1986 Isuzu Trooper Base 2.2L turbo diesel from North America

Summary:

The Isuzu Turbo Diesel has passed the test of time with excellence!

Faults:

Since ownership, nothing has gone wrong with Trooper other than watching out for specific items that are worn.

Contemplating future minor repairs on the following items:

1. Belts shows sign of cracking and splitting a definite need to fix.

2. Fuel filter needs replacing.

3. Oil filter needs replacing.

4. Air filter need replacing.

5. Joints need to be lubed.

6. A/C unit needs to be replaced with updated unit.

7. Tachometer needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

1. Great mileage, diesel fuel tank is 21.7 averaging 30 MPG.

2. Increased power of at least 10% after performing general maintenance of replacing all three filters.

3. Plenty of cargo space.

4. Plenty of head room.

5. Lots of elbow room in engine compartment for the DIY.

6. Great 4x4 stock clearance.

7. Great to have 3 standard protective underneath skid plates.

8. Spacious open air feeling for touring (large window views). Seats are comfortable for long trips.

9. Tough, rugged yet very light weight vehicle with lower center of gravity as it may look top heavy, but doesn't feel top heavy while turning.

10. Excellent short turning radius when compared to other SUV's.

12. Engine doesn't rattle or vibrate as much as one might assume from a 24 year old diesel (compared to Diesels like VW Rabbit or Mercedes of that era).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2010

1986 Isuzu Trooper C-223 T 2.23 turbo from North America

Summary:

Perfect auto for the patient man

Faults:

Brake light switch needs adjustment.

General Comments:

Slow as a slug, but also slow at fueling up intervals! Very thrifty diesel miser.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2010

1986 Isuzu Trooper 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Wonderful, reliable, sturdy, economical

Faults:

Replaced alternator at 210000 miles.

Driver's window got stuck at 220000 miles.

Clutch started to make noise at 225000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car. I bought it with over 175,000 miles for $1100 and I think I put in $400 over 5 years of owning it.. this means tires, upkeep, etc. I had no troubles until the alternator.

I am looking for a second Isuzu right now. For people who mention head problems, yeah, if you treat it bad and only if you treat it bad. These are wonderful autos, great gas mileage, very sturdy interior and exterior, parts are very inexpensive to replace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2008

1986 Isuzu Trooper 4x4 2.3L Four Cylinder from North America

Summary:

The Trooper Rules!

Faults:

Nothing! This thing has been adult-owned and extremely well taken care of! I love it!

General Comments:

My dad bought the exact same Trooper new back in '86.

Back then it was a strange, euro-type looking vehicle that turned heads wherever we went. The whole family loved taking long trips in it and the occasional off-road jaunt! I learned how to drive a stick in that truck as well... wow, what great memories!

Now, the Trooper is not your average vehicle. It handles like an old Jeep Wrangler, but with an extra 1000lbs. or so tacked on. It's a bit top heavy and slow as a pig!

But for some damn reason I love the thing!

It's clean as can be both inside and out. Everything works including the A/C, defroster, rear windshield wiper, etc. The headliner, paint, body and overall exterior and interior are all perfect like it just rolled off the assembly line. I picked it up for $1500, which is a screaming deal, considering that I saw Troopers on craigslist that had twice as many miles, and were beaten to hell, for over $2000!

It got decent gas mileage with the original carb: about 22mpg on the highway and 18/19mpg in the city. But I just installed a Weber carb on it and the gas mileage has gone up to 26 on the highway and 22/23 in the city!!! Weber really makes a great carb - I wasn't sure what kind of improvement I would get, but the Trooper gets way better MPG, and also has much, much better performance and power.

Anyhow, in my opinion, the first generation trooper is the best 4x4 utility vehicle out there.

If you see one BUY IT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2008

5th Oct 2008, 14:44

Which Weber carburetor, pray tell?

Olarry@embarqmail.com.

15th Apr 2010, 19:13

Electrical question. I've an 1986 Trooper, but the cover for the fuse block is missing. What is the fuse in position 7 for? Ours keeps blowing, but every thing seems to work OK. I would like to know what each fuse is for, and the position it is in on the fuse block?

John Osborne

Oznbolivia@aim.com

The Trooper is a very solid means of transportation.

15th Dec 2011, 08:55

Yes, I agree, because I also have a 1986 Trooper 2, 5 spd/4wheel drive, she drives so sweet. But I have one problem, and that's finding parts for it. I need a heater core, and can't find it at any auto parts store or salvage yard. I would like to get it new. My name is Otis Jones, phone 832-795-9899, if you know where I can find parts, please call. Thank you.

29th Dec 2011, 22:29

My name is Eddie Van Dyke and I have owned 10 Troopers over the years. You are in luck, I have a brand new heater core in the box. I bought out a closing dealership several years ago and they had one in the mix of items, You can contact me at 919=358=4987. I will try to call you also.

17th Oct 2012, 14:15

Hi... My name is Leon, and I am from South Africa. I recently bought a 1986 Trooper in fair condition. I have two problems. I need the front left fender plastic trimming. And the red light that indicates handbrake (park brake) on position keeps burning and does not switch off when the handbrake (park brake) is released. PLEASE e-mail info to: tokkie@welding.co.za.