2001 Hyundai Tiburon Reviews - Page 5 of 9

2001 Hyundai Tiburon SE 2.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired58500 kilometres
Most recent distance60850 kilometres
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

So far so good

Faults:

Not too much to list here yet as I've only had this 2001 Tiburon for 6 weeks.

Prior to buying it I had a Hyundai garage inspect it and it needed a rear strut as it was leaking. There was a leaking rad hose, and required two new front tires.

General Comments:

I bought this car because of the value, and looks. Also because of the pretty good comments and ratings I found while researching used cars.

I am overall pretty happy so far.

My main concern is an annoying vibration I get once the tachometer hits 3000 rpm. It goes away as soon as 3000 rpm is surpassed. Does anyone else experience this and if so what did you do?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2004

8th Jan 2005, 10:23

I have that same problem. I took my car to a shop and they told me I needed a tune up. I got the tune up and it kept doing it. I cannot drive my 2001 Hyundai Tiburon past 63mph and 300rpm's or it will shake. I have not yet found the reason, but now I am having another problem... my car won't start? It seems to want to start, but it won't turn over all the way it makes a grinding noise. I am taking it to the shop once again and will comment later as to what is wrong. If you find out anything about the shaking on your vehicle let me know.

2001 Hyundai Tiburon SE 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32647 kilometres
Most recent distance48222 kilometres

Summary:

Great Car, but horrible warranty

Faults:

O2 sensor has gone.

Passenger mat clip doesn't work.

Back seat belt clip doesn't rotate, so it damages my back seat when the seat gets folded down.

Paint chips very easily.

My trunk door has to be slammed very hard to shut otherwise it doesn't close.

Nothing apparently is covered under the warranty, so it all gets paid out of my pocket.

My front tire has a constant slow leak.

General Comments:

I love my 2001 Tiburon, but my warranty just ran out two months ago, and now it seems like it's falling apart. When I've taking my car into the dealership to get it fixed, they tell me that nothing can be fixed under warranty. Make sure that you see them actually put what they say in the computer, otherwise they change their story very quickly when you come back down the road to get things fixed again.

The car is a great car, but the worse thing about the whole car is how Hyundai treats its car owners. I'm very not impressed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2004

2001 Hyundai Tiburon LX 1.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carHyundai Pontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Lovely car at a lovely price!!!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I purchased the Tiburon because it closely resembles the Toyota Celica in performance and style.

It handles perfectly in any weather.

I'm relatively short and I can comfortably reach the gas, brake and radio without having to stretch at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2004

2001 Hyundai Tiburon 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres

Summary:

A cutie you cannot rely on

Faults:

Before reaching 20 000 km, the following problems happened : First my check engine light went on several times without any reason, and the dealer could not correct the problem.

The clutch had to be changed, although my driving was not in cause, the dealer refused to repair it under guarantee and billed me 800 $ for the repairs.

At 65 000 km : After the guarantee just expired, the manifold had to be replaced, the hand brake cables had to be replaced, the driver's door switch was defective, there was a problem with the seatbelt, radiator fluids were leaking, and finally, fuel consumption was higher than normal.

All these things happened after my warranty had expired, costing me hundreds of dollars. The dealer, was never returning my phone calls, could never book me an appointment or lend me or lease, a replacement car for a day.

Regarding maintenance, I attended every maintenance recommended by the manufacturer, by the book.

General Comments:

My experience was extremely frustrating, I will never buy a Hyundai again, and I will never recommend a Hyundai to anyone. Service is poor, quality is weak, replacement parts are expensive, and are always back order.

Tires provided with the car are not very resistant and reliable and they have to be replaced very early.

The only thing this car as to offer is a bold look, great engine sound, cool interior and that is about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st December, 2003

30th Dec 2003, 23:39

I don't think there is a 1.5L engine with the Hyundai Tiburon..

9th Jan 2004, 14:50

I apologize, for writing 1.5 L engine. It is a 2.0 L engine. (my mistake).

7th May 2004, 13:58

How awful. Sounds like you got stuck with a lemon. I've put 75,000 brutal miles on mine and have never had a problem except for a stalling problem that seemed to correct itself at around 65,000. Your dealer sounds like a schmuck though.

28th May 2005, 04:31

A lot of your problems sound like improper upkeep of your car. Every car is prone to those problems, it all depends on how well you keep track of your car. My car has only 36k miles on it and it has never given me any problems except for when I first bought it. My throttle sensor went bad other than that I've had a perfect car. A very reliable car.

25th Jul 2005, 12:28

Why are you blaiming the car for the poor dealership. My dealer is 110% great. He provides ride to / from work when car in for service.

2003, 46,000mi V6, Auto. I did change tires from Michelin to Bridgestone for better ride.

Service so far - All covered

Sun roof motor

Driver seat leather worn in 1 spot

O2 sensor.

29th Jul 2006, 16:16

I think your mechanic is not reliable, some have been known to purposely damage your car.

24th Jul 2009, 21:43

I just wanna say that I have heard a lot more good than bad about any Tiburon. As a mechanic myself, I want to say that even the most reliable model has lemons coming off the line for one reason or another.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 35 reviews