1986 Isuzu Trooper LS 2.3 gas from North America


Rock solid utility truck


Needs a clutch at 126000.

General Comments:

This has got to be the greatest 4x4 on the planet for the money.

I liked the Trooper so much that when my first was finally traded in at 240000, I found myself in total regret and spent the next year searching for another that was the exact same year.

My first Trooper has pulled out multiple trucks that were newer with bigger, fuel injected engines, along with bigger tires and lifts, all with having well over 200000 miles on it. I'm not sure exactly what Isuzu did to produce such a tank of a vehicle, but let's hope they keep it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2007

1986 Isuzu Trooper II 2.3 from North America


I love this thing and will drive it forever!


When I got the Trooper it wasn't running.

No A/C.

Power steering went out @ 189000.

Fuel gauge doesn't work.

Oil pressure gauge doesn't work.

Truck will not idle by itself.

Replaced fuel filters weekly upon purchase of vehicle until 200000 miles.

Update 15 October 2008: *** Since I wrote that, I've rebuilt the carb, and replaced the fuel tank, runs like a top now ***

General Comments:

This thing is so fun to drive. The 4wd works excellent. I drive this everyday and off-road on the weekends.

I also put a very little money in it for a car radio, and it sounds excellent; so excellent in fact, I got a ticket for a noise ordinance violation.

Update 15 October 2008: *** I've added even more speakers, subs, and amps since then ***

My only serious issue is that it is so impossible to get parts. There are so many things that are not interchangeable with my year model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2007

27th Aug 2015, 16:33

Hey man, I have the same problem with my gauges. Did you fix it? If so, how? Please let me know, email me @ kevinrf1997@hotmail.com, thanks.

1st Dec 2015, 14:17

As a former '86 Trooper owner and a current '90 Trooper owner, all I can say is the junkyard is your best friend. The gauges in my '86 went out and I happened to find a set at a local yard, but that was 10 years ago; lately I just don't see the old Troopers at the junkyard anymore. Try this first, as this is how I fixed a gauge issue on my '90. Go to the back of the vehicle, lay down and find the wires that come off the top of the tank. Follow the ground wire to where it is bolted to the rear member of the frame. Unbolt it and sand the frame and ground terminal real good and spray some cleaner on it. Coat it all up in silicone grease and re-install.

1986 Isuzu Trooper II 2.3 gas from North America


Loyal as an old dog.


Seat covers and cushions were worn out by 75,000 Rear spring bushes replaced at 100,000 from being constantly overloaded with 1200 pounds of bagged horse feed - $25

First and last tune up was at 90,000 miles

First and last cam belt was at 160,000 miles

Differential pinion started howling at 150,000

Shocks replaced at 150,000 Carb throttle shaft started leaking at 175,000 and has gotten very bad since 225,000. Couldn't find a used 2.3 carb.

General Comments:

This truck is STILL in service on the ranch hauling horse feed and hay wagons.

After 277,000 miles, no knocks, no overheating, and starts up almost instantly.

Virtually nothing has been replaced since I bought it from a transferring Army officer for $1900. Still has the original starter, radiator, water pump, alternator, head, exhaust and complete front suspension.

The differential yoke bearing is so loose that I can actually move the yoke up and down, but I will likely part it out first time it breaks hard...

By far the most bulletproof and cheapest to operate of the 100+ vehicles we've owned, and one of my all time favorites to boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th November, 2006