2001 Hyundai XG300 from North America - Comments

30th Jul 2004, 10:03

Hi my name is John from New York City. I own 2002 Hyundai Sonata GLS V6 and 2002 Hyundai XG300L 3.0 V6. I've noticed that many problems I've read on this website is of 2001 models. I have one problem like "check engine" light coming on (sonata only), but there is no serious problem. I only went in for Sonata's speed sensor failing. Other than that there hasn't been any problems. Sonata seems to Rev a little loud on 1st gear, but rest of the way it's pretty good. I think it's at first gear because the torque is weak on sonata. But, XG300L has 216lb of Torque if I'm not wrong. So, the ride is quiet and smooth. I feel that owning two vehicles from Hyundai I can say that Hyundai is good for what you pay for. And, because you feel that you've lost/wasted money on buying Hyundai don't feel all that bad. Hyundai is beginning to get better ratings. Santa Fe is rated better than Saturn's SUV and better than Ford Escort. Hyundai is 5th largest Vehicle producers.

29th Sep 2004, 07:25

I have noticed in many newer cars that a loose gas cap can cause the check engine light to come on. So if your CEL light comes on for no reason, check the gas cap. It says it right in the XG300 owners manual.

19th Nov 2004, 23:12

I have had a Hyundai Grandeur XG (Australian version of XG300) for almost three years now. I have 140000 km on the odometer. Except some noise coming from air-conditioning, when is on high (the problem is fixed - air-condition fan was clipping accumulated leaves). I have not had any other complaints during this time. The car drives very well, goes smoothly, like Mercedes or Lexus you have luxury feeling. Previously I have driven a Mercedes and had many costly problems with it.

I am very happy with my choice and would recommend it to anyone.

Thunder from Down Under.

19th Nov 2004, 23:38

My name is Zivko and I am writing from Australia - Melbourne. I have the car (XG300) from 2000. I have not had any problems with it. The car is excelent except the consumption, but if you like to drive in luxury you have to pay the price. And, almost forgot, the problem with the back interior light ??? I am not sure if it is the same model, but mine has it. The switches are situated on the both back side consoles, near the coat hanger. It is hard to notice, but it has it.

Cheers and enjoy the ride!!!

28th Oct 2006, 09:50

I purchased a 2001 XG300L, and I really think the car is beautiful.

I got the car at a low price with 74k on it. I have had it now for 2 months; I recently had to replace my alternator. What happened first was my battery and brake light came on. I didn’t think it was that much of a big deal. Then later on that day, my ABS light and TCS light came on too, and then when I went to give it a test start to see if it would go away, my car wouldn’t start. I had to get it towed and replaced the alternator. It cost me about four hundred dollars.

I’m trying hard to keep my car in good condition. I bought original Hyundai parts like the air filter and oil filter, and put the best oil in it too. I wash my car once a week and put on UV protector for my car leather. I really think the car is great.

I live in NYC, which has the worst roads (so many pot holes). I believe when driving you should try to avoid bumpy roads; I don’t think cars like the XG300 are made for it.

I'm starting to notice sounds coming from the back of the car, like a sound when you close your trunk door. I’m starting to think it might be my suspension.

I was driving yesterday when I noticed my check engine light came on. It really gets me upset because I drive carefully, but can’t seem to avoid those bumpy roads. I took it to my mechanic right away. He checked it out with his scanner. I read the code, which was PO174; it read car too lean bank 2, which he said might be the oxygen sensor. I’m thinking there goes at least two hundred dollars. So I've had the car for 2 months, and I'm starting to get worried now. I changed the alternator, and now the oxygen sensor. I’m worried my transmission might give out.

Anyways, I’m thinking of purchasing an extended warranty now, because I like the car, but I hate to pay to fix it, which is costly. I work hard for my money, trying to get luxury here, and save money rather than buying a Toyota or Honda. But I think it all balances out; pay a little extra and get a good vehicle. But I have trust in my XG300, so I'm not giving up on it yet.

12th Nov 2006, 16:11

Get rid of all xg 300s. They constantly break down. They are also very expensive to repair and not to mention the labor. P. S. Don't buy one and if you have one sell it!!!

16th Feb 2007, 14:20

My 2005 Hyundai 350XG is great. I've had a Toyota Avalon which I loved and the Hyundai is a very good comparison to the Avalon. I can't tell the difference in the appearance, drive, interior, etc.

My only criticism is the air conditioning... as some comments on this site have indicated, it runs hot or cold at it's own preference. It's difficult to get it set right. I will take it back to dealership for their opinion; however, I have a feeling it's just going to operate that way.

For the money, it is definitely a worthwhile vehicle to purchase and I'd do it again in a minute!

11th May 2007, 23:28

I really did love my XG300 in the beginning. But I have had the mass air flow sensor, oxygen sensor, and now the acceleration sensor replaced. I had a new alternator and new catlylic converter also (warranty). Its got 80,000 miles on it I'm tired of the dealer ship rip offs with the labor cost. I go to another shop or to a major auto part store now.

I will never buy a hyundai again!

8th Jul 2007, 12:57

I my 2001 XG300 brand new. It ran good for several years up until about 40,000 miles. Then I began what can only be described as the "Check Engine Light From Hell" story. It has been a story which has been playing for years now. It only happens when the car is warm, and when it comes on the car begins surging and dying - extremely dangerous.

I've taken it into the shop (I have the extended warranty, though they no longer pay the $100 deductible, which was an option I paid extra for, but they no longer honor since the dealership changed hands) approximately 30 - 40 TIMES over the years, costing me thousands of dollars and lord knows how much of my time.

They seem unable to make a fix that lasts more than a couple of months, before the problem occurs again. I have taken it in, had them work on it for days, I pick it up, and then the engine light comes on while I'm driving it home.

After the last series of battles which lasted for weeks, the CEL has been unlit for 5-6 months, only to come on today, with the car surging and dying. I want to scream.