1994 Infiniti J30 Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1994 Infiniti J30 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 240d

Summary:

Fun to drive and very dependable

Faults:

Fuel injector had to be replaced (under extended warranty) at 85000 miles.

General Comments:

Love this car. For $15000 to get a car of this quality and luxury was a dream for me. The car performs flawlessly so far. Very quick, and very comfortable. I bought it used, it was a lease return, from an Infinity dealer, and they have treated me great since then. My only complaint is that the gas mileage around town is only about 18. On the highway though it jumps to 28, so I love to travel in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2002

9th Oct 2004, 21:19

I have had my 1994 Infinity J30t for about 3 years. Currently there is about 225,000 k on the car. It looks and runs like new. The only thing that I have had to do above regular maintenance, was replace a lot of parts when the timing belt was replaced last year. The total bill was aboput $1500.00.

19th May 2005, 19:44

My j30 has 324k miles ORIG. TRANSMISSION! it's a 1995 and its just as powerful quick and responsive today as it ever was. Infiniti is the perfect word to describe the longevitiy of these engines.

22nd Dec 2011, 14:05

Oh really, because I was afraid of buying a J30 because of its 200k miles, but now I will change my mind. Does it have a lot of maintenance cost?

1994 Infiniti J30 t 3.0 V6 from Albania

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Timeless styling and good performance at a bargain price!

Faults:

"Check Engine" light came on. Had it diagnosed at the dealer and it turned out to be a clogged EGR valve. I had a both throttle bodies cleaned along with the EGR valve and it is now fine.

Sunroof sticks sometimes when weather is hot or if the car (black on black) is parked in the direct sunlight. I just give it assistance and it's fine.

Driver side door panel wears through due to cheap vinyl. Should be a design flaw that dealer repairs but we are SOL. Planning on having it stitched out and replaced eventually.

Window regulators notoriously go bad. My driver side rear window sticks at a certain point (sounds like a drum roll!). Replacing myself this spring (2002).

Bose radio is notorious for problems. I have a speaker that pops sometimes (amp) and the CD player works only when it wants, usually displays "CD Err" and spits it out but works occasionally (it likes "The Cult" though, especially the albums "Electric" and "Love")

General Comments:

I had the transmission flushed (with a pan drop and filter change) and refilled with Mobil 1 Synthetic ATF. It makes a huge difference, it makes the car shift SO much smoother. I'm also planning on adding a transmission cooler this spring. These should help prolong the life of my transmission (now have 140K miles on it).

Car handles pretty good but I plan on doing some things to make it better this year (adding bigger sway bars, 17" wheels and tires, new shocks & springs).

I don't want to make it all gangsta or ricey (not into that scene) but I love the timeless looks of this car and want to keep it around for along time. These cars are a great bargin for the money due to Infiniti's high depreciation. It's bad if you buy a new Infiniti, but its great for people like me who let the other suckers buy new!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

26th Jan 2002, 23:44

Please post or email links on where you plan on getting the bigger sway bars or other performance mods. I'm having a hard time finding such.

Thanks.

Shai.

Handsomeprince77@aol.com.

3rd Jul 2002, 17:34

www.coilsprings.com for custom springs... I just lowered mine 2 inches with them, very nice ride. Had the rate increased 20%.

The engine internals are the same as a 300ZX engine. The code is VG30DE, so parts are very interchangeable as far as internals such as cam gears, cams, injectors, pulleys, etc...

24th Sep 2002, 03:56

Exactly what parts fit? headers, intake, exhaust???

16th Sep 2004, 16:43

My Infiniti J30 has done 105K Miles and running fine. Recently, I'm experiencing a problem. Some times (Generally after a run on highway, and you enter a stop signal and then start), I find the engine RPM going high, but the car never picks up. If you pedal (at 5000 PM), there is a move. When, I checked the transmission oil level (in cold Condition), it was high than the recommended level.

Hoping that, by reducing the oil level to normal would solve this problem.

Any other suggestions/observations you have.. Please share...

22nd Dec 2004, 14:00

How much should it cost to replace the EGR Valve with a new one and clean the exhaust pipe? I need to do that in my J30.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 20 reviews