1993 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 6 of 9

1993 Jeep Cherokee Base 4.0 HO from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 HO Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance194000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Well Built American SUV

Faults:

Ignition coil @ 125000... dealer couldn't figure out the problem/diagnose (with all that fancy equipment). Turned out to be aftermarket coils (made in China) are ****. OEM (made in Japan) are the fix. Water pump @ 145000. Universals @156000. Rust... I live in Michigan. Can't have babies... cause I'd bottle feed 'em Mobil 1 and raise 'em as my own.

General Comments:

Tough vehicles. I will cry when I have to put this sweetheart down. 194000mi. and she will light up all 4 if I ask her to.

When the other SUV's can't handle it, the jeep has already been there and back.

Just keep up with the basics... fluid/filter changes, etc... and these old Cherokees never say die.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

25th Mar 2005, 08:57

Right on with the Mobil 1. I would not even consider using anything else in my vehicles. With Mobil 1, and sensible driving, I hardly give the possibility of engine problems a thought.

17th Jan 2006, 18:35

Hello I had a 1990 jeep Cherokee it had 300.000 on it don’t know if it was the original motor, but it was the best rig I have had and the 4x4 will take you places that you thought you would never go. JEEPS ROCK

Have fun be safe and strut you stuff.

1993 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired161000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

This compact sport-utility vehicle is reliable, comfortable, and highly-versatile

Faults:

The automatic transmission seems to stick a little too long, at the top of second and third gear before shifting up.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been wonderful.

I bought it used, three months ago.

I needed a versatile, low-maintenance truck or sport-utility vehicle to commute long distances with. In the 4,000 miles I have driven it, the Cherokee Country has performed spectacularly.

Don't let the slightly small size of the vehicle fool you. Behind the wheel, you still feel like you are riding high off the ground. This may be due to the excellent visibility through the windshield.

I plan on keeping this reliable, well-performing vehicle for as long as possible.

The four-wheel-drive feature is excellent, allowing this highly-maneuverable vehicle to go even more place and do more things than it already could.

The vehicle handles very well, with a good turning radius.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2004

5th Sep 2004, 21:20

I just bought a country myself, and I love it!!! It has great power... The interior is very nice as well... I got it for 1500 if you can believe it.. In mint condition!!!

13th Feb 2007, 08:41

I bought my 93' Cherokee a couple of years ago with 240,000 miles and it is still running strong at 263,000 miles, and I'm loving every bit of it.

1993 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Great durable SUV

Faults:

The paint is chipping and the fuel economy is not the greatest. It has been involved in three accidents. Driver seat is ripped.

General Comments:

It has made several long distance trips without a problem. My parents would love to give me an updated car, but I can't part with my 1993 red Jeep Cherokee Country.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2004

1993 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired267000 kilometres
Most recent distance287000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A reliable small SUV

Faults:

Cooling system : Serpentine belt, water pump, radiator, all replaced at 279,000 kilometers.

Fuel system : Gas tank, fuel filter, replaced at 282,000 kilometers.

Shock absorbers replaced at 279,000 kilometers.

Front and rear brakes : replaced at 279,000 kilometers.

Cruise Control switch replaced at 282,000 kilometers.

Air Conditioning : Compressor has failed and has yet to be replaced.

General Comments:

I bought this SUV from the local Chrysler/Jeep dealership. It had not been treated all that well prior to my ownership. I replaced most of the wearables on the vehicle just to be safe.

I live in the Northwest Territories and we have a 7 month fall, winter, spring season to live through. This SUV has not as yet let me down or failed to start in the most horrendous of weather.

The 4.0 L engine is still ticking over with no oil consumption or loss of power with 178,000 miles on it.

The interior while not as nice as my 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, is unmarred by any cracks, rips, tears or broken plastic.

I will not trade/sell this SUV as I believe that it will continue to provide good service for many more miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2004

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 32 reviews