2004 Jaguar X-Type Reviews

2004 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carVolvo C70

Summary:

The X-Type is among the most reliable vehicles on the road

Faults:

Incredibly reliable car. Probably most reliable I've owned.

Have an oil leak that I have been too cheap to fix, because it's small.

Had two accidents with it, yet the car is still tight and fast.

General Comments:

Feels very fast.

Handles well.

Fold down seats in back are great for skiis.

I've beaten on it, and it still runs incredibly well.

Seats are too firm for some people.

Not as high end on the inside as an XJ or XK.

However, it's an incredible used car value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2011

2004 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carJaguar E-Type

Summary:

Was fortunate to replace this car with a 2006 X Type 3.0 British Racing Green again!!!

Faults:

No problems with my 2004 X Type 3.0 Jaguar, British Racing Green.

General Comments:

Loved this car, unfortunately it was totaled Sept. 1, 2010.

Loved the look of the car, handled beautifully, and comfortable.

I was told by the police, EMS volunteers, and the ER doctor, that this car saved my life!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2010

2004 Jaguar X-Type Classic 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31300 miles
Most recent distance38200 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Excellent - the affordable, classic modern Jaguar

Faults:

Surprisingly failed the MOT in 2008 - worn bush on nearside rear suspension, which required replacing the small swinging arm complete.

General Comments:

I love this Jaguar - great classic Jaguar looks (baby XJ!) with a lovely torquey, silky smooth diesel engine. Great to drive with more than enough power, very economical (46mpg average), & comfortable.

A personal comment - don't like hearing the car slagged off by "BMW snobs." Have ridden in a few BMWs over the years (3 & 5 Series) & found them about as comfortable as a park bench!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2009

2004 Jaguar X-Type SE 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Disappointing

Faults:

New clutch, flywheel and persistent misfire. Goes into Limp Home mode.

General Comments:

What a disappointment. My first and last Jag. Lovely looking car, but poorly built, unreliable and dynamically no better than a family hatchback to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2009

21st Jul 2009, 15:20

Are you surprised? It's only a Mondeo in a Jag shell.

If you want a real Jag, you want an XJ Auto with all the extras.

I have had three and you cannot beat them.

2004 Jaguar X-Type Luxury 3.0L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17500 kilometres
Most recent distance32000 kilometres

Summary:

Stylish, but be prepared to pay..

Faults:

DSC Module Fault Code (Module replaced)

Whining drive train between 40-50 kph (cold weather only)

Driver's door latch would not connect (now does for some reason)

Trunk latch would not connect (temperamental)

Wiper blades would not function (replaced under warranty)

Fuel leak would spoil spark plugs and prevent ignition (replaced under warranty, happened again)

Headlamp washer malfunction (I purchased a new part and repaired it myself)

General Comments:

Despite the myriad of problems listed above, this car is still very stylish and is a head turner.

It is quick off the blocks with the 3.0 engine, and the automatic transmission doesn't give much trouble overall.

The interior may not be as roomy as some in its class, but it makes the most of the space. The ergonomics with regard to the controls are very clean, and the occupant feels high up and in good control while seated.

I hit a pothole last year which bent a control arm and rim - cost more than $CDN3,000 to repair. Service at dealership is pricey, but efficient.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2008

2004 Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.5 AWD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 AWD Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

This is a fantastic car when it works

Faults:

After a few months of ownership, the remote keyfob batteries seemed to fail, but on returning to Jag they said it was some kind of programming problem, and it was not as simple as just batteries. This was a MINOR inconvenience, as it just meant using the key manually, but it took them a very long time to fix (at least two months).

The transfer box (gearbox as far as I can tell) has failed completely after only 28000 miles. This will cost £2000 to repair. I am absolutely gutted.

General Comments:

This is a lovely car to drive, comfortable, full of useful features and handles very nicely.

However the reliability for me has been very disappointing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2007

2004 Jaguar X-Type 2.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance49876 miles

Summary:

Love the car, but now concerned...

Faults:

Want to force Jaguar and Ford to take action? They can be forced by the U.S. Govt to reimburse us or recall the cars if you help. Take action.

My manual clutch blew out at 46,000 miles; defective design, NOT driver error. I know and will prove it.

30 minutes of your life: Write 2 letters and complete one online form.

Jaguar President Michael O'Driscoll

555 Mac Arthur Blvd

Mahwah, NJ 07430

Ford Executive Chairman William Clay Ford Jr.

Ford Motor

POB 685

Dearborn, MI 48126-0685

And file a complaint on the Dept of Transportation website, link below.

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/. 20 minutes of my time for a possible positive resolution.

Great detailed form, asking all of the right questions, enabling DOT to track manufacturers and hold them accountable for their problems, not to become our problems.

General Comments:

In my professional experience, when unhappy customers voice their concerns with the facts, then management will listen. With enough complaints recorded, then the companies will have the real facts to fix the problems.

The US Dept of Transportation is the agency we pay to track all of the problems with vehicles, then with enough records, they force the manufacturers to fix it. Remember the Lemon Law?

This is how it all happens. One or two letters and online at a time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th July, 2007

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 15 reviews