2004 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews - Page 4 of 11

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Junk, a money pit

Faults:

The brakes failed and we had it towed back to Hyundai three times before they finally fixed it, giving us a hard time about it every time.

The crankshaft pulley broke and fell out of the car. Towed back to Hyundai again.

The high pressure hose in the power steering system broke, and Hyundai insisted that it wasn't covered in their awesome warranty. We went to a third party mechanic to have it fixed, as he was charging much less than the dealership quoted us.

The crankshaft sensor broke, leaving me stranded. Thank God for insurance company road side assistance.

General Comments:

Hyundai cars are junk and their dealerships know it.

The "awesome" warranty they provide: they try to back out of at every turn.

If you want reliable car, do not buy a Hyundai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2011

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired250 kilometres
Most recent distance130500 kilometres

Summary:

Would rate vehicle as average with all things considered

Faults:

Had to replace gas tank in April 2011, since it rusted through on the bottom half of the tank.

General Comments:

Generally pleased with performance and comfort of vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2011

2nd May 2011, 11:42

All things considered? Like what? So you replaced a fuel tank. That's it? You should change where you get gas, not bash on the car. These tanks don't just rust out. You get rust from crappy fuel tanks in rural areas. Pay a little more and get the good stuff, you'll be far happier in the long run.

Mack.

6th Sep 2012, 12:48

The gas tank is plastic.

30th Oct 2013, 17:19

I had to replace my gas tank on my 2004 Santa Fe with 98,000 km on it. That made my wallet $1100 lighter! BTW, there are no aftermarket tanks made, so it's dealer only. In three years the front struts broke, both power steering hoses went, both front rotors broke in half. If we could afford it, I'd unload this money pit.

4th Nov 2013, 11:22

The tank is not plastic, it's metal. The metal tank sits in a plastic "tub" for protection, but unfortunately it also holds the dirt and salt in between the tank and the plastic tub. After 8 years and 98,000 km of this, my tank rotted out. The tank, being a dealer only item, was $550 and another $600 to have it installed - the exhaust and drive shaft had to be moved to get the tank out... not a fun job they tell me.

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.4 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

Will never own another Hyundai!!!

Faults:

Air conditioner went out at 40,000 miles.

Timing belts and sensor went out at 100,040 miles (40 miles over the warranty), which the dealership would not cover.

Catalytic converter went out at 100,060 miles, (60 miles over the warranty), which the dealership would not cover.

Air conditioner went out again after being repaired by the dealership at 100,100 miles.

Short in the interior dash lights and left brake light. After constant replacing, still will not work.

Timing still not set correctly, and causing starters to be replaced approx. every 6 months.

General Comments:

The interior of the car is extremely comfortable & spacious, but doesn't matter if it's not running 50% of the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2011

26th Jan 2011, 16:25

AC out at 40,000-100,000 - AC needs basic service too.

Timing belt 100,000 - Should be replaced every 60,000. Your fault for not replacing it. Lucky you didn't damage the engine.

If you have a short, replacing the bulb will not help.

Catalytic converter - things wear out.

Actually, the car isn't in that bad shape.

1st Mar 2011, 15:31

I just found out the starter issue was due to a chipped fly wheel cause by a bad clutch. Needless to say I sold the car and now drive a Buick.

2nd Mar 2011, 18:14

To previous comment "needless to say I sold the car and drive a buick". In my opinion that's the best thing you could have done.

2nd Sep 2013, 11:24

To the above comment, Buicks aren't that reliable any more. Their SUVs are in the crapper, and so are a lot of other SUVs on the market today.

Hyundai ain't the best, but they sure ain't the worst. The big three have their major problems too.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 34 reviews