2001 Hyundai Tiburon Reviews - Page 9 of 9

2001 Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Great sporty car!

Faults:

Cold start system not dropping idle until normal operating temperature. Sometimes does not work at all.

General Comments:

I like the car a lot. Front wheel drive is pretty cool. The car is very comfortable and you cannot beat it for the price. The warranty is great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

2001 Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 V-4 140 hp from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 V-4 140 hp Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

With a few minor improvements, this would be a very good car

Faults:

Nothing yet, it's only been about 3 weeks.

General Comments:

A lot of car for the money.

Excellent warranty.

Looks sharp, nice paint job and many compliments.

Cup holders are too small and very poorly placed.

The speedometer is poorly marked, the numerals are every 20 mph, instead of 10 mph, like most cars.

Not much backseat/legroom space.

The car could use more torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

5th Sep 2001, 21:08

I was just curious at what kind of cars you've driven because every car I've driven has speedometers that go by 20s.

2001 Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 DOHC I4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC I4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38 miles
Most recent distance850 miles

Summary:

Spirited performance bargain!

Faults:

No problems as of yet.

General Comments:

Smooth performer.

Nimble handling, fell in love with this car on the test drive, and the feeling has remained.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

2001 Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance850 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

Classy, head turning, affordable sports car

Faults:

Since I purchased the car a little under 2 weeks ago, I have not had any problems with it yet.

General Comments:

The leather interior is very comfortable and sporty looking.

The car has pretty good pickup for a 5-speed and 4-cylinder.

I purchased my 2001 Cobalt Blue Tibby on May 11, 2001 and have been pleased ever since.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

15th Jun 2001, 15:31

I'm in the market for an economical sports car. I have been closely looking at the Protege-MP3, Neon-RT, Cougar-I4, and the Tiburon. I noticed you previously owned a Neon. Did you own the 132hp engine or the 150, and who do you compare the Neon to your Tiburon? Reliability? Performance? Bang for the buck?

Thank you,

prodigious23@yahoo.com

8th Jul 2001, 08:15

Next week I will be purchasing the Cobalt blue Tibby. I was hesitant because everyone kept telling me not to buy it. I did my research on these cars and I have to say that I am really excited about buying it. Hyundai have come a long way. I am having them put in the sun roof and the CD player.

This Tibby was the only one left on the lot. I will get the whole package including the fantastic warranty for a approx 16,000. Can't beat that price considering I bought a Saturn SL2 in 1993 for $13,000. I simply fell in love with the looks of this car and I did have some prompting from my 18 year old daughter who can't wait until we get it home. Little does she know that this Tibby will only be ridden by me (well, maybe she can test drive it with me in the car). :)

Wish me luck!

2001 Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Handling, performance, and looks for under 16k!!

Faults:

The faults so far, after only 3000 miles have been a bad heater relay and a low RPM exhaust vibration.

General Comments:

The car has been great. This is my first new car and I got all of the bells and whistles except for the anti lock brakes. I have had a few problems with it but they are minor. Not a bad deal for the 15,780 price tag.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

2001 Hyundai Tiburon 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance1400 miles
Previous carCheverolet S-10

Summary:

It gets lots of looks!

Faults:

Paint chips from the road.

General Comments:

So far I really like it. It's quick, sporty and decked with options. It's my first new car so I wash it about twice a week.

The one thing I dislike is that the gas pedal is a little too close to the brake. That and the fog lamps shut off when the high beams are on, and they don't turn on unless the headlights are on. I kinda thought they would come one when you just had the running lights on.. but oh well.

Other than that I like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2001

6th Jun 2001, 07:43

I believe that in most states, it is technically illegal to have fog lights without low beam headlights. If you are using the high beam, then you don't need the benefit of the fog light beam. That's why it cuts out.

12th Sep 2004, 02:04

In addition to the previous comment... When you have your brights on there are a total of 4 bulbs or 4 separate filaments working, this is the legal limit. If you were able to have the fog lights on in conjunction with the brights it would be far to bright and you would endanger on-coming traffic as they would be unable to see.

On a side note, I had a friend with a ford probe GT that re-wired his fog lights to a separate switch in the cabin so that he could control them independently from the regular light switch.

2001 Hyundai Tiburon 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra SE-R

Summary:

Incredible options, great styling for a cheap price

Faults:

No problems at delivery.

General Comments:

At less than 16K I got a great looking 5-speed coupe with a decent 140hp engine, nice 14.5 gallon tank, 15 inch Michelin High-Performance tires, 4-wheel disc-brakes, leather seats/steering wheel, sunroof!, decent 6-speaker cd/stereo, power windows/doors, fog-lamps.

You can't even approach these options at this price in an Eclipse, Integra, or Alero.

Extremely nice ride, seats supportive, gorgeous car overall, dash is cool, very nice on the curves - I've only had it a short while - but I LOVE it...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2001

22nd Apr 2001, 22:49

My husband and I went today to look at the new Tiburon, I fell in love with it before I even got into the car. Although we won't be purchasing it until June of this year, I can't wait to own one. it handled so well when I test drove it. It is so stylish inside and out.

2001 Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Affordable high performance sportscar

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I just purchased a 2001 Tiburon.

I have driven about 800 miles in it. I have not noticed any defects. The gas opening is a bit small which makes refueling tricky at times.

Other than that, I have had no problems with the car. It is sporty and very fun to drive. It is very stable for its size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 35 reviews