1986 Isuzu Trooper Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1986 Isuzu Trooper LS 2.3 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 gas Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

Rock solid utility truck

Faults:

Needs a clutch at 126000.

General Comments:

This has got to be the greatest 4x4 on the planet for the money.

I liked the Trooper so much that when my first was finally traded in at 240000, I found myself in total regret and spent the next year searching for another that was the exact same year.

My first Trooper has pulled out multiple trucks that were newer with bigger, fuel injected engines, along with bigger tires and lifts, all with having well over 200000 miles on it. I'm not sure exactly what Isuzu did to produce such a tank of a vehicle, but let's hope they keep it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2007

1986 Isuzu Trooper II 2.3 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

I love this thing and will drive it forever!

Faults:

When I got the Trooper it wasn't running.

No A/C.

Power steering went out @ 189000.

Fuel gauge doesn't work.

Oil pressure gauge doesn't work.

Truck will not idle by itself.

Replaced fuel filters weekly upon purchase of vehicle until 200000 miles.

Update 15 October 2008: *** Since I wrote that, I've rebuilt the carb, and replaced the fuel tank, runs like a top now ***

General Comments:

This thing is so fun to drive. The 4wd works excellent. I drive this everyday and off-road on the weekends.

I also put a very little money in it for a car radio, and it sounds excellent; so excellent in fact, I got a ticket for a noise ordinance violation.

Update 15 October 2008: *** I've added even more speakers, subs, and amps since then ***

My only serious issue is that it is so impossible to get parts. There are so many things that are not interchangeable with my year model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2007

1986 Isuzu Trooper II 2.3 gas from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 gas Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance277250 miles
Previous carIsuzu Pickup

Summary:

Loyal as an old dog.

Faults:

Seat covers and cushions were worn out by 75,000 Rear spring bushes replaced at 100,000 from being constantly overloaded with 1200 pounds of bagged horse feed - $25

First and last tune up was at 90,000 miles

First and last cam belt was at 160,000 miles

Differential pinion started howling at 150,000

Shocks replaced at 150,000 Carb throttle shaft started leaking at 175,000 and has gotten very bad since 225,000. Couldn't find a used 2.3 carb.

General Comments:

This truck is STILL in service on the ranch hauling horse feed and hay wagons.

After 277,000 miles, no knocks, no overheating, and starts up almost instantly.

Virtually nothing has been replaced since I bought it from a transferring Army officer for $1900. Still has the original starter, radiator, water pump, alternator, head, exhaust and complete front suspension.

The differential yoke bearing is so loose that I can actually move the yoke up and down, but I will likely part it out first time it breaks hard...

By far the most bulletproof and cheapest to operate of the 100+ vehicles we've owned, and one of my all time favorites to boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th November, 2006

1986 Isuzu Trooper II 2.3 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance235000 miles
Previous carMercury Marquis

Summary:

Best Thing to come out of Japan since Godzilla!!

Faults:

Other from the normal wear and tear items

Alternator at 25000

Starter at 32000

Head Gasket blew at 70000

Seats, Cargo, Door Panels replaced at 100000

A/C compressor died at 120000.

General Comments:

This is the first 4x4 vehicle I bought and it has turned out to be the best ever. It still runs great though the paint job is showing it's age.

If I knew how good this vehicle was going to be I would have bought two back in 1986 and stored one for later use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2006

12th Sep 2006, 18:59

"Best Thing to come out of Japan since Godzilla!!"

- SINCE WHEN IS GODZILLA GOOD!!!???

17th Sep 2008, 12:21

Obviously the person who made the comment did not understand the metaphor alluding to the fact that the Trooper, while simplistic in design is as tough as the fictional Godzilla when stumping through rough terrain making it virtually unstoppable.

25th Sep 2010, 21:21

The first gen Troopers are tanks. They are ugly, but I love them.

26th Mar 2013, 18:22

UGLY? This is not the first time I've read this comment. Beauty's in the eye of the beholder, but I just bought a 96, and like its looks MUCH more than the usual Jeeplets. It's got 260K miles, is leaking oil like a sieve, but I think I'm in love. Just wish I could find a diesel to swap in when/if the engine gives up.

The interior is still nice, gauges work, etc... and who needs air conditioned (it's been removed, GOOD!). How can a 27 year old rig be this good?

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 18 reviews