2005 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2005 Hyundai Elantra VE 2.0 16v DOHC from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance1755 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Very good fuel efficient fast little car

Faults:

Nothing major so far...

Left front signal bulb fell out when dealer installed fog lamps.

Could not unlatch hood.

General Comments:

The car is awesome, love it, nothing major has happened yet... very comfortable, stereo is awesome for stock, and it's surprisingly quick... a lot of my friends own Elantras and to what I hear from them (my brother included) I couldn't go wrong with this purchase...It's one heck of an upgrade from my old 1994 Sentra (mind you had it until 300,000kms) Just enjoy it a lot...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd March, 2005

2005 Hyundai Elantra from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35 kilometres
Most recent distance1000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Getting to love it

Faults:

So far I have not had any problems with my new Elantra, but it does have big shoes to fill. By replacing the Mercury Sable wagon which had more toys, more room, more power and a few odds and ends which I miss.

General Comments:

My Elantra VE has surprised me with its handling on icy roads and even to overtake another vehicle, the power is there. For a small car it's very comfortable. The radio and cd player has a great sound. Items such as windshield wipers, lights, cruise control and especially the ignition are very well situated. Fortunately it does not have ABS brakes, but it does have the donut tire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

21st Mar 2005, 15:36

Why don't you like ABS? It could save your life.

2005 Hyundai Elantra GT 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

This car is stylish, head turning, well built

Faults:

Car has 1200 miles, just begun break-in,

General Comments:

I have a 05 Elantra GT, package 8

Friends have made comments about looking like a SAAB at 20 feet, 20 mph.

I use mine for my outside sales job, and I put 100-150 miles per day on the car. Very comfortable- good supportive seats, very user friendly controls.

It needs a power plug with constant power, so I can run a laptop or cell phone charger with the key in the OFF position.

Addition of a power plug in the center console storage (like the Corolla) would be nice.

No daytime running lights: only feature I would absolutely add to car.

It rides well, easy to get on highway, incredible on gas: 37 hwy with stick shift. Gets @ 27 in city traffic. (Info from trip computer)

I think this is a very well built car with a reasonable price.

Customers who I take to lunch will note it is a "classy looking" car.

It is a lot bigger on the inside than it looks:

Trunk is huge for the car: with seats up:

Large carryon luggage for 2 people, sales material: 2 small suitcases, catalogs, marketing material. It all fit with room to spare.

The rear is roomy: I put a 6'1" man in the back for a 1 hour trip, and he had plenty of leg room- the front seats were not all the way forward.

Go for moon roof with ABS and traction control: it's not that much more expensive, and there is an insurance break for the ABS.

Moon roof is quiet on highway: at 70 mph a conversation is still possible with passengers without raising your voice.

In Baltimore: insurance is $1600 year, business use class, driver age over 25.

You can't get near a Honda or Toyota for this price: 14,975 on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2005

2005 Hyundai Elantra GLS 5 speed from North America

Year of manufacture2005
Engine and transmission 5 speed Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Faults:

I had a issue with a sensor that needed to be replaced. It was causing the RPM's to rise between shifts. I'm not sure that the improvement in performance after replacement was significant enough to warrant my time, or the cost of the rental car while my Elantra was in the shop.

General Comments:

This car is peppy, fairly fuel efficient (about 28 MPG with 5-speed in mostly suburban conditions). I like the ergonomics. The quality of materials in the interior and the body build quality are a little low end, but decent; especially factoring in price/warranty. No ABS a major minus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2005

13th Oct 2005, 11:42

I recently purchased a 2005 Elantra VE 5-speed manual, and I'm experiencing the same problem with RPMs rising slightly for about a second when shifting. I noticed that this doesn't occur when the motor is cold, or when down-shifting.

My Hyundai dealer tells me that this is normal, which I find hard to believe. I've driven manual transmissions for years and never experienced this problem.

What was the sensor that your dealer replaced?

What were the results? Did it help?

Thanks.

16th Nov 2005, 03:11

I also recently purchased a 2006 Elantra 1.6 - 5-speed manual, and I'm experiencing the same problem with RPMs rising slightly for about a second when shifting. The Dealer in Jordan said it is with all 2005 and 2006 Elantra's manual models and can do nothing about it. I really find it very disappointing and upsetting. : (

7th Dec 2005, 03:24

I'm from Cape Town, South Africa, I purchased an Elantra 2005 2.0 CRDi, I'm impressed with the car, taking into consideration its price. I only owned Toyota's (still own one), and comparing prices, this 2.0 litre diesel engine was nearly a third cheaper than its cheapest rival in its class. The front does not look as good as the Toyota Corolla, but its air-conditioning does outclass the Corolla. The maintenance plan 3 year 60000km and 5 year 100000km warranty standard when purchasing new, (you could purchase an addition to the standard maintenace plan and warranty), was just as attractive.

7th Jan 2006, 18:01

My new Elantra does this as well.

So did my aging and dieing Honda Civic that I replaced. Its no biggie and its normal for the kind of transmission used. So this transmission needs a second before the fluid is pumped for the gears to change. Its really not that noticeable or bad and its quick.

I do not notice a difference when the engine is hot or cold and my Honda had trouble when it was cold specifically. Of course the engine only has 320 miles on it since its new.

Just ease tapping the accelerator. Overall I love this car and don't think its that much of an issue.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 24 reviews