1988 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0 l6 from North America

Summary:

These are priceless in my books

Faults:

The only real things wrong with this is the A/C stopped working (no big deal).

The power locks stopped working.

The oil pan gasket and the rear main seal needed to be replaced.

All u-joints had to be replaced.

And as a precautionary measurement, I replaced the complete front end.

General Comments:

This is the best vehicle that I have ever owned, and I would not trade it or get rid of it for anything in the world.

The toughest most reliable and most dependable S.U.V. on the market. Way better than any new model on the market.

The only down side to this manufacturer, is that they are no longer made by AMC. I think Chrysler makes them too cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2008

1988 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4L Inline six from North America

Summary:

21 years, 167000 miles, two continents, and still going!

Faults:

A/C compressor first six months.

Battery every two to three years.

Both d/p side view mirror adjustment cables broke in 1993 (12 years)

A/C freon valves failed in 2005.

Alternator died at 167000 miles and 21 years.

General Comments:

Three rear end collisions and the rear bumper is still perfect, totaled the three cars.

This thing is a tank!

Driven from California to Rhode Island and back three times, all over the country of Panama, and in the Siera mountains skiing. Goes anywhere!

Great ground clearance.

Great room in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2008

1988 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0 liter from North America

Summary:

Well made and rugged

Faults:

Bought the Jeep for $2500 Cdn. in Dec.2005 - Low mileage.

Have not driven it since - stored all winter - body great.

It is standard 4X4 - 5 speed - did not pass emissions test in Ontario. I am changing all emission control systems - new catalytic converter - bought new rocker panels to cut out old rusted ones.

Starts great after sitting for months - seems reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th September, 2008

1988 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer 4.0 from North America

Summary:

Highly dependable, utilitarian, fun to drive and economical

Faults:

Radiator has been replaced twice. Systemic problem with the plastic top separating from the core.

Front wheel bearings went out at 70,000 miles and have been good since!

Water pumps replaced at 90,000 mile intervals.

Brakes don't stop well, no matter who's rotors, pads and shoes you use!

Paint clear-coat shot in less than 2 years of ownership. Aftermarket paint job lasted 17 years before clear-coat breakdown!

Harmonic balancer replaced once.

General Comments:

Very dependable vehicle. Turn the key and it'll start no matter where it is.

Still gets the same gas mileage today as I got the day I picked it up over 20 years ago.

Burns just little more oil than it did when it was new -less than a half a quart each 3,000 miles. The engine has never been opened or touched.

Doesn't drip any oil from either the engine or rear end. Clean driveway!

Very responsive, quick turning, great visibility, terrific off-road (where the Cherokee shines!).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2008

1988 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer Straight 6 4.0L from North America

Summary:

I love this Jeep

Faults:

Normal brake wear.

The alternator.

U-joints.

General Comments:

Brakes wear out, no matter what year you get.

The alternator was still the factory one.

U-joints, well they have to be replaced when your car is older than your oldest child. (middle school)

Other than that... Nothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2008

1988 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 Litre from North America

Summary:

I love this car and will never sell it!

Faults:

Peugeot transmission is falling apart on the inside.

Rear U-joint on rear drive shaft and yolk joint ripped apart.

Turn signal wiring harness is messed up, the turn signals are random and intermittent.

Head liner is gone.

General Comments:

It handles extremely well, even in wet weather.

Acceleration is very good.

Can climb any hill.

Its one of those cars that will take you home no matter what you do to it.

Dash layout is very clean while giving vital information quickly, but lacks a tach.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2008

1988 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 straight-six from North America

Summary:

Always there, through thick and through thin

Faults:

Truck has overheated countless times due to failing thermostats, but we fixed that.

Transmission started to slip towards the end of ownership.

We bought it at an auction, and the miles on it had been rolled back, so it read 38,000. By the time we sold it, it had to have had over 200,000 on it. We drove it everywhere, all the time.

General Comments:

Truck has been very durable and reliable. The engine and the transmission were of rock-solid dependability and reliability.

Truck had ample low end torque, and would have made a decent tow vehicle. It was not refined, but rather a rugged and noisy workhorse; it's what gave the truck character and made it fun.

The interior was somewhat cramped, especially the rear seats, but the materials used were of industrial grade and were very tough. Everything on this truck was bullet-proof.

The exterior was built of solid materials, but the stock paint was of poor quality. The paint bubbled on the hood from all the overheating it did, so we repainted it. It ended up doing it again anyway, but we still loved it.

In the end it had been a very good "buddy". It always got us where we were going and never ceased to amaze us with its tremendous level of endurance towards harsh punishment and abuse. Our mechanic says he has seen them come in with almost no oil and transmission fluid, and they still run fine. Old jeeps never die. What makes them tick is a mystery.

Sadly we had to sell it because the transmission started to slip, and the repair bill cost more than the vehicle was worth. We miss our old "jeepster".

I would highly recommend one of these Jeeps to anyone looking for a cheap and reliable offroad vehicle, tow rig, or family SUV. Our Jeep did it all, we were very pleased Jeep customers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st March, 2008