2001 Hyundai Tiburon Reviews - Page 8 of 9

2001 Hyundai Tiburon from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46 miles
Most recent distance3056 miles
Previous carHyundai Tiburon

Summary:

I am extremely happy with my 2001 Tiburon

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with the car is that the paint around my door and the paint around the spoiler is coming off.

General Comments:

Other than the paint coming off I think that this car is excellent. It is sporty, it drives very well, it is pretty quick, and the overall appearance of the whole car is just beautiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th October, 2001

17th Oct 2001, 20:16

Just wait until time does its job and you will wish you purchased something other than a Hyundai!

23rd Sep 2003, 16:33

My paint came off too, also my passenger side door lock has broken twice.

2001 Hyundai Tiburon FX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance4048 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Great car at a great price!

Faults:

I love my Tiburon. Nothing has gone wrong. It is very dependable, great on gas, and it just looks great.

The dealership I bought it from is worthless. I had them tint my windows when I bought my Tiburon. It left my possession with 33 miles on it in mint condition. The next day when I picked the car up the back seat had a hole in the leather and both rear fenders where scratched. They fixed the seat, but denied they scratched the paint. This was at Gurley Leep Hyundai in Mishawaka Indiana.

General Comments:

The car takes to the road great. Handles like a expensive sports car.

Seats are very comfortable.

The price was great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2001

2001 Hyundai Tiburon SE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired240 kilometres
Most recent distance2800 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Dodge

Summary:

A lot of car for the money!

Faults:

The motor for the sunroof has a "dead-spot" which means that it does not work anymore!

The clasp for the front mats isn't the best.

General Comments:

I enjoy driving the Tib. It's fast and handles very well.

The dealership that I've dealt with is fantastic and I have complete confidence in the car despite other people's nasty comments about owning a Hyundai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2001

2001 Hyundai Tiburon from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired112 miles
Most recent distance2345 miles

Summary:

A real head turner

Faults:

I love this car, I have had no problems.

The speakers sound great, no need to spend money on bigger more expensive speakers.

The leather is great, but it can heat up and be hot if they aren't sat in.

General Comments:

I have the cobalt blue tiburon with all the features. This includes Compact Disc and cassette players, sunroof, and leather interior.

My parents bought this for me as a present for my 16th birthday on April 13, 2001 and I have had no problems out of it yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

2001 Hyundai Tiburon 16v DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 16v DOHC Manual
Distance when acquired75 miles
Most recent distance4455 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Hyundia Consumer Affairs is most unhelpful

Faults:

I have had the Compact Disc player (manufacturer's upgraded model) break twice in the month I have owned the car.

General Comments:

I have been very unhappy with the way customer service has handled situations.

I like the way the car looks.

Could be a great car if not backed by Hyundia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2001

13th Nov 2002, 09:53

I had purchased a 1999 Hyundai Tiburon. I have had only one minor problem with the car until now. This is the first year, I have had to pass an emission test. I have had test two times now and the OBD test has failed both times. The dealership will not stand behind there 8 years Emission Warranty. They say that it is not there problem, it is the software on the emission testing equipment. Some of Hyundai cars are passing some are not. I want to know if they were all assembled with the same parts. Why don't they all pass if there is nothing wrong with my car? I have already been pulled over by the police one time for not having my new tag. I am at loss on what to do now.

2001 Hyundai Tiburon 1.7 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance2890 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

A car built for the twenty year old!

Faults:

The car's right interior side panel separated from the body and had to be repaired two days after it's purchase. The car is pulling to the right after only three weeks of ownership. Most recently, the right interior door panel changed color when Armor-all was used as a cleaner. The right panel appears to be composed of a different material than the left panel?!? These small problems have eliminated my confidence that the purchase of a new vehicle would reduce my cost and time commitment for repairs.

General Comments:

Despite the bizarre interior malfunctions,

I really like the Tiburon.

The Tiburon's ride is smooth and quiet.

No one can deny the exterior look is eye catching, and a confidence boost.

It is a relief to feel good when parking in a lot, instead of trying to avoid others because your car looks so bad!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2001

3rd Jul 2001, 14:39

I want to know how much fuel it takes cause I have one and it takes like 10 dollars every 200km. I don't know if it is normal, here in Panama the gas is 1.83 dollars per gallon

Please email me at poetax3@hotmail.com

21st Mar 2006, 21:38

Yeah, that's messed up I had mine painted, but I noticed the the right door panel is textured to look like the dash and not smooth, and it does not match the left door panel.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 35 reviews