2004 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews - Page 7 of 11

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe Standard 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles

Summary:

Not much to complain about, until a major part fails prematurely and Hyundai fails to cover it

Faults:

At 13,000, my Hyundai Santa Fe's clutch failed. The manufacturer agreed to replace it as "a courtesy", citing heat destroying the flywheel as an apparent defect, after I protested vigorously that it was covered under the warranty.

Now, at 33,000 miles, my clutch has failed again. Hyundai is refusing to cover it under the warranty. I have been driving standard, clutch-driven cars for 20 years, and have never experienced such deficient components.

I'm taking this to arbitration with the Better Business Bureau. For those who have been similarly abused by Hyundai, please contact me at wllmthom82@aol.com so we can fight the good fight against this chicanery.

General Comments:

This pseudo SUV - i.e. Hyundai Santa Fe built atop Hyundai Sonata chassis, is a good ride and economical - if only they didn't put a defective clutch in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th November, 2007

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.7 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

Good vehicle, despite my doubts..

Faults:

Nothing at all. It did mysteriously fail to start on one occasion, was towed to dealer... where it started right up. No idea what that was about.

General Comments:

I was skeptical about purchasing this car, but my wife liked it. I have to say that I am really pretty impressed. It is not fancy, but does seem well screwed together. Performance is... well, it's a small SUV. Not fast, not agile. Competent, though. Interior is comfortable, and pretty roomy. Quite quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2007

23rd Jul 2011, 08:02

I love my Santa Fe. Never had a problem with it. I'll probably write a review soon. I had a few doubts too, but the Santa Fe had me pleasantly surprised!

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe LX-4WD 3.5 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe - Happy Motoring

Faults:

No problems as of yet.

General Comments:

Well, I should start by saying that I found my Hyundai the same way I found the car it was replacing. Cruising the dealer lots looking at stickers. I was in the need to replacing a very relialbe 1997 Chrysler Cirrus; and I found myself looking for a Hyundai Tucson. The problem was, none were available with the features I wanted. Leather seats, etc. I shopped other brands and found the best overall deal was going to be on the Santa Fe. In all honestly I'm shocked by my luck again. I found a very nice (if somewhat cheap looking) reliable vehicle.

The only areas of concern has been the turns during rain. The truck seems to slide to the side a little more than I'd like. It just sends a gentle reminder to slow down; or use the handy Shift-Tronic "gate". Either that or it needs better tires. I've replaced them, and don't feel much safer. Only time will tell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2006

1st Sep 2006, 16:47

The Sante Fe is a very good vehicle, and very reliable. Tires can make a very BIG difference in wet cornering, and I highly recommend spending a little extra for some high-end all weather tires. They will make your Sante Fe much safer in wet weather.

3rd Jul 2007, 23:23

Thanks for the tip!

I now how 102,000 miles on it, and I still LOVE my Hyundai.

The tire swapout did help, somewhat. I think I need wider tires on it. I dunno.

But I'm still trouble free - and loving it!

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe CRDi diesel from Poland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission diesel Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance18000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Excellent (for me at least)

Faults:

There is really nothing wrong with this car so far.

General Comments:

It's a diesel, so I did not expect excellent speed and performance. However, I did expect the car to be comfortable, reliable and virtually maintenance free. And, so far, I was / am right on the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2006

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.7 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance18300 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Santa Fe

Summary:

Enjoy the comfortable ride!

Faults:

There is a rattling noise that the service department can't seem to determine where it is originating from.

General Comments:

I quite like my Santa Fe! It's my second one. I traded in my 2001 when Hyundai introduced their new warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2005

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance14200 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Unique styled SUV worth the money

Faults:

Not really any problems, but, I think that the doors need some lithium grease because sometimes they don't open up the easiest.

The interior cloth seats are a little cheesy and cheap looking.

General Comments:

This vehicle gets really good gas mileage.

It rides like a car, very smooth.

Overall, I have been really pleased with my Santa Fe. I haven't had any problems with it. It seats 5 people comfortably. The cargo space is surprisingly good, and of course the design of the Santa Fe is unique. Nothing else looks like it. I recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a small SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2005

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 34 reviews