2003 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 6 of 9

2003 Hyundai Elantra GT Sedan 2.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

A great deal for the money

Faults:

Trunk spring bars went bad at 5,000 miles, dealer replaced.

Front rotors and pads had to be replaced at 25,000 miles. The brake shop had enormous trouble getting the rotors off, resulting in damaging the bearings, which they replaced.

General Comments:

Overall a very good car with excellent standard features. The only option I have is the power sunroof.

The 135hp motor is very underpowered, especially with the automatic transmission. Plus, the engine has a very slight hesitation when accelerating, usually around 3,000 rpm.

The suspension is adequate and handles nicely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2004

2003 Hyundai Elantra GT 1.8L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Metro

Summary:

Over all not a bad car for the price

Faults:

The main bearing let loose at 15000 miles resulting in a blown motor. Dealer blamed me for not having a Hyundai oil filter. The dealer then took 8 days 2 personal visits 7 phone calls and a staff meeting to decide on honoring the warranty. New motor seems to be running OK. Fog light keeps going out. Replace and gos out. Repeat. Bad wipers no big deal. Replaced.

General Comments:

My wife loves it. As for me I'll take my 2001 S-10 over it any day. Although the sun roof and leather are nice in a car that's Well priced. 16200 is not bad deal. Good on gas avg. 24 mpg. with the new motor. Handling is better then I expected, but it could use some more hp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th September, 2004

5th Dec 2004, 17:57

Geez, you only get an average 24mpg. I can get about 32 with my 5 speed and If its all highway, I'm pushing 40!

13th Oct 2005, 10:05

Yeah, same here, I get spectacular gas mileage. I sympathize with the warranty issue. The car isn't bad, but the people running the dealers and the corporation are BEYOND questionable.

24th May 2007, 12:06

Got the car used and even under warranty... I wouldn't give it to hyundai...

Never got a problem with my 2002GT

Still running as if I just bought it...

Replacing the wear and tear parts with aftermarket.

I ride it harder then average drivers, put in one of them Cone air filters (I like to hear my engin purr)

Fantastic car.

2003 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Intrigue

Summary:

Great car at a great price

Faults:

The only reason we've had to take it in is because of a voluntary recall. Nothing was wrong with it.

General Comments:

This car is great, it's very comfortable, even for me and I'm over 6 feet tall.

It looks really nice and the CD player and sunroof only make it better.

It has really good mileage 32/28 but the only thing that could be better is the power, it has around 140 horsepower which is acceptable, but I like power to spare.

We like this car so much we're going to add another one to the "collection"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2004

2003 Hyundai Elantra 1.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance18600 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

I think this car has been a great bargain

Faults:

Both headlights went out within two weeks of one another, but covered by warranty and taken care of quickly and without problem.

General Comments:

I love my Elantra. It has been excellent after one year and 18,000 miles. The dealer has been good to us on warranty issues, etc. My sister just locked my keys in the car today and Hyundai Roadside Assistance had someone there within 15 minutes and the cost was covered by Hyundai. This car if very comfortable and easy to handle. My husband and son, both who likes a car with power, is impressed with the power of this little "four banger" as they call it. Easy passing and I have complete trust in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2004

2003 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 DOHC 16v 135hp from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC 16v 135hp Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired224 miles
Most recent distance8731 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

Great car for the money

Faults:

So far, only the radio. It went out about 2 months after I bought it (1/04). The dealer replaced it under warranty (it's a pretty cheap one anyway). No other problems so far.

Minor issues with design: the steering wheel could come back just a bit for drivers of average height (I'm 5 ft. 9 in. tall). Its kind of a stretch on a trip with my hands on top of the steering wheel or at 10 and 2. Moving the seat far enough forward to accommodate my arms bunches up my feet at the pedals. It was designed for taller people.

The button for the air conditioning is too close to the blower motor. I constantly turn on the a/c by mistake.

The headrests on the back seat are annoying (and dangerous) blind spots for backing up and viewing traffic to the rear. I took them out (I rarely ever have passengers in the back seat. They're easy to put back in if I do).

General Comments:

So far, I'm very happy with it. Acceleration and power are awesome for 4 cylinder with an automatic. I take trips to Northwestern PA, and it handles the mountain climbing flawlessly with no strain (I don't have to downshift) It handles well and rides like a larger luxury car.

It has wide, comfortable seats which are great for trips. I'll take it over Honda Civic or Toyota Corolla any day!

I love it, but can't say for sure whether I would buy another. We'll see how it does a few years down the road when it has 80K miles plus on it before I make that decision.

The paint seems to be OK so far. No defects that I can see (the color is teal blue). It has a few minor scratches under the doors, but I would expect that with the harsh winters we have in the DC area. I keep it waxed and pray a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 34 reviews