2000 Infiniti I30 Touring from North America

Summary:

Tremendous value for entry level luxury and performance

Faults:

Paint is cracking/chipping away on rear spoiler.

Replaced the high performance tires with snow tires for winter use.

General Comments:

This car has been a joy to drive in the 2-3 years I have owned it. Absolutely no problems (mechanically) at all. No leaks, squeaks, rattles or trim issues either.

The V-6 engine in this vehicle has to be one of the best ever engineered.

Overall, it is not as refined as the comparable Lexus ES300 (the leather in the Infiniti is definitely not as high quality)... but all things considered, I would not trade it for one.

This Infiniti is quick, lively, has great engine growl and superb handling, flawless reliability (so far) and can be purchased used -- inexpensively.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2007

2000 Infiniti I30 from North America

Summary:

I have loved this car, but am concerned about its reliability

Faults:

New brakes at 30,000 miles.

Check engine light continuously on and off.

New alternator and belt at 60,000 miles.

Brake light and Battery light come on in the a.m. since the new alternator was installed. Tightened the belt, didn't help.

New mass air flow sensor at 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable, and up until now has been extremely reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th October, 2006

12th Oct 2006, 12:07

I also own a 00' I30. 125K miles on it. The service engine soon light is a common problem in the 00' maximas and I30s. Mine was repossed, so it was neglected an in need of a good owner. The most notorious problem with this car is the coil packs. They will trigger the SES light. There are 6 of them, and as time gos they will all go bad. If one is starting to go bad, then the engine will miss for a few seconds, and then correct itself, or at freeway speeds, you will feel a jerking sensation. Also, if severe enough, the SES light will flash. If you have the coil pack issues, don't pay the dealer. They can be replaced by anyone. Also, when looking for mechanical parts, sometimes it is cheaper to search for an 00' Maxima, they are mechanical twins and almost all parts are the same. Goodluck!

2000 Infiniti I30 3.0 from North America

Summary:

Good car, a keeper

Faults:

Oxygen sensor.

General Comments:

Good reliable car, cost of parts and service from dealer way too high, I use a local shop and typically buy the parts myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2006

29th Nov 2007, 12:35

I guess this review belongs to the Q45 thread.

2000 Infiniti I30 Luxury 3.0 VQ30DE from North America

Summary:

Performance + Reliability + Luxury + Economy

Faults:

Service Engine Soon light is on.

(but car doesn't operate abnormally)

Bose Subwoofer works occasionally.

General Comments:

I have owned the car for just a few months now. However, I have put almost 10k miles on it. The car was repossessed, so I was a little worried about prior maintenance performed such as oil changes, etc. But, I took the risk and bought the car. I also own a 1986 Nissan 300ZX which is an awesome machine. Very reliable for a 20 year old car. And for those of you who do not know, Infiniti is the luxury division of Nissan. Don't believe me? Pop the hood and look at a part, it will will say Nissan (or another Japanese brand, depending on the part).

The powertrain in the car is outstanding! The motor actually made the 10 best list! 230hp and 26+ mpg! However this car DOES need PREMIUM FUEL. But, that roughly equates to $1.50 more each fillup compared to regular octane, so no big deal. At 105K miles, the spark plugs should be replaced. It uses platinum tipped ones which are a bit pricey at $9.50 each, but they last a lot longer than conventional spark plugs. The dealer quoted me $300.00 for the job. However, this task is listed under the "Do It Yourself" section of the Owner's Manual. So, I went and purchased the spark plugs and used the spark plug wrench that came with my 300ZX (from the factory) and did the job. It took less than an hour of my time, and I saved $240.00. The transmission is smooth and responsive, although at certain speeds when downshifting could be beneficial it sometimes doesn't. Also, in the morning, the transmission will not shift into overdrive for a few miles. This is not a problem. It's designed to do this, allowing the transmission temperature to be warm to prevent damage.

The quality is typical Nissan, very high. Interior is very nice. Rear sunshade is very useful for preventing sun from damaging rear leather seats. Automatic climate control is very useful, allowing driver to "Set it and Forget it". Bose stereo sounds good even when the subwoofer isn't working.

Overall, a great car. I highly recommend any V6 Nissan product. My experiences with the VG30E (300ZX) and the VQ30DE (I30) have been outstanding. I have never understood why Nissan is never mentioned in terms of reliability like Honda and Toyota. My Nissan experiences and everyone I know who has owned one will tell you that they are awesome. My 1986 300ZX has 153k miles. No leaks, drips, smoke, or oil consumption. Go Nissan!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

30th Aug 2006, 21:36

Same owner, now at 120k miles. No problems to date! Still fantastic.

7th Jun 2007, 22:11

Same Owner now at 140k miles. Car is still fantastic. No oil consumption or leaks. However, the SES light is really getting annoying. As soon as I got the Thermostat and 02 sensor replaced, the Catylic Converter code popped up. Also, there is a noise when I hit potholes, I'll have it looked at soon. Still, overall a great, reliable car.

2000 Infiniti I30 I-30 2.3 from North America

Summary:

Excellent car except the rear breaks

Faults:

There has been one major problem with my I-30 Infiniti, the rear brakes. The car needs the fourth set of rear breaks at 80,000 miles. I have never had to change the front pads. The dealer claims that this is normal for this car.

General Comments:

Except for the rear brakes, this has been an excellent performing car. Unless we can get a resolution of the problem, I will never buy another Infiniti.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

30th Mar 2004, 01:06

First of all... Avalon is Toyota. Second...I30 is front wheel drive and mine is a 1998 with the orig rear pads on it. I replaced the fronts @ 70k so you have an issue with either your fluid level, rear caliper adjustment... or more likely a messed up emergency brake cable (that'll always keep the pads engaged manually and I don't think the computer would catch it-but the brakes would get REALLY hot. Lose the dealer and go to an independent shop...it's not a Mercedes!

23rd May 2006, 22:29

Do really know what kind of car you own? Infiniti Avalon? 2.3 Liter? All Infiniti I30s came with one motor, a 3.0 V6. And how many times have you replaced the front brakes?