2000 Isuzu Rodeo Reviews - Page 5 of 10

2000 Isuzu Rodeo 2.2 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Scary... bad.. expensive to maintain

Faults:

2.2. 5 speed 2000 Rodeo..

Just had the value cover gasket replaced.

Air compressor click hard and loud

70mph=3500 rpms (do I need a clutch... or what)

Brakes squeal constantly

Feels like shocks are not there

Cannot take this off road

Studs holding tire on keep breaking.

More problems...can't think of all of them right now..

Check engine light comes on and off

ABS scares me... does it a slow stop.. fast stop any stop...

General Comments:

I want a Honda... please...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

7th Aug 2006, 13:59

I don't think rodeos in north america had 2.2 liter engines in 2000.

7th Aug 2012, 18:58

Reality check... It's the same thing as a Honda Passport. Look it up... so you are in Honda technically.

8th Aug 2012, 20:13

Actually, the Honda version is a rebadged Isuzu. If you do a little research, you'd be able to see that it's very clear. In Europe, Isuzu rebadged the Honda Civic and Accord and sold them as 'Isuzus'. It was a 'I'll trade you my car blueprints for your SUV blueprints' kind of deal.

2000 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles

Summary:

This is the worst decision I ever made

Faults:

I bought this car in Oct '05:

CD player stopped working (replacement Isuzu part is about 500 bucks and since it's a crap system I haven't bothered to replace it yet)

Gas gauge broke, had to replace fuel filter and fuel pump (roughly 900 bucks)

Side paneling has come unglued on all four doors

Transmission and clutch must be replaced (I was quoted almost 4000 so I'm trying to find a better deal before I get the work done)

Brakes are starting to slip as well.

General Comments:

I think this car is one of the worst cars on the road.

It handles poorly and an extremely uncomfortable ride.

It performs poorly in wet weather.

It is also the worst SUV to take off pavement.

It sucks up gas really quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2006

2000 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Accord

Faults:

I bought this SUV in 2000.The salesman had told me he would bring it to my home, I told him no I would come to pick it out later.

A week later the salesman shows up with this vehicle, we make a deal and I have to drive to the dealership to sign all the papers.

My SUV bounced all the way (40 miles) to the dealer. I was told that the lot boy had 45 #'s of air in the tires and they let some air out. I bounced the 40 miles back home.

I took the car back and had 2 out of round tires, which they replaced.

I have had a total of 14 tires and 8 wheels replaced and the car still bounces.

This is a beautiful SUV,but it rides worse than any vehicle I've ever ridden in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2006

17th Jul 2006, 21:59

I agree with this comment. An unreliable car. Thus far over $2000 in repairs for things that should not have gone wrong.

2000 Isuzu Rodeo LS from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

In shock of seeing bad reviews!

Faults:

Something was wrong when I first bought it, an "engine switch" they said. The car would throw itself into reverse! Dealer fixed quickly.

I've really had to hit the brakes a few times and they do shudder, scream and slide as I try not to careen into the car in front of me, however I do stop!

General Comments:

For what I have put this car through, I am VERY satisfied.

Great first car!

Cloth interior is very high quality compared to other cars I have been in.

Comfortable for me, I'm 5`6.

No blind spot issues, nice visibility.

Handles quickly and smooth.

Decent amount of space, everyone is always in my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th April, 2006

2000 Isuzu Rodeo from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.5 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Gas Guzzler

Faults:

How do I change a rear bulb. I was told I have to take the whole side panel off to get to it. That is going to be costly.

General Comments:

The worse gas mileage of any car or truck I have ever owned. I would never buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

11th Sep 2008, 20:54

There are three screws. (2) are on the side of the light and one is on the very bottom of the light casing. Be sure to use a magnetic phillips screw as the screws can be easily dropped before getting them out.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews