1989 Isuzu Trooper XS 2.6 4 cylinder from North America


Anytime, anywhere vehicle


Clutch cable slipped.

Replaced the fuel filter, I believe for the first time.

General Comments:

The four cylinder engine has good pickup and can keep a constant highway speed with ease.

The seats are comfortable.

Lots of room for trips. Everyone has space and there is defiantly enough room for everything, plus a roof rack.

The automatic locking hubs are easily locked, even when stuck.

Great for anytime anywhere driving!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2002

1989 Isuzu Trooper S V-6 from North America


Outdoor fun that keeps on trooping


The odometer cable melted and needed to be replaced (approx. $50).

The starter motor also needed to be replaced. (approx. $400).

At such high mileage the car is losing power... does not like to go over mountain passes at speeds over 45 m/hr, even with the V-6 engine.

Amazingly this car has the original clutch, however it makes a horrible screeching noise in 5th gear and sometimes is difficult to put into reverse.

General Comments:

I really love the styling of this vehicle, it's very practical and works great for camping and off-roading.

I find the front seats extremely comfortable and the rear seat more utilitarian, but OK for trips that aren't more than a couple hours.

The engine of the 89 Troopers is actually a Chevy engine and they seem to work great with the car.

The transmission is in great condition.

Although I live at high altitude, I'm sure if I lived at sea level I'd get another 80,000 out of this vehicle.

The interior is extremely roomy with tons of room for cargo... the rear seat folds right up to the back of the front seats.

A co-worker has the exact same model with 60,000 miles and I've begged him to sell it to me. He won't budge, especially after seeing how many miles I have on my car.

I'm thinking of purchasing a Jeep Wrangler but, will be VERY sad to sell my Trooper.

I only paid $2400 and it was worth every cent!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

2nd Dec 2003, 11:34

Overhaul the engine, the 2.8 is really cheap to do.

1989 Isuzu Trooper LS 2.8 liter V-6 from North America


I got a great vehicle for the money I spent


The brake pads needed replacing and I am currently looking to purchase new shocks.

General Comments:

I am a first time owner of a Isuzu Trooper and would like any information on what I can do to keep the performance of this vehicle at its top.

Also would like any information on shocks, glass packs for a Trooper (is it advisable), what is the best grade of gas (I use 92 octane), and dealerships that are in Los Angeles, CA. that have affordable accessories and service.

I would like to know if there are any 1989 Trooper owners out there that can give me advice on how I can upgrade/service the vehicle to give the best performance possible.

My e-mail is: fatcatjive@earthlink.net

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2001

1989 Isuzu Trooper XS 4 cylinder from North America


We have driven this Isuzu beyond all expectations. The only mechanical malfunction was the horn unit after two years of ownership. We really loaded this buster with a family of four, and all required camping gear every weekend all summer long for years going from Massachusetts to Maine.

We could not part with such a dependable unit, so now my 16 year old son has the keys.

After all these years of ownership, brakes, exhaust and belts, light bulbs, wipers and tires have been replaced. Otherwise - all original and proud of it!!!

General Comments:

Not a creature comfort vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2001

11th Jul 2001, 00:15

I want to buy a motor for my Isuzu Trooper SE 1989. Can you help me.

Sincerely yours


1989 Isuzu Trooper 2.6L 4 cylinder from North America


Repeat customer


Burns a quart of oil every 300 miles - oooooh!

General Comments:

It spends more time on the trail in 4L than most SUV's. Goes anywhere I point it.

Very spartan interior although that is what I was looking for (less features, less parts to break).

Rear disc brakes on an SUV?? WOW! At $2900 it was an incredible deal.

NOTE: with the 2.6 4 cylinder you must remember to have the valve clearance adjusted at recommended intervals!!!! Why is the distributor so close to the firewall?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2000

22nd Nov 2003, 19:24

If I were to venture a guess as to why the distributor is so close to the firewall, I would have to say for off-roading. If you are fording through deep water, you want to keep your ignition system as dry as possible. A manufacturer would tuck it at the top against the firewall to accomplish this. But maybe an engineer would prove me wrong.

1989 Isuzu Trooper TDi SWB Duty Commercial 2.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Good reliable workhorse


Very little other than normal replacement items - brakes, exhaust, timing belt etc. Very reliable if properly maintained.

General Comments:

I have used this vehicle very hard, it was bought as a cheap workhorse and has done me very good service for towing horseboxes and as a general load carrier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2000

1989 Isuzu Trooper SE 4 cylinder from North America


Bad buy!


Gas pump, replaced three times, constant problems with the engine shutting off in the middle of the road.

General Comments:

Stay away from the old models, maybe the new ones have been updated and improved but the old model offers a rough ride and is not reliable. Towing costs have been more than gas for me in an average month.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd March, 2000

26th Nov 2000, 16:55

Having bought an Isuzu Trooper Citation 2.8 TDI on 129,000 miles, I find it ideal for towing (so long as you are in the right gear). It is also very good in off road condition's on the down's here in Hampshire GB.

Fuel economy is also very good. I will certainly buy another one, perhaps a 3 litre model?

Gordon Smith, England

1989 Isuzu Trooper LWB Commercial 2.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Very little considering there's 160k on it. Just general servicing things, hand brake cables, front drive boots, starter, alternator and exhaust.

General Comments:

Excellent work horse, engine never seems to run out of power when put under pressure (provided you're in the right gear!). No problem towing up to 4.5 tons. Good as weekend runabout also. Price of parts in Ireland vary greatly between dealers. Wide wheels and tyres give much improved ride and handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 1998