1988 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 12 of 12

1988 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 242 CID L6 MFI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 242 CID L6 MFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance161000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A Cherokee is SOLID proof of a tried and tested winner

Faults:

Nothing major ever went wrong with my Jeep. The Cherokee engine is built to last forever.

The electrical system is more or less like the 1980s Jaguar quality (the A/C and cassette went out pretty early on from the previous owner). The exact same thing was the case with my Camaro. These two cars may look entirely different, but both are built identical. They are SOLID!

General Comments:

The Cherokee has been around for 20 years. Camaro and Vette etc have also been around forever. It is clearly because these models are winners. The Cherokee is so solid that the phrase, "don't fix what ain't broke" must be the corporate motto - because the Cherokee hasn't even had a facelift in 20 years. That is very cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2001

8th Dec 2009, 17:45

Actually Jeep face lifted the Cherokee in 1997, which included a revised front end and a more modern interior, but you're right, it basically is the same vehicle.

1988 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 inline 6 cylinder gas from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 inline 6 cylinder gas Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance202456 miles
Previous carCadillac Fleetwood

Summary:

This vehicle is durable and reliable

Faults:

At purchase I replaced the water pump, oil pump and radiator. The oil pump was preventive maintenance, but the water pump had failed and radiator was leaking.

At 154,000 the rear wheel cylinder started to leak.

At 178,300 the transfer case lock paw snapped under extreme load.

At 202,000 the rear axle bearings came apart.

General Comments:

This vehicle is very dependable and has never left me stranded.

Only drawback - it has the worlds worst paint job from the factory. It is literally falling off in pieces.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

1988 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer 4.0L I6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0L I6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired195000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles

Summary:

The best car you could ever buy

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is my very first car and it will probably be a while until I get rid of this one. At 200,000 miles this car runs as if it were new.

Many people complain about having problems with their Jeeps, but I don't see what they're complaining about. Jeeps are designed to be pushed to the limits. Go hill climbing or hot rodding in one and you'll understand what I mean.

I have pitted my Jeep against many newer SUV's and have always came out on top.

I love this car! I will only buy Jeeps from now on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2001

16th May 2001, 11:16

I bought my Jeep Cherokee with 75k miles 6 years ago. Today it has 205k. It's a good dependable car, but my only problem is that sometimes the gas or I think the idle or choke remain open and still over 3000 rpm. For that reason it overheats. Some people said "it is the PCV valve". Do you have the same problem with yours?

Please write to me if you have been in the same situation. My e-mail is that hecky100@hotmail.com Thank in advance.

29th Aug 2002, 14:36

It sounds like carb problems, I had a similar problem with my 88 Larado, I purchased CCC (Combustion Chamber Conditioner, or Carb Cleaner), removed the air intake, squirted into the carbs (with engine running) and way to go!!!

1988 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer 4.0 I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 4.0 I-6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

I bought my Cherokee @ about 135,000 miles in November '99. I have since put about 4-5K miles on it.

The only thing that needed replacing was the starter and that was cheap because AMC used very generic parts.

All it needs now is some suspension work (Previous owner spun it into a curb).

General Comments:

I love it! The Jeep is at about 135K miles and doesn't drive like it's a mile over 70K.

The comfort, control, and economy is excellent. I definitely recommend one if you are looking for an older modern SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2000

10th Mar 2001, 21:37

I am just buying a 1988 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer and I know I'll love it. It has 170,000 miles on it, but it sure drives like 80,000! This review has just given me that last bit of persuasion.

12th Apr 2001, 22:57

In April of 2000 I bought one with 195,000 miles on it. Since then I have crossed the 200,000 mile mark and have had no problems. My friend recently purchased a '97 Blazer and my old Jeep outperforms, and to be honest, puts his new car to shame. You could never convince me to buy a vehicle that isn't a Jeep. Ever.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 42 reviews