1986 Isuzu Trooper Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1986 Isuzu Trooper LS 2 door 2.3 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 gas Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 miles
Most recent distance234000 miles
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

Great value and longevity

Faults:

Oil leak at crank seal.

Broken exhaust pipe at manifold.

Flimsy bumpers.

General Comments:

I bought my Trooper as a cheap 4X4 to get around in our snowy Spokane winters, and have gotten much more value than I expected.

Every part on this rig is original (except consumables: clutch, water pump, brakes, belts, hoses, wipers, and tires) ; I mean EVERYTHING is original.

I add a quart of oil every week because the front seal leaks at idle and average 19 mpg. I used to get 26 mpg on the highway, but motor has lost a little compression.

Doesn't seem like she'll need her first valve job any time soon... the 2.3 motor is amazingly durable and has a great head gasket.

I love the glossy original paint and the styling of the 2 door model. With fat tires, she reminds me of the old 1960's Broncos.

I make full use of the roomy interior and convenient tumble-down rear seat. The swing-open doors are fine as there are no gas struts to wear out and the glass has a defroster and wiper with washer.

I have owned dozens of vehicles over the years, and the Trooper is the one that has withstood the test of time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2002

25th Oct 2003, 20:05

I have a 1986 trooper with 200000 miles. I bought it 4 years ago, with 160000. nothing has broken. its still perfect. the most reliable car I ever owned. i even take it out to the dessert and am still amazed by where I can go off road. its not a pretty car, but especially for an out doors man its perfect if you don't have much cash to spend.

1st Dec 2003, 09:35

I have an 1986 Trooper 2 LS that I bought a year ago. All the trucks that I have ever owned the trooper has taken me through some of the most rough off-road experiences that I have ever seen. The Troopers in my opinion are the best 4x4s on the market.

1986 Isuzu Trooper 2 2.2L turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired207000 miles
Most recent distance256780 miles

Summary:

An iron workhorse

Faults:

Alternator problems. Electrical. On turbo #3.

Fuel solenoid problems.

General Comments:

It is slow, the top speed is around 70.

It gets 20-25 miles to the gallon. Has a 22 gallon tank. 450 mile radius.

I'm 19 years old and have done all the repairs myself.

It will climb a 30 degree slope in 4 Low from a stop easily.

Has a large amount of cargo space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2001

8th Jan 2002, 11:51

Yes I agree we the alternator problems, which are very expensive to replace as second hand ones are scarce.

I have a dutch 1987 2.2TD long wheel base trooper of which I run in the UK, which apart from the alternator, has been very reliable. The Cargo space is very large, compared to other 4x4's. I have driven the trooper on a large forest off road centre, up very steep muddy gradients, and the machine did the entire 3 hour course with no problems, (Photos available for proof).

Overall, very easy to maintain, very reliable, I pulled a ford fiesta car on a trailer with the trooper with no effort at all.

Very good machine, although parts are expensive.

Drl@fsmail.net.

25th May 2006, 19:54

I have the 1984 1.9 liter 4cylinder with a 4 speed tranny... i would do anything for a 5 speed however. I love the vehicle it has not yet broken down on me... is excellent off road (with super swampers) and is great on gas around the city... top speed is 70 MAX.

13th Sep 2006, 08:03

I agree with the cost of the alternators / starters, they tend to be quite expensive. The trick to them is to have them rebuild instead of replacing them. I spend as little as $60 dollars doing so..

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 18 reviews