2000 Isuzu Rodeo Reviews - Page 10 of 10

2000 Isuzu Rodeo LS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance21750 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Great looking, fun, reliable SUV!

Faults:

I have had no problems what so ever with this vehicle. Very reliable, fun car.

General Comments:

I would highly recommend this SUV for anyone on a budget who wants a very reliable, fun, great looking vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

30th Jul 2001, 10:25

I just purchased a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. I bought it on Fathers Day 6.17.01. I haven't had a great experience thus far, even though I enjoy driving the Rodeo. I too had a VW Jetta. That was the biggest heap of junk on the planet. My congrats to you for finding something new to drive!!!

2000 Isuzu Rodeo LSE 4WD 3.2 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.2 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

Finally a Sports Utility that dislikes pavement

Faults:

From the time of purchase till now I've had a scary problem with the Anti-Lock brake system. The dealer(s) have been giving me the run-around, while their mechanics can't find a mechanical problem.

Under heavy braking on slippery conditions the Anti-Lock brakes shudder, vibrate, and take great distances to stop.

Other than the brakes, the car is perfect!

General Comments:

Terrific off-road capabilities, responsive handling, and in my opinion, the best looking Sports Utility on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2001

14th May 2002, 08:54

Rodeo is the most complete suv for me. It looks good enough to go out to dinner in and also is great for taking my kids off road.

The only thing disapointing is th lack of power from the 4 cylinder. Takes forever to get to 60mph!!!

13th Dec 2002, 16:45

I own a 2002 Isuzu Rodeo. Let it be known that if an owner of one of these vehicles is to put tint on the rear window and use the rear defogger, this can shatter the window. The warranty from Isuzu will not cover this even though in my opinion this should be covered because I believe it is a defect in the glass. I have never heard of glass shattering on its own from anything other than a defect. Tint should have no affect on the glass unless the glass already has a defect. Owners of an Isuzu Rodeo be warned and take caution.

19th Feb 2003, 15:10

I have add the rear windows shatter without any tint in it.

The conditions were:

Complete thaw and warm up of the rear window. Drive around for a while. Stop and let the window cool down for 2 hours then Start up again and slam a side door. Outside temperature was slightly below freezing. No visible defect in the glass.

The manufacturer is baffled, but the auto-glass repair shop has seen this on all kind of vehicles.

18th Apr 2003, 21:43

My 2000 Rodeo was 200 miles over the warranty and the cam on the left side of motor blew due to lack of oil being distributed, which we were told was a defect. And because we were the second owners they told us that the goodwill warranty didn't apply and also that Isuzu was under financial stress!!Now we have to replace motor. Which I think we were treated VERY POORLY and unfairly with this company.

5th Sep 2004, 15:04

I also have a 2000 Isuzu Rodeo LSE and I just love it. I have also had some problems with the brakes. When I take the Rodeo off road to get to my fishing spot, the brakes scare me sometimes because of the time it takes to stop on uneven roads or dirt. Other than that, this car has exceeded my expectations.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews