1994 Jaguar XJS Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1994 Jaguar XJS Convertible 6.0 liter V12 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 6.0 liter V12 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired49748 miles
Most recent distance50535 miles
Previous carCadillac Eldorado

Summary:

Great looking car

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

This car has tremendous "cool factor".

It's just a gorgeous car and a privilege to sit in.

Fantastic power and I've averaged 18.5 L-100km on the hwy even with hills.

Seats uncomfortable for long trips.

I bought this low mileage beauty a little over a week ago. The exterior has tremendous appeal and the interior is an experience just to sit in. However, I have found it not comfortable on longer trips. I just got back from a 210 mile each way trip and I'm worn out. Besides the uncomfortable drivers seat, it's a chore to drive unless the highway is perfectly straight.

I've seen other reviews that claim it tears up large amounts of hwy at high speeds and will get you there just as fresh as when you left. To my disappointment I found this was not true with my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2010

16th Feb 2011, 09:30

After owning this car a little longer, I looked into why the drivers seat was uncomfortable on longer trips and found that the springs were broken and the foam was blown out. So I had the seat repaired and the comfort level is much better.

1994 Jaguar XJS Convertible 4.0 Litre from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.0 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired47777 miles
Most recent distance48677 miles
Previous carAcura CL

Summary:

This car is an incredible bargain

Faults:

Needed a heater valve.

Air conditioner needs a recharge.

General Comments:

This is a really fun car to drive. It is fast, looks fantastic and never fails to turn heads as you fly by.

I have the 4.0 litre convertible and it is amazingly quiet with the top up. However, I hardly ever have the top up!

Being a six footer, my right leg gets a bit cramped. But, when it gets uncomfortable I use cruise control for a while and then I'm fine.

The car is fairly economical for its size and weight (4,800 pounds). I average 18 - 19 mpg in the city and up to 24 mpg on the road.

Jaguar dealer service is VERY expensive with even simple repairs costing many hundreds of dollars. Replacing my battery with a Jaguar approved unit cost more than $450.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2009

1994 Jaguar XJS 4.0 from Spain

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ40

Summary:

A+

Faults:

Suspension is quite rough, steering wheel as well (probably as expected on a sports car). Forget about the 2+2 seats --- rather a 1+1 .

White smoke (gasket heads?) while cold engine.

General Comments:

Great looks, reliable engine, always starts at once. Very comfortable drivers position.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2009

1994 Jaguar XJS 2+2 Convertible 4.0 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Classic beauty

Faults:

Basically nothing has gone wrong with this car.

I replaced the oxygen sensor at 55,000 miles and did the complete 60K maintenance work.

This car is a joy to own and drive - definitely a head turner.

My biggest challenge is not hitting the lower air scoop/grill on curbs when parking - it is very low.

By 1994 and this series (4), Jag had most/all of any problems corrected, and had the styling at it's best for the XJS convertible.

General Comments:

My car is white with tan top and tan leather - all in great shape (top was replaced by previous owner).

The car handles beautifully - low and wide equals great cornering.

The back seat is OK for young children, but that's about all that will fit back there!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2008

1994 Jaguar XJS V12 6.0 liter from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 6.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carBMW 6 Series

Summary:

Sex on wheels!

Faults:

This car is a little too hot!

I have had some issues with the engine running very hot, I have to keep an eye on it when sitting in traffic on hot days. The air conditioning system is very expensive to replace, so since I live in N.E. I have opted not to replace it.

The engine seeps a little oil continuously. Come to find out that it is characteristic of the XJS V-12, but annoying to leave little oil spots everywhere!

The electrical system is an adventure, but only when something goes wrong. I have had to replace several relays over the years.

General Comments:

A head turner! One of the most beautiful cars ever made.

The Jaguar XJS-V12 is as powerful as it is beautiful.

It is impossible to drive another car once you have experienced this sexy kitten!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2007

23rd Jun 2010, 04:00

I agree, the XJS is perhaps one of the world's most beautiful cars. Every day I get compliments, sometimes two or three a day. A car full of guys drove up beside me today at a stop light and said, "That's a sexy car". Then they proceeded to say: "I bet you could scawk those tires pretty good." I said "Nah, I don't abuse my cars."

Why would anyone tear the tires off a work of art?

I drive a black 1988 Jaguar XJS with tan interior, and I intend to spend 25,000 over the next two or three years upgrading and restoring it to showroom standards. I couldn't get a new car like this for $50,000 with this much style.

If you have an XJS, keep it. Never let anyone else drive it, and treat it like the gem it is.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews