2010 Hyundai i10 1.1 petrol from Malaysia

Summary:

Best in its class

Faults:

The engine noise level is high when the engine rpm is over 4000 RPM.

This car cannot go at fast speeds, even though it's more stable than the same category VIVA. I tried the max of this car; it's only 170km/h.

No fog light in the standard specification model.

No timing chain...

General Comments:

The most comfortable in this class of vehicle.

Petrol consumption very good, less than RM0.10 per km.

Stylish design for the exterior and interior.

The quality of the door panels is not bad as compared to Perodua.

The handling was over expected, especially on cornering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th March, 2011

2010 Hyundai i10 Standard 1.25 from Malaysia

Summary:

Don't buy and don't buy

Faults:

After 1000 km first service, A/C compressor broke down, engine overheated and stopped in the middle of the road. Sent for repair and had the A/C compressor changed under warranty. Waited 4 days for replacement, and after being repaired, the A/C was not working; was not cold at all.

A lot of headaches for this little car. Regret buying it.

General Comments:

Steering and handling are very loose; have to really concentrate all the time. Will steer to right or left with a tiny movement of my hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th August, 2010

11th Aug 2010, 22:01

Problems with i10:

1) Aircon compressor make screeching noise every now and then.

2) Battery failed within first year.

3) Auto lock door when pressed the brake pedal failed.

4) Side window broken by thief.

However:

Problem 1, 2 and 3 resolved under warranty. Problem 4 resolved under insurance. By the way, the manufacturer of the glass of i10 is the same as Mercedes E Class.

Problems with Waja 1.6X:

1) Rattling noise from interior. Never resolved.

2) Power window failed, after warranty period.

3) ABS system failed, after warranty period.

4) Airbag system failed, after warranty period.

All types of cars will have problems. With the i10, at least can be resolved for free.

On the steering "loose", same here, because of the tyres not fully run in yet. This will improve with more mileage.

2008 Hyundai i10 1.1 from Malaysia

Summary:

Nightmare

Faults:

Purchased brand new car.

Alignment and steering pooling was noticed after taking the car home.

Send for checkup/repair.

Funny thing I was issued a bill.

Shouldn't they provide free service due to their negligence (during colllection and car inspection)

Currently having other major issue.

Car won't start.

Ignition problem and create funny irritating noise.

General Comments:

What a joke

Car was reviewed OK or good by world wide automotive review.

Yet many funny and irritating issue was found after purchased this little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2008

6th Sep 2008, 11:36

I also bought one for my wife. No problems but the f/c seems high. How far can you go on a full tank of 30 liter?

23rd Sep 2008, 02:11

The fuel consumption is HIGH. And I certainly AGREE!!

I believed all of us have been deceived & cheated by their ad campaign, which highlighted for 1.1L manual at 20KM/l or auto at 17KM/l.

The car get me around 10-12KM/l.

Plus I've send the car for checked as it creates cranking sound and cannot start.

Apparently Hyundai Malaysia noted the flywheel was defective.

Again, very funny as this was the first i10 registered for consumer in MALAYSIA and only done first 1000km service.

We are sure been fooled by them.

2007 Hyundai i10 Magna 1.1 from India

Summary:

Unsafe car

Faults:

I agree with whatever Hyundai say; nice interiors, good design, everything.

I would like to draw attention to the biggest and most dangerous flaw in the car. Surprised... imagine a car without an impact beam at front. What safety features is the Hyundai is bragging about?

My i10 met with an accident at speed of about not more than 25km/h, hit a tree. Imagine... the engine block is broken. Reason; a basic manufacturing defect.

Now next time you see an i10, open the bonnet and you will be surprised to note that there is not even a single piece of metal till engine the block, it's all fibre and plastic. So if it meets with an accident, the first thing which is going to face the impact is the engine, which is barely few inches ahead of dashboard. How are seat belts and air bags going to protect at such close hit?

I am looking for a genuine buyer once the car comes out of workshop, barely within a month of buying it. Next time if someone suggest you to buy one, imagine the consequence of hitting at 50km/hr, and accidents do happen.

General Comments:

Stylish, good comfort, but unsafe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2008

30th Apr 2008, 14:15

I was glad to see a review by a real driver of this car. I live in England and they have just brought out the I10 -- I will inquire at the dealership about the front engine and if there is a bar in place. Thanks for the review.

29th Jun 2008, 10:05

I am looking at the I10 and similar cars. This review is very helpful in highlighting what could be a significant risk.