18th Apr 2006, 10:42

Althought,I cannot differentiate the driving abilities between a BMW and a G35. I will say though that It took me into another realm of driving yesterday; so much so that I bought it. Yes, the interior looks cheap, but this 03' G35 is CLEAN BABY.

18th Apr 2006, 14:35

I have owned five BMWs and not a single one (including four 3 series) had trim fall off.

That said, if Infiniti gets its interiors right (something that was a gross oversight) there will be little reason to spend more for less with a 3 series, much less a 5 series.

The G35 sedan is being revamped this year so hopefully its interior will match the rest of the car. The Nissan Altima had its interior reworked due to customer complaints, so there is hope in the Nissan/Renault world that is Infiniti.

19th Apr 2006, 11:52

In the end, it really comes down to what you're looking to do with the car in mind. If you want an all-out adrenalin rush every time you get behind the wheel and interior "appearance" is not an issue for you, go with the G35. If you want bragging rights, want to project your status in society, and horsepower/acceleration is not important to you then go with the BMW, MB, etc...

I'm not saying those vehicles are junk or the consumer is getting ripped. Far from it! I'm only saying that Infiniti has found a way to produce a quality automobile for less while stomping the snot out of the competition. The 298 hp rating, best warranty in its class, and doing it for less money, is pretty hard to look away from.

Infiniti will no doubt step up to the plate and revamp their interior. This will leave BMW/MB with no leg to stand on.


19th Apr 2006, 20:37

Just a note about the horsepower thing: Infiniti/Nissan (as well as Honda and a few others) rates their cars "at the flywheel," so their 298 HP is in reality about 220. Now someone delete this comment before anybody sees.

22nd Apr 2006, 10:37

Well you got to be kidding about the G35 298 horsepower is really 220 horsepower. You couldn't had possibly own a G35, there's no way!!! If anything, the G35 298 horsepower really feels like 340 horsepower and anyone who ever truely own one would most likely agree. I'm still laughing about that comment. It's against the law to be drinking and writing you know? (smile) Now that I caught my breath from laughing, let's get serious. Like I said and a previous writer mentioned, to each as own if you want the bragging rights of the BMW because of it's interior. If that's the leg you guys want to keep standing on than so be it, let's move on.

Iven G.

26th Apr 2006, 17:51

Well it's time for Iven G. to sign off forever now. I've been at this discussion for nearly 6 months since I've owned my lovely 2004 G35 Sedan. It's time for someone else to take the lead for the G35, represent well!! I'll be back once I purchase the new 2007 G35 Coupe in 8 months. We'll have some interesting discussions on this also. See you all and who all participated in this discussion with me in these past 6 months.


27th Apr 2006, 09:44

I don't know why you wouldn't wait for your coupe.

The G35 sedan is all new this summer, but the coupe is going to remain the old model for another years.

15th Nov 2006, 21:20

OK, this is for whoever said that American/ Japanese Interiors so not hold up.

I have a 1986 Nissan 300ZX with 185K miles and the red velour interior looks new. No cracks in the dash, no fading, and this car has never been garged in the last 10 years.

And, I looked at a few BMWs a while back mostly mid 90s 328is coupe and the leather looked horrible in all of them, and there was way more plastic cladding than I could deal with.

21st Nov 2006, 18:20

I agree with iven g. If your looking for interior in a car there is no doubt that you would go with a more classy and stylish merc. Now as for the g35 the interior is in fact very nice and comfortable. And for speed and for the drive I would take a g any day over a 3 series. I've driven both and they are really nice cars, but the g will destroy the 3 series on a track and around the streets.

17th Dec 2006, 08:01

After going underground for the past 8 months, finally somebody agrees with me on the horrible look of a BMW interior over a short time.

Even the M3 BMW can't touch the new G on the track. Now the M5 is a total different story, but they are not in the same class, but just with a couple MINOR changes with the Cool Air Intake and the Exhaust System, it will give the M5 a run for its money and the new G is only a V6 with 306 HorsePower.

This car is cut different from the rest, you can't possible go wrong with the G in no way what so ever. I thank the last two writers for your support. I'm signing off again now for the last time. Happy Holidays.

Iven G.

18th Dec 2006, 08:54

Although it is contrary the American belief that more expensive equates better, the pleather in BMWs is the ideal seat material. It looks virtually new after many many years of use, whereas BMW leather cracks and gets dirty very easily. I am constantly shocked when I see old BMWs, especially abused ones, that have nearly-perfect seat trim after decades of neglect.

BMWs have never been known for their great interiors, although my 2000 528i was pretty luxurious. Mercedes builds the best looking interiors, better than Audi in my opinion. The original G35 was a mismatch of quality and cheap plastics, something hopefully that is remedied in the 2007 model.

9th Jan 2007, 22:05

I LOVE MY CAR! I bought my G35 in 2004. It was a gift to myself after a divorce, getting 4 teens through HS, and I, myself, managing to graduate nursing school... thought I might deserve something special!

I test drove Nissans, Toyotas, Hondas... they just didn't do it for me. So, with a limited budget, and an okay down payment, I upgraded my search. I drove a BMW, 328i I think, but hated the seats and the interior looked too busy. I tried the Lexus, 300IS?, and really liked it, especially how it braked, the Acura RSX, which was adorable, and the Infiniti G35. All the vehicles I drove were BASICALLY, more or less, in the same price range.

Hands down, I loved the Infiniti. And, for the first time ever, I still love my car. I still stand back and enjoy looking at it. Its dark blue, has a spoiler, big wheels, sports suspension package. It is so hot! Everyone here seems to think the interior is bad, but I love it! The seats are comfortable and come with a heater and lumbar support, even remembers my settings. I have 3 plug-ins for charging my electronic things, the dash is awesome, easy to read. I have a BOSE stereo! I tend to be sloppy, kinda live out of my car, and my interior stands up to me, no problem, cleans up real nice. There's even room enough if my tall boyfriend is in it. When I open the sunroof, the papers in the back don't blow away, neither does my hair! And the Titanium trim looks great, not cheap.

Speed? OMG! I had no idea! Used to drive to Oregon and back to visit my dad, one time caught myself doing 130! Handled so smooth, and rode so comfortably, I had no idea until I just happened to look at the speedometer. And, I think she really wanted to go faster!

I appreciate the fact that my car is simple in style, both inside and out. I don't attract attention when driving on the highway and I consider that a good thing - probably saved me a lot of $$$ in tickets. Its just got sweet stylish lines. And when I get in, and step on the gas, (I still average a solid 20 MPG even with my driving) I know I'm behind the wheel of a really hot sports car. No matter where I'm driving, its going to be a good time.

My next car? Looking hard at the 2007 Infiniti G! But I'm not in a hurry, still love the one I have!

Linda K.