2006 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 4 of 8

2006 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46 miles
Most recent distance2200 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Can't go wrong with this car!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing!

General Comments:

I love everything about it!

Can't beat the warranty!

For an economy car, it does not feel or drive like one.

The engine is zippy and I still get great gas mileage!

Looking to buy a 2002-2004 Hyundai Elantra for the winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2008

2006 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance22555 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Dependable transportation without emptying your wallet

Faults:

Nothing so far. These cars have come a long way since the 80's.

General Comments:

Pros:

Comfortable ride, decent fuel economy, lots of features for the money, reliable.

Cons: Handling a bit sloppy on the curves, transmission is old design from the early 90's, and does not utilize the engine's power as efficiently as it should.

I still have my Audi, but use this car for business. I am happy with my decision to buy this car due to the price ($14,400 with sunroof, traction control, and anti lock brakes when the 07's were available) and its reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2008

21st Jun 2008, 16:29

This is an update from the original poster. 28,200 miles with no issues other than a blown fuse (covered under warranty).

16th Oct 2009, 15:16

Now at 54,000 miles. No rattles or any body pieces falling off inside or outside.

Only mechanical issue was water collected in the A/C condenser, causing it to drip on the carpet on the passenger side.

Rear brakes wore out at 35k, which was disappointing as I usually get double the mileage out of brakes.

Overall this is a good car for the money.

2006 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Best decision I ever made

Faults:

My cd player would not eject at 21000 miles.

General Comments:

I was scared when I bought this car. Hyundai did not have a good rep in the past. I comute about 100 miles round trip every day. I have only had this car for a year and a half and already have 53000 miles on it. She has been a good car and the dealers have been great. When I bought this car I wanted something cheap because I know how much I drive and did not want an expensive car to tear up. No other car had all of the options for the money. Show me another car that even has heated mirror's for only $16,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2007

9th Jul 2008, 09:32

Update: I now have 72,000 miles on this car. I am amazed on how well this car is holding up. When I bought it I went cheap because I drive a lot. I am now thinking about buying a sonata. I will never buy another Chevy again this little go go gadget car rocks.

28th Sep 2009, 17:55

So another update. I lost my job and could not get a new car. I still have the Elantra it now has 105,000 miles on her. I will say she still drives like the day I bought it. I think I will keep this car until the wheels fall off. It will be cool to see how long this thing can run. Also I have had another problem with the car. My belt for the alternator broke. $55.00 shop repair bill. I could have never have said that about my Malibu.

4th Apr 2010, 21:58

I want to say that I just got rid of the 2006 Elantra. It had 132,000 on it. I wound up giving it to my mother who needed a new car and bought the Sonata. The strut bearing is being replace next week. In 132,000 miles; a strut bearing $120.00, battery $90.00, and the CD player. GO HYUNDAI!!!

2006 Hyundai Elantra LX from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired963 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

Clutch replaced at 28000 miles.

Clutch out again at 32000 miles, now saying master slave.

They charged us $914 saying it was my driving, this is my 5th stick and I've NEVER burnt through a clutch, even on the vehicles I kept for 100,000 miles.

Looking into getting a lawyer for Florida Lemon Law. They've had vehicle for 2 weeks now and haven't heard a word from them.

General Comments:

Love my car, sucks it broke and from dealing with the service will NEVER buy Hyundai again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st August, 2007

8th Feb 2008, 11:29

To be fair, you are not the first to comment on the clutch. My neighbor just bought a manual '08 Elantra. I have an '05 with an automatic. With 53,000 on my automatic, I have had no issues whatsoever. It will be interesting to see his experience with his manaul. It is unfortunate you have had those problems, I can understand your frustration!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews