too little torque in the low rpm range.

I understand the newer versions are better quality and I wish that my car had the quality that my Honda had, but in this great package that I have now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th March, 2006

1st Jun 2006, 19:09

Do you have a Honda or a Hyundai?

6th Jun 2006, 13:25

I have the Hyundai Elantra GT right now... had a 1991 Honda Accord EX-R previously.

2003 Hyundai Elantra GT 2.4 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles

Summary:

Great and comfortable commuter car

Faults:

Actually, nothing. The tires were showing wear and need replacing within 7500. The numerous speed bumps I go over at work have taken a toll on the ball joints, but not to the fact they yet need to be replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

A great solid commuter cat. I broke in the engine correctly and I get 36.5 to 37.5 miles to the gallon averaged out between city and highway driving. I don't baby this car at all. They did a splendid job of mating the engine to the transmission and the drive train. Handling is not there, but the other items are. The interior is much better than I would have thought. Gold stars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2006

23rd Jan 2007, 10:14

You can increase your handling characteristics (and the smile on your face) if you change the rear sway bar. I did - wow - what a difference! It is what you would expect from a car that has a 'GT' badge on it.

2003 Hyundai Elantra GT from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Nice car for the price, some things I would change

Faults:

Paint chips and get eroded by bird droppings easily. Paint already dulling.

Door dings very easily. Many marks on all sides of car.

The tape that holds the wing keeps exposing. The tape around the door pillars kept coming up when the windows rolled up and down. The latter was removed by Hyundai and painted black, covered.

The engine stalled for a brief period of time when the air was on and I came to a stop at stop signs, that was about 10k miles ago, since then it has behaved normally.

General Comments:

Lots of storage.

Cheap.

Lots of extras.

Fast and fuel efficient.

Sporty looking, like a Saab.

Sure it may look like a girl car, but I still like it.

Too dark in the trunk and back seat when lights are needed.

The light scheme is strange, different in the dash then down the center column, red and blue, then green for the latter. Why can't it be consistent???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2005

2003 Hyundai Elantra GT 2.0-liter from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0-liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

The car is OK, the corporation is trying to cheat me

Faults:

At 26,000 miles, my clutch failed. The clutch didn't slip or show any signs that it was about to break. I do not abuse the clutch in any way. I've had several manual cars and had no problems with them. The dealer is making me pay over $900 for the repair.

General Comments:

I use to be a pretty big Hyundai supporter, but I've quickly changed my tune. After I bought my Elantra, I was able to talk my dad, brother, and wife into buying one. 26,000 miles is way to low to have a clutch break on you. I have contacted the corporation and the dealer and no one wants to concede that my car had a faulty clutch in it. I can't even talk to anyone above the first line of customer support because they don't allow it. This is my only way to fight and I'm going to hope it might save a few people from buying this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2004

12th May 2005, 13:40

May 10, 2005.

I just paid nearly $1000 to a Hyundai dealer to replace the clutch assembly in my 2003 Hyundai Elantra, which I bought in Aug,2003. Mileage at the time of the clutch failure: 26,255.

I've been driving a manual transmission since the 1st day I sat behind the wheel. I don't ride the clutch; I live in an area where there are no hills and 70% of my driving is done on the highway. I know this has to be a defect of some sort... but how can I prove it?

I asked the mechanic to do what he can to establish maufacturing flaws in the clutch. He said it was just worn down. I Just don't believe that my driving habits could wear down a clutch in 26k miles.

Now having driven the car after the repair, I'm convinced there was something wrong from day 1. It feels like an entirely different vehicle.

I plan to battle with Hyundai to get this repair qualified as a warranty service. I was searching the internet for information about the manufacture specs of the Hyundai Elantra clutch when I found this posting.

2 clutches of the same year model fail at the same mileage? That's not A COINCIDENCE. Where there's one there's another and another. We need to find the others and follow this through. I'll bet if we trace the production of our cars, we'd find they were built in the same plant and/or the clutch parts were taken from the same lot.

Thank you.

Doc Paul.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 34 reviews