2004 Hyundai Santa Fe 3.7 from North America


Hyundai Nightmare


I've owned 2 Santa Fe's (2001 & 2004). Both had engine failures and had to have their small blocks replaced at around 60,000 miles. Both failed on the freeway. Both had all their regularly scheduled maintenance performed by the book. These 2 freeway failures placed me in very serious safety conditions.

The 2004 failed at night in the middle of the Arizona Desert - I was driving at 70 mph when the engine lost power and made a terrible noise. I end up getting towed over 150 miles to a Hyundai dealer. Small block failed (60,068 miles – 68 miles past the warranty). Hyundai initially refused to pay for any of the repair work; but, after a tremendous amount of effort on my part; they finally agreed to covered (only) 35% of the repair. My advise to consumers: Never buy Hyundai's again!!!

General Comments:

Hyundai did not stand behind their cars.

There seems to be a serious problem with Hyundai engines - possible oil circulation as reported by the Orange County Register.

These failures placed me and my family in very serious safety positions.

I spent nearly 100 hours trying to get Hyundai to help cover the cost of repair and after all this they (only) covered 30%

Never buy Hyundai products!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th October, 2009

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS AWD 2.7 V6 Gas from North America


The problem that I am having with the Hyundai Santa Fe is that the rims are damaged. I took it to the dealer and they told me that it's the factories fault when they made them, so they can't do anything about it, only sell me new rims!

Besides that, the car is in perfect condition, runs amazing, and yes I would buy a new Santa Fe, great car for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2009

28th Jul 2009, 15:37

What do you mean by "Damaged"?

Is the finish flaking off, or are they bent or something?

If it is a finish problem, then yeah, there is nothing the dealer can do, and if they are bent due to driver error or pot holes then there is still nothing the dealer can do. Warranty doesn't cover bad driving or bad road conditions, sorry.

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe GLX 2.7 V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Highly recommended


Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This is the second V6 2.7L Hyundai Santa Fe I have owned, and I have had zero problems with either. I took my first one off road and traveled around Australia (sand and minor off road tracks); never missed a beat.

Fuel economy was slightly higher than expected, but nothing too bad.

The Hyundai dealership has been fantastic, and service costs are reasonable, not like the Ford Explorer I used to own, which was a disaster from new, but that's another story..

Price is good, and it's built tough for general day to day use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2009

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe Base 2.4L from North America


I wouldn't buy another vehicle like this one


My Crankshaft position sensor went out in December 2007.

My Fuel Temperature sensor went out in June 2008.

General Comments:

The vehicle is very comfortable and good on gas but it breaks down too much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2008

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe 1.7 turbo diesel from Dominican Republic


Nice.. but would not buy another Hyundai ever.. too much money.. on something you can't rely


Where to begin?

The car has won so many prizes, that is hard to believe that my car is a total piece of metal. They say it was just something that was going to happen, but it makes no sense.

I am very strict when it comes to maintenance, I took my car to have it tuned up; oil change, filters, that kind of stuff, and then, they call me and tell me my motor is dead. I just took it in for maintenance and for no reason it just got damaged.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable, but even though it is a diesel, it still is high maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2008

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe from North America


If the clutch goes again, I'd have to say it's a piece of crap


I was recently awarded the cost of clutch repairs for my Hyundai Santa Fe by the Better Business Bureau to the tune of $930.00 and change. That was the amount I paid a non-Hyundai repair shop when Hyundai wanted to charge me $1,900 for a new clutch after 33,700 miles. (Hyundai had already replaced the clutch once for free at 13,000 miles.)

I can't say enough positive about the Better Business Bureau and their arbitrator for making a wise and compassionate decision for a beleaguered consumer. And I can't say enough negative about a manufacturer (and dealer) who don't honor a 50,000 mile warranty, and who don't stand by their repairs.

People, don't be used when they tell you your driving habits are to blame when the clutch goes prematurely on the Santa Fe (again, and again). In my case, I used numerous examples from the Internet about Hyundai Santa Fe clutches failing after low miles. And don't let Hyundai or anyone else -including local mechanics - try to blame you for driving habits - it's bull----.

I'm no mechanic, but I have been driving standard cars for 20 years, and know how to drive 'em quite well, thank you. I'm just thankful there was a support system in the form of the Better Business Bureau to see that justice was served.

General Comments:

If you want to build a car cheap, at least make sure the transmission holds up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2008

22nd Aug 2008, 07:30

This problem that you had, shows two things:

1) The low quality of Hyundai, because at low mileage serious issues appeared.

2) The worthless warranty that they use to fool the consumers.

Come to this forum I opened and write your opinion about Hyundai:


1st Mar 2011, 15:24

I have to agree with you. I've also posted my own comment regarding my Sante Fe (which I sold this weekend to a mechanic and wished him my best). After all the repairs made, each repair exceeding $900.00, I was told my fly wheel was bad due to my clutch going out.

I now drive a Buick.