1988 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 10 of 12

1988 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0 I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired168000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A great, dependable, distinctly American vehicle

Faults:

The hinge to the lift-gate somehow became busted and bent before we bought it, but after about an hour of adjusting and bending we were able to fix it at no cost.

Power locks to the rear doors do not work and power windows do not work on the right side of vehicle. Power mirrors and seats work fine.

At about 171,000 miles the vehicle would "lurch" and soon became sluggish. I thought the problem may be in the transmission or driveline, but I talked to a mechanic and he suggested that I should replace the spark plugs. We actually ended up replacing sparks plugs and cables, which cost us about $40 in all.

I've noticed that in a lot of Jeep Cherokees, that the back seat is weak, and will bend in the middle under stress or weight.

General Comments:

This is a great vehicle, and I love owning it. Already I have taken it on an interstate trip out of Texas, through Oklahoma and to Missouri and back and the vehicle held up great. It gears just right for climbing long, steep hills and tight curves.

With the Full-Time four wheel drive, I feel safe driving in wet weather around the metro-plex and downtown. No worry of staying inside for fear of getting stuck in the snow!

The suspension has held up wonderfully, and it takes corners and bumps with the response expected of Jeep vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

4th Sep 2002, 21:40

I Have had my Jeep for 3 years now. It could not be anymore dependable or fun. I go out in the mountains all the time. It takes me anywhere I want to go!

8th Nov 2002, 09:36

I went from a Chevy Blazer S-10 to a Jeep Cherokee Laredo- While I am impressed with the way to jeep drives and shifts, I find that the Blazer did handle better on corners and in wet weather- All in all, I must say, I am very impressed with the vehicle.

1988 Jeep Cherokee Limited - North America i6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission i6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance157000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Grand Vitara

Summary:

A high performance bargain indeed!

Faults:

A lot went wrong... Brakes replaced, front-to-end exhaust, universal joints, battery (non-standard tho...)

Broken drivers seat, one end had to be welded.

Temperature sensors, etc.

Anything else can be fixed easily with a tech. manual.

General Comments:

Yes, a lot went wrong and 2000$(CAD) further, she's running like a charm. I will not sell her for the world. Now, a very dependable and a smooth, luxerious ride. Other SUV's are still no match for the 14 year old lady!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2002

1988 Jeep Cherokee Limited 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance193000 miles
Previous carVolvo 244

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

The worst fault: persistent body leaks that allow rain to enter, thus turning the interior into a mold factory.

Rear main seal at 160k.

Wind noise.

Clear coat de-laminating.

Rear end sags.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2002

19th May 2002, 18:48

I had to laugh at the comment of the rear main seal of the engine was leaking at 160,000 miles. I'll bet he expects the spark plugs to last as long also. Vehicles are machines and one needs to abide by the owner's manual for periodic service.

26th Sep 2002, 12:58

I also own one ('88 Cherokee Limited) with 275,000 miles on it, and have not had any real large problems with it. When you take care of what you have, it will last a long time.

BB.

1988 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0 Straight 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Straight 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired213000 miles
Most recent distance232000 miles

Summary:

A bargain for the amount of money I have invested

Faults:

When I bought my Jeep Cherokee, I immediately had to take care of leaking oil, and leaking transmission fluid. The left front wheel bearing needed replacing.

Right away I had problems with reliability. I would start it, drive somewhere and go out and it would not start. I went through my AAA in short order. I replaced a battery connector. I replaced distributor cap and rotor. I replaced another battery connector.

Finally I had serious problems with extreme fuel consumption, so I took it to the dealer who repaired a vacuum problem. The shop foreman told me I needed an new engine, but it could run forever.

The very next day it would not start. I was planning to sell it. But 2 days later it started and I was able to pick up a piece of furniture for my wife.

The final thing was when I had worked a 12 hour day and came out it would not start again. Always it would turn over, but not start up.

I finally asked the Automotive manager at a WalMart if he could check my battery. Lo and behold, it was a bad battery. Since then it has been reliable starting. I love my Jeep. But, I right now, I do not trust it.

General Comments:

There is a noise when the air conditioning is on, which in Florida is continuously.

When I bought it, it had no radio, no speakers. My next project is to install a sound system.

It gets about 19.5 miles/gallon. With city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 42 reviews