2008 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2008 Hyundai Elantra 2.0 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10

Faults:

No idea. Had it for 20 minutes test drive!

General Comments:

Car seems slow when accelerate, even thought it's a 2L variant.

Eventually if tried hard acceleration, the car body tend not to be in straight line (feel the rear and to be out of way).

During uneven surface, the car seems to bounce here and there.

Funny, this is not a sports tuned car.

Brakes is only OK, not so assuring.

Overall, don't feel safe to drive the car around (especially on rain/wet conditions).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th October, 2008

2008 Hyundai Elantra GL 2.0 gas from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 gas Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance300 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

The times they are a changing!

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

I never thought I would be driving a Hyundai, but here I am with my new Elantra!

Very impressed with the quality.

Engine is especially quiet.

Seats are firm, and a little on the hard side.

Parking is tricky with the tapered rear passenger windows.

Radio is outstanding.

After driving a Merc, the Elantra took a little getting used to. I am growing to love it the more I drive it though. It's peppy and fun to drive. The Premium gas was killing me on the Merc, so I was happy trading it in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2008

22nd Jul 2008, 15:39

Owned it a month now and am still completely pleased with it. Gas mileage is very impressive. I'm getting over 600km on 47 litres of gas. It's very easy to drive, and I would recommend it to anyone.

16th Nov 2008, 21:08

5 months 10kms now and I'm still impressed with the Elantra. However... There are a few things I don't like. Parallel parking is tricky! No matter how hard I try I always seem to hit the curb when reversing. I think the wheels stick out too far. (OK blame me then!) The car is very jerky when cold. The fuel pump was recently replaced because of the recall but it didn't help at all. When it warms up it's fine though and a real pleasure to drive.

2008 Hyundai Elantra X20 2.0L from Malaysia

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Average

Faults:

Fuel consumption is bad. Not what the dealer claimed. Averaging 8KM per liter. Dealer claimed 11KM per liter. Driving less than 3000RPM and less than 100KM/Hr on normal city driving. After performed 1st 1000KM service, they checked the timing for fuel consumption, but still the same.

General Comments:

For the price of less than MYR94,000, and within this class, it's a good buy.

This car has good handling, is very comfortable. Comes with leather seats.

However, during morning start-up, the engine is very noisy. After awhile, it quiets down. Very quiet inside the cabin. Response is not that good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2008

5th Oct 2008, 07:04

Hey man.. bring your car to KahBintang PJ (opp 222) or HQ (Jalan Ipoh).

They should able to troubleshoot your problem, as they have all the so-called experts over there!.

By the way, most cars >2L onwards will have marginal fuel/km.

I eventually get around 8-12Km mostly on most brands when driving inside the city (plus all the congestions in Klang Valley).

However, is when taking the car on highway and maintaining speed, you get a good reading.

I managed to get my 2008 Hyundai coupe from full to half tank for a distance of 290km while driving constant 140km for the whole journey (290km stretch).

Best of luck..

2008 Hyundai Elantra Limited 2.0 Gas from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Gas Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26 kilometres
Most recent distance32000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

The most trouble free cheap car I have ever owned

Faults:

Absolutely nothing! :)

General Comments:

This car has far exceeded my expectations. I bought it because of the low price and long warranty. But I have been continuously impressed with its economy, performance, comfort and reliability. I drive the crap out of this thing as I travel a lot for my work, sometimes on very poor roads I should note. This car is great and should be seriously considered by anyone looking for a vehicle of this size. The shifter and clutch are great and are still going strong as is the engine and the rest of the car! :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2008

8th Jun 2008, 05:07

I purchased Elantra X20 May 16, and I found this is a very good car. Quiet and with good handling. However, fuel consumption is average, I'm getting around 8.5 liters per KM. This Elantra comes with ABS, EDB, two airbags (front), MP3 player, leather seats.

22nd Jul 2008, 06:25

Elantra Limited 2008.

Bought my new Elantra 2008 Limited in April 08 and have approximately 3600 Km on it. So far so good, no fuels pump issue. My mileage is still a bit high since I’m averaging 9.0 city but very good on the highway 5.8 and better.

Going from a Honda Accord, I was a bit concern but after testing several cars and reading tons of articles, I reduced my choices to the following 3 cars because of the fuel increase and such:

1. Elantra

2. Corolla

3. Matrix

4. Civic.

Although the Civic and Toyota were a little bit better on gas, they were smaller and not as comfortable. I also got a much better deal on my old car so the saving was substantial with Hyundai. The Elantra I picked came fully loaded including perforated leather seats and climate control, telescopic steering wheel and more.

The ride is amazing for a small car and I particularly like the firm seats. The longer warranty was the deal breaker.

A very happy customer.

Reg.

2008 Hyundai Elantra SE 2.0L I4 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L I4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles

Summary:

Fast, and fun to drive

Faults:

The major problem was that the heating didn't work until at least ten minutes of driving had passed, a major inconvenience in Pennsylvania winters.

The gas mileage is definitely not 27/33; it is closer to 20/28.

Besides that, everything is going well.

General Comments:

This car has worked well for me. I got it new when my 2002 Honda Accord's transmission went at 80,000 miles. This car has surprisingly good acceleration; I've clocked the 0-60 time at under 8 seconds, and the car can easily break 115MPH. The handling is very good, and visibility is adequate. The dash looks nice, and the CD player is very good; however the cloth seats are not the most comfortable and the back seat won't fit adults adequately.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2008

13th Jun 2008, 12:49

Sorry to hear your Accord transmission went out. Can't say I'm surprised though. It's quite common and people don't realize or expect it because well, it's a Honda. I hope you are not only very satisfied with your Elantra, but that it leaves you with a better impression than your previous Accord. Hyundais aren't the most dependable cars out there typically, but I think they are a much better value new or used.

12th Apr 2010, 16:26

I recently purchased a 2008 Elantra SE and I am averaging between 28-31 mpg during the end of our winter. I always warm up the car 10 minutes or more before driving anywhere.

9th Jul 2012, 13:33

You don't need to warm your car 10 minutes; 30 seconds to 1 minutes is enough.

10th Jul 2012, 14:32

Maybe a minute - but 30 seconds? Oil won't have time to be pumped through all the journals.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews