2000 Isuzu Rodeo Reviews - Page 9 of 10

2000 Isuzu Rodeo LS 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

A total disappointment!

Faults:

My transmission died at 63,000 miles. The car is only 2 years old.

General Comments:

The car runs great and is fast and easy to handle. I loved the Rodeo. I previously owned a used Rodeo, and that transmission died, also. However, since it was used, I didn't know the true history and thought that a new one would be OK. Well, a new one was not OK, since the 2 year old transmission has now died! I am extremely disappointed with Isuzu!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

10th Jan 2012, 07:01

The transmissions are General Motors units, also used in older ('93-'00) BMW 3-Series and 5-Series.

2000 Isuzu Rodeo from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

I love this truck

Faults:

My engine light came on with the transmission light also. The question I have is how do you check the transmission fluid. There isn't a dip stick for it. Today both lights went off, so I don't know what the deal is.

General Comments:

I need to know about the transmission fluid and how to check it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

14th Jul 2004, 09:36

I have had the same problems with the Passport same as the isuzu... the check engine and transmission lights will come on and off at will. I have had the main wiring harness replaces, fuses, computer, transmission 2 times and a tom of other repairs.. still the lights come on and off at will. Not sure what the problem is.

Annie.

5th Dec 2004, 22:16

Having same problem with my 2000 Rodeo. Where is Auto. Trans. fluid dipstick, and where is the filler to add more?

Did you ever find out? Let me know.

21st Jan 2009, 16:13

I'm no expert and have never owned a Rodeo, but I've been reading reviews and I read that the vehicle may not have a transmission dipstick, because the transmission was expected to last the life of the vehicle. I'm not saying that makes any sense to me, but I did read it.

I love the looks of the Rodeo, but with the way the reviews look I'll most likely end up with a Ford Explorer; hey, at least it has a dipstick for the transmission fluid.

20th Mar 2009, 04:01

I'm having the same problem. Tranny slips occasionally & reasearched it. This is what I found on a different site:

Remove the transmission overfill screw and fill transmission through overfill screw opening, using DEXRON III ATF. Add transmission fluid until it flows out over the overfill screw opening. Overfill plug/screw is located where the pan is notched, should be to the left of the drain plug looking from the back.

Let engine idle until a fluid temperature between 90°F and 135°F is reached.

Add transmission fluid until it flows out over the overfill screw opening, then close the overfill screw. Torque: 28 ft.lbs.

3rd Apr 2010, 22:47

Under the SUV near your transfer case is the transmission fluid "box; there are two bolts, one to fill and one to drain. The upper one is to fill/check the level.

2000 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

An overlooked, fun, well running Sport Utility Vehicle

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the Rodeo.

The only minor issue is the engine knocks when the A/C is on and you are accelerating.

To keep knocking down to a minimum, I must use High Octane gas (96), the Premium stuff.

General Comments:

The Rodeo is very responsive.

Great acceleration off the line.

I average 20 mile per gallon. I replaced the air filter with a K & N high flow air-filter. It increased my miles per gallon from 16 to 20.

Lots of cargo room.

Drivers seat is not the most comfortable on long drives, i. e 4 hours or more. Legs tend to cramp up.

Overall a great car. Highly underrated. I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2002

6th Mar 2005, 02:47

I thouroughly agree with the comments made. I find them to be very quick (0-60 28.9 seconds!). I was a little scared to be honest it kept catching me out. I will not get another car now as these are more than enough for me and you.

12th Jul 2005, 15:35

My Mazda Tribute goes 0-60 in 7 seconds!!!

28th Aug 2005, 01:23

Yes well my subaru does 0-60 in 5.7 seconds. I think this guy means 8.9 seconds.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews