2006 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2006 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 petrol from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47 miles
Most recent distance120 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz '82 Mercedes 240D

Summary:

Where am I going to park my other new Elantra when I get it?

Faults:

Poor reception over the AM/FM CD system. Haven't yet made it back to the dealer to have it looked at. It seems like someone forgot to plug in the antenna lead.

General Comments:

After reading several reviews on the Elantra I was afraid the automatic transmission would affect performance in a very negative manner. The "off-the line" performance is there in an instant. I chose the automatic over the manual for convenience for my job and I am not disapointed at all. It is much more lively with the automatic than the reviews will lead you to believe. Don't be afraid of it at all.

It seems the "delayed down-shift when passing" problem has been cured with the 2006 model year. Shifts were smooth and quick when I simulated passing maneuvers on country roads. 50-70 passing times were shocking. You can really feel yourself being pressed back into the drivers seat when you step into the accelerator pedal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2006

16th Apr 2006, 01:23

Follow up to above.

I purchased the mentioned Elantra with hail damage. In repairing the hail damage the dealer disconnected the antenna cable at the mast and forgot to re-attach it. The dealer repaired this within minutes of my return to have them look at the radio problem. Since then no problems.

16th May 2006, 11:05

Enjoy your Elantra. I have a 2005 GLS Hatchback and while I was somewhat skeptical upon first considering Hyundai, I have been extremely pleased so far and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

11th Sep 2006, 11:59

I am pleased with my 2005 Elantra GL hatchback. The only criticisms I have are that it is very difficult to exit from the passenger front seat, and I find it hard to read the odometer.

23rd Sep 2006, 10:01

I too have poor reception problems with the radio in that the radio often locks on to weak stations in seek mode when it should by-pass them. Perhaps I'll have the dealership take a look. Other than that, I'm pleasantly surprised with my '06 Elantra - well screwed together and fun to drive. Also, I've read that automatic version may be slow to down shift. Not so with mine. Engine and transmission seem well matched.

18th Jun 2007, 13:44

Locking onto weak radio signals is a GOOD thing. It is a sign of a quality (sensitive) tuner.

2006 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance200 miles

Summary:

Great value

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

I just got this car and have been tooling around with it. I got the car for $13,400 out the door including tax tags and dealer prep charges. The car impressed me with it's standard features and surprised me with the smoothness of the ride. I came from a Lincoln Mark VIII to this and I like the Hyundai's ride almost as much as the Lincoln believe it or not.

Having power windows, PL, heated PM, Alarm, keyless entry standard helps. The only option my car had was floor mats, but with the standard list so long who needs anything else? The car has turned a few heads and got impressive remarks from co workers who saw it today. I would recommend this car for anyone looking for a great car on a budget.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2006

25th May 2006, 11:02

Yes, the ride quality of the Elantra is excellent, but that's my one issue with the car-- I could've sacrificed some ride quality for better handling.

27th May 2006, 11:57

Hi. I used to own 2 Elantras. My first was a 99. So Reliable. Then I bought a 2004. Much better than my 99.

I currently now have an 06 Sonata. What a move up from an Elantra. I loved both my Elantras. They were great little cars and Hyundai is the best. I will only buy Hyundais.

The 99 Elantra was my first car ever. Used it to go to school. Traveled about 400 miles a week for a year. NO PROBLEMS AT ALL. I have had no problems with my 04 either.

Hope this helps if anybody is interested in an Elantra.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews